We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and friendly staff”
Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #435 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect with the hotel after reading mixed reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely room and much better standard than we expected. Had a look on street view before we went and wondered if the surrounding area was a bit 'dodgy' due to all the graffiti - but is isn't- it is just that the whole of Rome has a graffiti problem. We were on a trip so didn't try the metro but some people did and said it was fine (the station is only a short walk from the hotel). The only bad point (as others have mentioned) is the price of the WiFi

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordLadBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 748 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Room was small with no tea or coffee facility's in the room
no free wifi which is pretty much the norm now at hotels
breakfast average and no evening restaurant meaning having to go out all the time, bus service at the gate and the underground within walking distance not far from the vatigan

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loudunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed as part of our Trafalgar tour. Very small rooms, the smallest our whole trip. We had to step over our suitcases to navigate around the room. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast offerings were very poor. This was the only hotel that did not offer free WIFI, it cost 3 euros for 1 hr. Really, in this day and age who does not offer free WIFI? Cannot comment as to its location as we were bused everywhere. Would not choose to stay on my own accord, but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest, first of all we are very sorry the room you had was too small for you. If you had come to reception to tell us about this problem, we would have done our best to give you a larger room.
Anyway we are glad you have found our rooms clean and our beds comfortable.
We hope you take the chance to come back. We will be glad to give you an ugrade in superior room with free wi-fi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. Close to metro and bus stop. Staff very friendly especially the reception staff always happy to help out and give information. Breakfast plenty of choice and nice and fresh. Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels. Only down side was the large group of school children also staying there on same dates who made a lot of noise and banging around however it was dealt with by the staff when they were informed. All in all we would stay back at this hotel if we came back to rome. Very happy couple :-)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mhcr716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest, we really thank you for your positive review. We are glad you appreciated the good location of Pinewood Hotel, its friendly staff and quality breakfast, together with the cleaness of its rooms. All these are very important aims in our job. We really hope to wellcome you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I thought the hotel was very nice. They only open the restaurant when groups request it. The people working there are very nice. No laundry facilities have to pay a lot to send them out. Far away from attractions and airport. Pinewood hotel Roma

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Client,
thank for your review and for the nice words about of staff.
We do have laundry facilities with same day delivery and of course....like in any other hotel...they are under payment.
Regarding the hotel location, we are just 25 minutes driving from Fiumicino Airport, which is outside town, and very close to some of the main attractions: we are just 3 metro stops, 8 minutes, from Vatican Museums and St. Peter Basilica!
Hoping to wellcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very bad, thanks to the manager. This man was very rude to us on several occasions, he made you feel like you were not wanted. Upon arrival he was sitting beneath a "no smoking" sign smoking, then he came up to me and I had to deal with the stench on his breath. When I asked questions he would say things like "like i told you yesterday", with a pompous look on his face. He gave us directions twice, both were either wrong or completely lacking, such as not telling us that the "bus" we were to be on was actually a train.
The room was very small, our was a "family" room but was extremely tiny and crowded. They just threw some hideaway beds in a very small room and called it a "family" room. Don't stay at this hotel, you will find better service and accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claude1492614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear client,
first of all we are very sorry for your complaint, because our main goal is to make all our clients satisfied and happy with their stay.
To answer your review it is very important to us to point out the following.
Your reservation was for a FAMILY ROOM FOR 3 PERSONS, but at you arrival you were 5 persons. We did our best to arrange the room you had booked in order to accomodate the whole family. Actually, we gave you a Family Room of 32 square meters, with two connected bedrooms, one with one double bed, the other with two single beds and a sofa bed. In between a comfortable bathroom with bath and shower column, both equipped with jacuzzi system.
We did not charge you any supplement for the two extra beds, and we also served free breakfast to one of the two extra persons.
We are glad to inform that at the Pinewood Hotel it is also possible to book FAMILY SUITES FOR 5 PERSONS, of 38 square meters, made of 2 connecting bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sitting room. All at a reasonable price
We sincerely tell you we did our best to offer you a good service and make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Anyhow, we would really like to wellcome you once again in the future, so that you can change you mind on Pinewood Hotel Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week as part of school group trip, and I was pleased with the hotel. The owner and staff are extremely nice and did a great job with our large group. A few of us arrived early and the staff offered to store our bags in a locked closet, which made it no problem to go back out until the rooms were ready.

The property is located a 10 minute walk from the Cornelia metro. It's not centrally located for touring, but was a good match for our purposes: i.e. nothing too tempting for high schoolers! There are a couple of restaurants, coffee shops, and a market walking distance from the hotel. It's not far from the Vatican, which made it a good location for us since our group performed there several times. There's a place out front for buses and taxis to drop off. Across the street is a park. I didn't go in but several in my group went running in the park during the day. I probably would not go there after dark.

The public spaces of the hotel worked well for us. The lobby is large with a number of couches and a small bar which made it convenient for the adults to gather in the evening, and for the group to convene before the bus arrived. There is also a terrace which the kids used to hang out even though it was chilly. It was nice for them to have a separate place to socialize but where they were contained. I bet it's wonderful when the weather is warm. We all went up to the terrace New Year's Eve and watched the fireworks. There were a few evenings where people brought cheese, crackers and wine and hung out in the lobby and the hotel staff was very gracious about that. I paid $20 Euro for the week for wi-fi and never had trouble getting on. It was fine for email, but a little slow.

The hotel serves a breakfast buffet with good coffee, two kinds of juice, 3 flavors of yogurt, cereal, granola, milk, rolls, cheese, ham, sweet buns, and fresh fruit (apples & clementines the week I was there). The staff does a good job of keeping it replenished. There is not an actual restaurant, but the hotel did provide 3 dinners for our group and all were far better than I expected based on TA reviews. The bread was a little stale, but the pastas, soup, and salad were very good. Some meats were better than others.

Now for the rooms. This is a typical European-style hotel room, and because I'd read the reviews here I wasn't disappointed. These are not rooms you want to hang in, but everything was very clean and I was comfortable. My single room had a twin bed, a little desk with a drawer, a small closet, a cabinet that looks like it may have held a fridge at one time, a small shelf over the bed, a suitcase stand, a safe, and a bathroom. It was not roomy, but fine. I pack light so it wasn't a problem, but there is very little storage space. There is an individual thermostat in each room, and I was comfortable, but others in the hotel had rooms that were very warm and did not seem to respond to thermostat changes. My room was adjacent to the elevator and was on the side of the hotel. I always bring a noise machine and I slept soundly.

The bathroom was roomy enough with a narrow but full length tub/shower with jets. I just used the basic shower and it was fine. I had great water pressure and the water was hot. Several others in my group complained of not having hot water for showers and they were not happy about it. There were no luxurious towels and only a sink top to put things on, but there was a hairdryer and lighted magnifying mirror. Towels and complementary toiletries were always restocked.

The hotel has some wear and tear in the rooms. The "chrome" finish was broken off the bidet handle, there were were scuff marks on the wall. I didn't think this was a big deal in a hotel that caters to tour groups. Don't expect an American-style 4-star hotel and I think you would have a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roving_Reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Front Office Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Mr Thorn,
thank you for your preference beeing with us at the Pinewood Hotel Rome. We thank you for your positive review.
We are glad you found our staff helpful and nice. it is important for us to see that our attentions on our clients are appreciated.
As you have noticed we are in a good location, right in front of the Sacchetti Pinewood, where most of our guest have the possibility to go running. We are at walking distance from good restaurants and different kind of shops. Bus and metro stops are also very close.
Also thank you for the nice words regarding our restaurant and bar service. You are right our terrace facing the pinewood is very much appreciated by our guests all over spring, summer and autumn.
Of course we will take into account your detailed description of our rooms and bathrooms to make them better and better.
We really hope to wellcome you once again at the Pinewood Hotel Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Raganelli Hotel
#402 of 1,269 in Rome
657 reviews
Hotel Zone
#509 of 1,269 in Rome
661 reviews
Hotel Club House Roma
#500 of 1,269 in Rome
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#255 of 1,269 in Rome
272 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,269 in Rome
676 reviews
Occidental Aurelia
#210 of 1,269 in Rome
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Address: Via della Pineta Sacchetti 43, 00167 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#293 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rome just a few stops away from the Vatican City, the Rome Hotel Pinewood shows itself in a panoramic position facing over the Sacchetti Pinewood.Strategically located only 5 minutes walking distance away from the Cornelia subway station and bus terminal, the Rome Hotel Pinewood is equally close to the university Policlinico Gemelli, S.Carlo di Nancy-IDI and to the Olimpic Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing