We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY ROMAN ABSOLUTELY CENTRAL”
Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #106 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Located at an ideal point of the city centre.
Metro next to it, but you don t need it since everything is so close on foot.
Beautifully decorated & very clean.
Staff polite.
It matches the general renaissance atmosphere of Rome.
You will love it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 951 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rome city is very very nice , in Winter cold but nice
Hotel location is close from tourists place and very clean staff is frindly
Room is very small breakfast is poor but good
i will stay in this hotel agin


  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Hossam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at the Stendhal Hotel in Rome for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel is very pleasant, very nicely furnished in a cosy old style. Rooms are not too big but of a good size and with all the amenities. The turn-down service is very good and attentive. Contrary to what happens in many other hotels of the same level, they even replace / add the soap-bar, something I have really appreciated. Breakfast is good and rich, with an ample selection of cereals, breads, Danish pastries and the like. Moreover, it is served on tables covered with silk tablecloth, which gives a very pleasant touch. Staff members are friendly and available. It is a few steps from Via Veneto so it is conveniently located for many Rome's amenities. Definitely worth recommending.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

The best point of view is of those who live the Stendhal.
Dear Customer ,
Thank you very much for having gratified and honored the Stendhal, the rooms, the service and the staff.
We await for you of next holidays.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel was a small boutique hotel with lovely decorating details in both the public and private areas, not a speck of dirt or scratched paint anywhere, our room (superior) was very comfortable, and the staff was pleasant, very helpful, and always smiling. The breakfast area/evening lounge was particularly nice. It was very tastefully decorated, spacious - extending into a small library - absolutely charming. Breakfast pastries were delicious; fruit choices were either whole fruit, canned fruit, or orange juice upon request. The ONLY problem was that the street side rooms have outer shutters (louvered), heavy windows, interior shutters, and a thick drape - but all of that could not drown out the street noise (buses, late night partiers, etc). Ear plugs did the trick but you must come prepared or request a room on the back side (I have no knowledge of those rooms). The location is very near a metro and well situated for easy access to many of Rome's best sights and shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back may be quieter - or higher floors. Or bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Customer,
we are glad to received your good review about the Stendhal, the rooms, the services and the staff. Unfortunately, one of our strengths could be a problem for some customers.
The Stendhal is in the center and Via del Tritone is one of the mains street in the heart of the city.
On request, our rooms on the back side are very quiet.
We will be happy to welcome you the next visit offering our best room on the back of the Hotel.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

All the staff did perfectly their job, from the check in to the check out. We started our three nights in a marvellous room with a bottle of champain by "courtesy of the direction". The breakfast was very complete and with many options. Free wifi in the room. The cleaning in the room was also perfect. Very well located in the center of Rome (3' walking to Fontana di Trevi we visited many times and 5' walking to Piazza de Spagna).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relambon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Customer,
We love to hear the impressions of those who live the Stendhal and we are gratified when everything is positive as during your stay.
The Stendhal and all the staff thank you for your feed back and wait for the next stay in Rome.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed hotel at a reasonable price. We liked it so much we stayed there twice. Having stayed at higher priced and rated Rome hotels I would recommend this one wholeheartedly!! Breakfast was good but not fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzybumbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Customer,
we are glad welcome your feedback about the Stendhal, the services, the staff and the rooms.
We waiting for your third stay to continue our journey together.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in May this year. We had a wonderful time, the hotel staff were really helpful whenever we needed assistance and recommended some great places to eat nearby as well.

The rooms are very small, but are nicely decorated and clean.

It's in a great location as well, just a minute walk away from the train and you can walk to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

The excellent service made it one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Customer,
we are delighted to read your comments about the Stendhal,our services,our rooms and our staff.
We will be happy to welcome you soonest to strengthen your satisfaction.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,026 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#143 of 1,271 in Rome
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#268 of 1,271 in Rome
631 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#138 of 1,271 in Rome
1,032 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#358 of 1,271 in Rome
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#286 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $120 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing