We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad service”
Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #452 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very bad service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here recently for our anniversary. We arrived approx 10pm. The outside looks really nice with all nice lights outside. My boyfriend has booked a superior room and we explained that to the receptionist. He wasn't particularly nice and just gave us a key. When we got into the room it was clearly not what a superior room would look like. It was a double bed in a small room and that was it. He went back down and explained again that he had booked a superior room. The man gave him another key for another room. We went to that room to which it was bigger but was 2single beds pushed together to be a double. He went back downstairs to explain that that was not what he had booked. The man eventually gave us another key to which it turned out to look like a superior was! Although it wasn't so superior! We noticed that the jets in the small bath were not working. We had given up speaking to the man downstairs as this was the 3rd time we had been moved. We spoke to another slightly more helpful man in the morning who told us it would be fixed. We went into Rome for the day, to get to rome it was a 10 min walk away to the train station then you had to go about 7stops change and then another 2stops that would get u to the colosseum. Rome is a beautiful city, full of history and of cause the lovely food!! We got back to the hotel after a long day and what a surprise the taps were not fixed nor did they have any notes. This time there was a lady on and she was much more helpful and friendlier. She apologised and gave us 2 keys to 2 different rooms to see which we liked best, at last we actually found a working superior room!!! She have us free wifi for the incovience. When we checked out the next day, the first man we continuly gave us the wrong room was on again. We said that we were not happy because of the rooms yesterday to which he shrugged his shoulders and said there was nothing he could do! Customer service or what!!! In a nut shell go to rome but not this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beaverairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    264
    169
    51
    49
See reviews for
191
240
25
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It is located in a very good place with free parking. The good point is that it is not in the confused and noisy areas of Rome. There are restaurants near the hotel. The accommodation was very clean, spacious and well furnished. Breakfast was regular. Front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artemis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennaro G, Direttore at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your kind , synthetic but helpful review, where you appreciateds the quite of our location and the cleanliness of our room

I am very glad that you found that our reception staff was helpful.
Our aim is to anticipate the need of our clientele , every suggestion is welcome and it help us to increase the standard of our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you here again at the pinewood hotel Rome

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel because it was decently located to Metro subway and busses (took only about 10 min walk to Metro and then another 10 mins to Vatican). However, the hotel is in a pretty run down area and can be an uncomfortable walk if you are walking back to the hotel later at night. There are a few shops open later at night and there would always be a group of men drinking and hanging out on the street. It can be pretty intimidating if you are a small/young group of tourists. We were pretty surprised that it was a 4-star hotel but if comparing to the neighbourhood that it is in, then it could be seen as a 4-star. The staff was friendly but the hotel seems pretty dated. The room service was excellent - they were very good at cleaning our room. Our stay was for 3 nights. The breakfast was decent. Another thing to mention was that we booked the room off of Expedia and we booked a room that said "Free wireless internet". When we got to the hotel, they told us that we had to pay for internet (it was about 3 euros an hour or 20 euros unlimited) but I had to show them my booking confirmation and how it included the wireless internet. After that, they understood and they gave us the password.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quite and tranquil, the Pinewood Hotel is located within walking distance to the metro for easy access to all the sights. Only real concern was the tight bathroom quarters. money can be saved staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

To commence with, i am very dissapointed by the services and the room the hotel provided to me. The room didn't look at all as the photos i saw on their site and defintely doesn't have the quality of a 4 stars hotel.

The tapisserie from the chairs was stained, the walls dirty and bathtube cracked and dirty. Also, the carpet was stained and very used.

The breakfast was poor for a 4 stars hotel. The only fresh fruit available was watermelon. The orange juice was concentrate and the coffee was from coffee machine not freshly brewed.

Moreover, the Manager of the hotel was impolite and he treated me without
professionalism when i asked how is the charging method for the airport shuttle and why there is not the exact amount of money per kilometer showed to me. The manager told me that i can take out my baggages and leave the hotel because in Italia, italians choose the tourists.

Also, when the driver waited for me to the airport, he didn't have any bagde or identification with his name and the name of the hotel.

The location of the hotel is very bad as well, far from the metro and with a lot of homeless people. Not a safe place to be during night hours.

All in all, i was very dissapointed and i will never ever recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

went there with Travelsphere. Area very run down- the nearest eatery is a long depressing walk and you have to get through all the buses at the bus station! Only tw restaurants and one closed as it was August! The hotel has no restaurant. Service poor- there is a bar which is open if they can find someone to serve.! Rooms small-we had a family room and had no room to move around.

It was clean but that is the best that can be said. The streets around had lots of closed businesses and not just for August! Not to be recommended.

Room Tip: dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here at the start of a recent Trafalgar Tour of Italy. The room we had was the smallest one we had on our trip, but is was clean and it met our needs. There was a safe in our room to store our valuables. The breakfast was very nice...the yogurt and granola were delicious. There was no fresh fruit when we were there - only canned - that was a bit disappointing. Overall, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed our stay at the Pinewood. It is a bit away from main attractions in Rome, but I am sure these could be accessed by public transportation if needed. This hotel met our travel needs, but you should research if this hotel's location will meet your wants. We were pleased with this hotel, but we were part of a tour group.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoRdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Raganelli Hotel
#403 of 1,257 in Rome
605 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#211 of 1,257 in Rome
623 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#268 of 1,257 in Rome
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Church Palace
#470 of 1,257 in Rome
481 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#190 of 1,257 in Rome
254 reviews
Black Hotel
#654 of 1,257 in Rome
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Property: Pinewood Hotel
Address: Via della Pineta Sacchetti 43, 00167 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#293 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rome just a few stops away from the Vatican City, the Rome Hotel Pinewood shows itself in a panoramic position facing over the Sacchetti Pinewood.Strategically located only 5 minutes walking distance away from the Cornelia subway station and bus terminal, the Rome Hotel Pinewood is equally close to the university Policlinico Gemelli, S.Carlo di Nancy-IDI and to the Olimpic Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing