We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - not top class. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #454 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - not top class. ”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of an escorted holiday tour of Rome. If travelling independently I would want to be closer to the centre of the city ( and would be willing to pay more for the privilege ) , but as all our transport was arranged, it was fine. Clean, but not great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    257
    160
    48
    48
See reviews for
185
232
22
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was clean and tidy reasonably spacious and had excellent easily control working Air- Con. The bath was a spa jet type that we couldn't get working and the shape size of the bath made it awkward to get out and turn the taps off!..
The TV had sky news and BBC world service..

Al the staff were decent and welcoming

The beds best described as a FIRM mattress virtually modelled on a bed we saw in pompeii!..To be fair the first night was awful having several injuries from sport that still nag it was difficult to sleep- The easiest rememdy is to have a busy day walking in Rome getting back to the Hotel half cream crakered meant sleep was very easy.

Ok Rome is BUSY and can be noisy our room was side on to the road and Park (beautiful in the mornings)- we had very little noise due to the good quality glazing and being side facing.If you can swing a room facing the park it has a balcony our foor I think the room was 307? do check

Breakfast buffett- we were part of a group from Travelsphere there are other tour operators that use this Hotel. At 7am when the restaurant opens it can be a bunfight to get a seat and work along the buffet ..Give it 30 mins and its becoming clear and new items are being brough out.. I'm Gluten intollerant which is a pain- there is a limited choice if the baaskets empty go and ask a waiter for more and they are very happy to help you out.. Coffee good - limited choice really for such a nice hotel...usual consituted fruit juice drinks which as usual are very average.

Evening meals are not served couple of tips if you turn right then right down the alleyway about 500m in front of you is a reasonable bar/cafe place open till 8.30 not bad- opposite is a pizzeria didnt try it but an option.

If you turn right and walk back on the same side eventually there is a fish restaurant which is recommended (sea bass) and virtually opposite a decent pizzeria.

Transport wise this is a great location..bus direct into town is directly opposite the hotel...and if you turn right out of the hotel and keep walking just after the fish restaurant is the metro. The hotel does have a car park no diea how much it is to park.. Having witnessed three crashes and almost had one in the coach on our first morning into visit the Colluseum - I wouldn't care for driving and even LESS to find a parking space- I've been a Institute of Advanced Motorists Motorcycle member for 10 years and ridden all over Europe with the boys.

As a city centre hotel this is a good choice being roughly 5 miles to the centre of everything

One negative they charge for WiFi

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the park which has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is outdated but clean. Their buffet breakfast is ok.Towels and linens are in good condition.The staff are friendly and helpful. The only bad part is their wifi ,you have to be in the lobby to get a good reception,in our room you have to open the window and it is super slow.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect with the hotel after reading mixed reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely room and much better standard than we expected. Had a look on street view before we went and wondered if the surrounding area was a bit 'dodgy' due to all the graffiti - but is isn't- it is just that the whole of Rome has a graffiti problem. We were on a trip so didn't try the metro but some people did and said it was fine (the station is only a short walk from the hotel). The only bad point (as others have mentioned) is the price of the WiFi

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordLadBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Room was small with no tea or coffee facility's in the room
no free wifi which is pretty much the norm now at hotels
breakfast average and no evening restaurant meaning having to go out all the time, bus service at the gate and the underground within walking distance not far from the vatigan

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loudunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed as part of our Trafalgar tour. Very small rooms, the smallest our whole trip. We had to step over our suitcases to navigate around the room. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast offerings were very poor. This was the only hotel that did not offer free WIFI, it cost 3 euros for 1 hr. Really, in this day and age who does not offer free WIFI? Cannot comment as to its location as we were bused everywhere. Would not choose to stay on my own accord, but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest, first of all we are very sorry the room you had was too small for you. If you had come to reception to tell us about this problem, we would have done our best to give you a larger room.
Anyway we are glad you have found our rooms clean and our beds comfortable.
We hope you take the chance to come back. We will be glad to give you an ugrade in superior room with free wi-fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. Close to metro and bus stop. Staff very friendly especially the reception staff always happy to help out and give information. Breakfast plenty of choice and nice and fresh. Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels. Only down side was the large group of school children also staying there on same dates who made a lot of noise and banging around however it was dealt with by the staff when they were informed. All in all we would stay back at this hotel if we came back to rome. Very happy couple :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mhcr716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest, we really thank you for your positive review. We are glad you appreciated the good location of Pinewood Hotel, its friendly staff and quality breakfast, together with the cleaness of its rooms. All these are very important aims in our job. We really hope to wellcome you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
The Church Palace
#444 of 1,291 in Rome
454 reviews
Raganelli Hotel
#431 of 1,291 in Rome
572 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#278 of 1,291 in Rome
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#189 of 1,291 in Rome
244 reviews
Hotel Turner
#663 of 1,291 in Rome
899 reviews
Hotel Artis
#358 of 1,291 in Rome
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Property: Pinewood Hotel
Address: Via della Pineta Sacchetti 43, 00167 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#234 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#293 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rome just a few stops away from the Vatican City, the Rome Hotel Pinewood shows itself in a panoramic position facing over the Sacchetti Pinewood.Strategically located only 5 minutes walking distance away from the Cornelia subway station and bus terminal, the Rome Hotel Pinewood is equally close to the university Policlinico Gemelli, S.Carlo di Nancy-IDI and to the Olimpic Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing