We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #421 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We (3 adults) spent 3 nights at this hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. We booked the standard triple room through Expedia, but upon the arrival at the hotel we were given the family room for 5 at no additional cost. The only discrepancy was that Expedia listed free WI-FI and when we arrived at the hotel we found out that there was a daily fee for internet. Our room was located on the main level, but it was surprisingly quiet and we could not hear any of the street traffic. The main reason we chose this hotel is because of the free parking. We had a rental car and almost all hotels in downtown Rome do not have any parking available. You can park on some of the streets at your own risk or spend 30-40 Euro at a garage that might not be even that close to the hotel.
The hotel is conveniently located close to Cornelia subway station and only 10 minute ride from Vatican. This part of the city does not look that nice, but it is safe and there are few nice restaurants, supermarkets and shops for your convenience.
The staff was friendly. The breakfast was good. You can consume your own drinks at the lobby or in the garden.
Overall we had a positive experience and would likely return to this hotel on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 760 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Travelsphere holiday to Rome and Sorrento. The location of the hotel is fine and 10 mins from a metro station which can take you into the city. Rooms were ok but certainly not 4 star standard. They were small and facilities fairly basic. Basically a hotel catering for large groups - either tours like ours or school children groups. Drink prices were 4 star though!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel at Cornelia, 10 stop away from termini. Cornelia is in the red line and is the last stop from the attraction situated near all the red lines stop.

I can't remember the exit name but from the train station you need to go right on the first fork and another left, this will bring you to the metro entrance that is closer to the hotel and you only need to pass one big road. It will take you more than 10min if you are carrying your luggage but if you are just back packing it should take more or less 10min from the metro to the hotel.

My friends and I stayed in one room for 5 people, the room is quite small and the room is meant for family as the toilet door have no lock. For a 5 people room, they only provided 2 small bottle of bath liquid, 2 small bottle of shampoo, 2 hand soap, 4 plastic cups and a shower cap. The bath tub have a water jet function but if your shoulder is more than 42" wide(?) i don't think you can fit in it.

The wi-fi included in the bills but unfortunately only one person can use it at a time. There is also a €3 per person per night city tax you have to pay but you pay it during check out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heirol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Whilst being warned about the high incidence of theft of handbags and wallets when visiting Rome, it seemed it should be safe in a breakfast dining room at 7.00 in the morning. But nowhere is safe. Be warned. We stayed here as a group for 3 nights. As a place to stay with a coach available to take us on daily excursions this was a suitable hotel. However on the morning of leaving the hotel to move to our next resort in Italy, when we had been asked to have passports etc. available on the coach and make sure we had collected everything from the safety deposit box, my friend had her handbag stolen from the back of her dining chair in the breakfast room whilst we were eating breakfast. Money, passport, case keys, camera, mobile, personal items all gone. The police would not attend the hotel and we had to await a taxi to take us to the nearest police station. When the Manager came into the hotel he did not speak to us and avoided making eye contact. It was the Receptionist who helped by taking us to the Police station when taxis were unavaible and we had waited an hour. From there it was 27 Euro to take a taxi to the British Consulate and 120 Euros to get a temporary passport. A train journey from Rome to Naples and a further train journey from Naples to Sorrento to meet up with our travel party who had gone ahead without us to our next holiday destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diana180613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is near metro station Cornelia(10 minutes walking) and several bus stops so its very easy to get to the rome historical center and also Vatican area(for Vatican use bus 49 which is 3 steps from the hotel) . The staff was very friendly and they offered us free wifi(instead of paying 20 euros). The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of towels. Breakfast was good, i enjoyed the crema and marmelade croissantes!! The area of the hotel is quiet but there are some shops, pizzerias and mini markets there!
I strongly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea_h1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean, but crowded with large groups of tourists and families. No way to sleep after 7:30 in the morning. Breakfast is rich, but poor quality. The area is nice but far from the center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Casini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

1. We stayed here for holidays for 3 nights, location from the train station is far from Cornelia. The walking distance is around 15-20 minutes so its a bit far.
2. Place us surrounded by Pine trees so its a relaxing place to stay and very quiet area.
3. Breakfast is average. Bread, juice, coffee tea, ham and eggs, cheese thats the daily food routine.
4. Staff very helful and friendly shows always smile to guests.
5. Comfort rooms are small but accepted.
6. Wifi not free, but available all over the hotel.
€2 -30 minutes
€3 - 1 hour
€10 - 5 hrs
€20 - whole day

There is also a service charge fr Community tax which costs €6 per night of stay.

7. Nice and clean comfortable bed.
8. Place us safe even at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Raganelli Hotel
#356 of 1,271 in Rome
694 reviews
Residence Candia
#374 of 1,271 in Rome
436 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#275 of 1,271 in Rome
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#194 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Hotel Club House Roma
#523 of 1,271 in Rome
736 reviews
Occidental Aurelia
#212 of 1,271 in Rome
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Address: Via della Pineta Sacchetti 43, 00167 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#226 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#293 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $58 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rome just a few stops away from the Vatican City, the Rome Hotel Pinewood shows itself in a panoramic position facing over the Sacchetti Pinewood.Strategically located only 5 minutes walking distance away from the Cornelia subway station and bus terminal, the Rome Hotel Pinewood is equally close to the university Policlinico Gemelli, S.Carlo di Nancy-IDI and to the Olimpic Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing