We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAMERA IN HOTEL ROOM”
Review of Repubblica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Repubblica Hotel
Ranked #1,151 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 10, 2013

this hotel has a great location and the breakfast is satisfactory but as i returned to my room from dinner a few minutes ago i noticed there was a camera on the ceiling pointing towards the bathroom!! i unfortunately noticed this after being here for three days so this camera has already caught me and my other half in the nude. I personally find this unacceptable and would not have booked this hotel if i'd of known. DONT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missiepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Repubblica Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 427 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

If Italy is a boot then the Repubblica Hotel is the dog muck that the boot has trodden in. Me and my girlfriend stayed here from 3rd to the 6th of March 2013. After reading many reviews on here we went into there with completely open minds but what previous guests had said were confirmed within one hour of arrival. There was no 'welcome' to the hotel just an arrogant man sat behind a filthy desk in a filthy suit barking his orders. Empty McDonald's wrappers strewn across the floor is never a good look!

Our room wasn't much better either; the bed had stray hairs in it, every surface was dusty, the room smelt like an old damp mattress, the toilet seat was hanging off what was left of it's hinges and the ceiling in the bathroom was mouldy and damp.

The first morning we were woken at 7am by the sound of someone cutting concrete with a Stihl saw and his mate hammering away at the walls with a lump hammer! We decided,having seen the state of a guest room, that we wouldn't be eating any food that was prepared at this hotel such was the hotel's condition.

When we returned after the first day whoever had tidied the room had not left us any towels in the bathroom so I went down to as the woman on the desk for new towels, it was as if I'd asked for a kidney!

We couldn't wait to depart this hotel and I would not recommend it to anyone, not even a dog!

Room Tip: It's cleaner on the street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redandwhitekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Brilliant location in via Nazionale as some of the hotels situated close to the Termini Station are located in sleazy areas. Yes the hotel is old, and walls have cracks, went into alot of first class shops in the area and they seem to have the same problem, the Lift: what can i say about it? old and quaint yet fully operational, its the guests themselves that keep the doors open, we were staying on the fifth flour and occasionally we used the stairs to go down to reception as there is the only one lift, the hotel was full of people mostly young french older students, italian, asian and other european nationalities chose this hotel. Coming from Malta, the hotels in Malta obviously dont compare as hotels in Malta are mostly brilliant, that's why many Maltese choose to go for weekend breaks in Malta!!! Breakfast is served from 7.30a.m. till 10.00a.m. when i asked if it were possible to go early as we were off to Naples and Pompei for the day, they opened at 6.30a.m. for us and we helped ourselves to coffee, orange juice and lovely crossants, they dont serve an english breakfast here, its a self-service style breakfast,they provide cornflakes, a chocolate cereal, sliced bread and round baps, sponge cake, jam tart, two different slices of ham and cheese, the only thing missing is a toaster!!Loved the coffee machine, coffee was very good, tea and orange or pineapple juice and milk. The rooms are adequate, they daily made the bed and changed towels, towels do smell of vinegar, but they are pristine white as are the sheets,rooms were cleaned daily, our room was at the back of the hotel so it was quiet, the bed was hard and so comfortable, and i slept quite well which is a rarity for me. TV was satellite and provided a good array of italian speaking channels which isn't a problem for us maltese, yet some channels even though italian had english films on! Lovely restaurants, a macdonald's in corner of same building was handy and very close to the termini station. I recommand this hotel to the unfussy tourist, who needs a cheap and cheerful hotel in a very pleasant and good area!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back and for a room that is either in the second or third floor, just in case...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend with a friend of mine at the end of Jan 13. Granted the location is very central and walking distance from everywhere. The hotel itsellf is shared with another hotel on the same floor. The lift was just about in working order and you can only fit two people in wtih your luggage at a push.
The staff were very unhelpful. The room we were given the heating didn't work and we had to complain a number of times before we were moved into another room.
We then on the Sunday whilst having breakfast in the breakfast area which was on the same floor as our room had our key nicked and everything was stolen from our room. When we reported this and asked the staff to open the door we were told we had to pay 10 euros as we had lost the key! Even though it had been stolen! The reception lady was not helpful at all and the only help we were given was we could use the phone to make calls but not too many! She also went on to say she had her handbag stolen from behind reception with over 1000 euros in it. The CCTV didn't work she told us and that they also have a back exit that people can come and go from as they please! The worst hotel I've ever stayed in and the attitude of the staff stank!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is disgusting! The rate doesn't worth it! There was very dark light in the room and plagues were just behind TV. No more! Towels had a smell of vinegar! (I know that towels should be disinfected by vinegar, but not too much!) Breakfast is bad, there was unfresh bread. Receptionists are not so polite! I'll never stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margarita825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the Coliseum and is on a couple of major bus lines including two that go to St. Peter's Basilica. The hotel actually shares its building with another hotel so that is a little confusing. The room was spacious but a little noisy which is probably typical of being in a hotel on a busy street. There was a wifi connection which was helpful and a good basic breakfast. If one likes to walk, the hotel is in walking distance of Trevi fountain, the Spanish Steps, and the Pantheon. As a negative, the elevator was very small as it could barely fit two people let alone their luggage.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not look out to the street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the most difficult review i have written. My expectations were zero after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. so when the trip went out well then i am not sure if that was because of low expectations or because the hotel is decent enough. let me list down the issues which have been raised in the past reviews and my observations from my trip-
Location- Its certainly the best location for a hotel in Rome. Just 5 minutes from the Termini station by walking with your luggage. You can take an airport shuttle from Rome Airport for Euro5 and get down at Termini. Then its just 5 mins with your luggage to Piazza della republicca. all the attractions are within walking distance with restaurants and shops nearby.

The reception and the lift- The lift is certainly small but in working condition. you can fit 2 medium suitcases and 2 people inside the lift. The receptionist was nt as bad as the reviewers made out. he was decent and we were not asked to pay the city tax right at the start.

The size and smell in the rooms- The smell does hit you when you enter your room. but later i realised thats a small across all hotels in Italy. its either floor disinfectant or something. it was easily taken care of by spraying my deo and my wifes dettol. we actually got a huge room with 2 double beds and one extra bed so cant complain about the size. the room was clean enough for us.

The bathroom- The Bathroom was big although the shower cubicle was small. but then again all bathrooms are this size. The bathroom sink got blocked on the second morning. but when we called the reception they got it fixed within some time. so again no complaints on the same

The breakfast- The breakfast is the same menu everyday. Loafs of bread, slices of cheese, Cold cuts, fruits, biscotta, pie, cake, cereals , with machine juices,milk and coffee. this is a standard breakfast across whole of italy and was quite edible and filling for the start of the day

The behavior of the staff and check out- The staff was quite helpful with us. they provided us the maps and also helped us with directions. the check out was also smooth. i was asked for the city tax when i returned the key and there were no issues.

all in all i would say a decent hotel on the price range without any major issues

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shanDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#840 of 1,267 in Rome
446 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#568 of 1,267 in Rome
318 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#530 of 1,267 in Rome
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#729 of 1,267 in Rome
156 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#994 of 1,267 in Rome
921 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Siviglia
Hotel Siviglia
#959 of 1,267 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Repubblica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Repubblica Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 251, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,151 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Repubblica Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Repubblica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing