We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend this Hotel”
Review of Villa Morgagni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Morgagni
Ranked #364 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 11, 2010

In the 5 hotels we stayed in on our trip, the Villa Morgagni was the best one. Clean, spacious, polite. The room was as described. The bathroom was spacious and clean with plenty of amenities and a real hairdryer. The bed was comfortable and the comforter was clean. The concierge was always polite and very helpful with recommendations and directions. Breakfast was an average spread and always plenty of tables. 3 minute walk to the Policlinico metro stop and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. Quiet at night. Perfect for a stay in Rome. Nothing over the top fancy but just what you need after long days touring Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katzzmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 555 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Right near metro but we used cabs to get us to the hop on hop off stops. Morning breakfast very nice in roof top room. Staff very accommodating Great value. Rooms very nice and clean. Would definitely return Worth being slightly out of the bustle

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LasVegasGogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I booked this hotel through Expedia, and it was absolutely perfect for us. It was off the busy street, tucked into a residential neighborhood. An excellent value, it was quaint, tidy, and I cannot praise the desk staff enough. They "do it all" including exceptional concierge services. I booked a "deluxe" standard room, based on reviews that I read noting some of the rooms were too small. It was sufficient; it had the desk needed by my companion for work on his laptop, as well as internet access. The bath had a shower and jacuzzi tub. The included breakfast was satisfying, incorporating both hot and cold choices of eggs, assorted cereals, pastries, cheeses, fruits, coffee and the like. Above all, and the primary reason I chose this particular hotel, was its placement very near a Metro station that was only two stops from Termini Station. We became experts of the Metro and bus lines in short order, which allowed us complete access to the entire city. There are few eateries nearby, but the hotel personnel directed us to a fabulous, family-run restaurant a couple of blocks away, that is enjoyed by the locals. It was so delicious, we dined there a couple of times. Our arrival was called ahead by the hotel, and we received outstanding hospitality. Without question, between this lovely hotel, and the tours we booked with Context Travel, well, our visit truly was a Roman Holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The main criticism concerned the bathroom which was not up to scratch. The "jacuzzi" bath never worked but that did not concern us as we do not like them but for others..... The bath itself was uncomfortable. The other main problem a was the very very low wattage bulbs in both the room and the bathroom; you need "cats eyes" to read.

Breakfast was adequate but unimaginative bearing in mind we were there in full fruit season.

However the staff were first class, the location very, very quiet and only 200 Yards from a Metro Station (Policlinico).

Bearing in mind the price we paid for "hotel and flight" deal from S.N.C.F. travel service, it was good value for money - the rack rate is another matter.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertmandelieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I booked for 4 nights at this hotel month's ago. Upon arrival, I was told the hotel was overbooked and need to transfer us to another hotel for 1 night.

Overall, the hotel met our expectation. Nearby Metro and bus stops to city center, clean room, excellent front staff and quiet neighborhood. The improvement I would like to see is the room itself. The lights are few and dark. Only two shaded lights above bedside table and one above the mirror. The hard wood floor looks dull and needs polishing probably due to heavy human traffic.

The only drawback is Rome's Metro is not user friendly for traveler with luggage. Be aware that you may have to carry your luggage up and down the stairs to get to the platform.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeExplorer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

the hotel was ideally placed being close to the metro and an easy trip from the station.the hotel staff were polite and helpful and the rooftop location for breakfast was an ideal start to the day.Would definately recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardWooreCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I thought the hotel overall was very good and echo some of the comments made elsewhere - i.e. great buffet breakfast, spotlessly clean, very helpful staff etc. However, we had a ground floor room, close to reception and, as a light sleeper, I was awoken each morning by the loud conversations from that area - earliest was 06.30. In the whole scheme of things probably a minor point - but one of which to be aware if you are given a room close to reception.
It's also been ages since I stayed in a hotel with, disappointingly, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Grand Hotel Ritz
Grand Hotel Ritz
#552 of 1,271 in Rome
350 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#232 of 1,271 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Demetra Hotel
Demetra Hotel
#373 of 1,271 in Rome
467 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#491 of 1,271 in Rome
925 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Romanico Palace
Hotel Romanico Palace
#277 of 1,271 in Rome
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Morgagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Morgagni

Address: Via Giovanni Battista Morgagni 25, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Rome
#132 Business Hotel in Rome
#198 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#231 Family Hotel in Rome
#239 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $75 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Morgagni 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rome Hotel Villa Morgagni is an elegant Liberty Villa built at the beginning of the 19th century and recently refurbished to unite warm hospitality with a tasteful ambience, a mixture which has created an exclusive atmosphere and refined hospitality. Positioned off the main road, thanks to its long driveway, it offers the advantage of an environment particularly silent and relaxing. For the business traveller, Villa Morgagni has a conference room. Start the day with a view while enjoying a gourmet breakfast in our Roof-top garden or finish it by relaxing in our Turkish bath and sauna or just lounging in our bar and lounge. Private parking is also available and the area is also and well served by the subway, bus line and taxi services to arrive to the historical center not far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Morgagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Morgagni Hotel Rome
Morgagni Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing