We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel 2 stops from Termini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Morgagni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Morgagni
Ranked #323 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Hotel 2 stops from Termini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked this hotel through Trip Adviser, Spent 3 nights was given room 101 right by reception. This was a large disabled room, overlooking the car park. This didn't bother us as we had come to Rome for the sights, not a view from a Hotel Room, we only slept at the hotel, after a long tiring day.
The staff were a credit to the hotel and friendly, especially Giovanna who was very supportive after my wallet was stolen on the Metro. We couldn't have asked fro more.
The breakfast was very good and as others have said is on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    238
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
98
250
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Morgagni for 7 nights and whilst the place was very good, our room was a little small (304) The bathroom was quite large and well appointed. If the staff could move the bed around so that it was parallel to the window there would be more usable space, as it stands the only way to access the right hand side of the bed is by negotiating a very narrow gap (about 150mm/6ins) between the bed end and the window. The rooms were cleaned every day but not thoroughly, dust in the corners by the bed. (probably could not have got the hoover past the bed end!) we tend to walk everywhere when on holiday to get the true atmosphere of the city but even for us the hotel is a long way out unless you risk the buses or metro. Directly opposite is a supermarket which is very useful. Out of the driveway and turn left and a short walk will bring you into a lively area with bars and restaurants. The reception staff were generally friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning whilst being adequate could be improved by ensuring the coffee is always hot and the food being refilled more frequently. If you want to enjoy the bacon and scrambled eggs you will have to be up early as after 8:30 you may get the comment "is finish" There is ham, cheese, boiled eggs, very sweet croissants, bread for toasting, bread rolls, biscuits and crackers with yoghurt, fresh fruit and cereals as well as the afore mentioned bacon and scrambled eggs washed down with tea, coffee or a variety of juices (not the freshly squeezed type). If you do tend to walk steer clear of the area around Termini after dark as it is not a very good area.

Room Tip: Room 307 was better laid out but lacked a bath but did have a shower cubical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank double07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day trip to Italy. We spent the first 4 days/nights in Rome and stayed at this lovely hotel. We had a double room with breakfast included which is served on the 4th floor. I've seen other reviewers complain about the breakfast, but I was quite pleased with the quality of the breakfast. There were scrambled eggs and proscuitto every morning as well as a selection of fruits, cereals, pastries and croissants. Coffee was abundant, and capuccino or tea on request. There's a great view of the city from there, but only on one side. The hotel sits back off the street which is nice because of the street noise...but it's Rome...there's lots of street noise, but we had our window open most of the time except when we went to bed at night. With the window closed the noise was minimal. The hotel is only a few minutes away from the Policlinico stop on the Metro (Line B of the metro), and there's an ATM, grocery store, Tabacchi/pastry shop/restaurant just across the street by the entrance to the train stop. The room was small, but it's Europe, and most of them are, so it was what I expected. This was my husbands first trip to Italy, so I had prepared him to expect small rooms. The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. On our second day, my husbands wallet was stolen, and the staff were very helpful in assisting us to take care of those issues, such as using the wi-fi for free. My only two issues with our stay here were: 1) the location...it is a little farther away from the area I would have like to stay, and 2) the room temperature of the room and the hotel. The digital thermometer in our room said 24 degrees Celsius which equates to 75 degrees. So, we just kept the heater turned off and opened the windows when we were in our room. No big deal. But I have decided that the Italian people as a whole are cold natured because it was like that everywhere we went. Overall, an excellent hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't let the location or street noise keep you from staying here. The metro is very close and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've been here for 3 days, the hotel is really good, I've been in a junior suite. The room is clean and really comfortable. The breakfast is served on the therrace on the top of the hotel, joy in the morning. The hotel is suitated near station Policlinico and near some good restaurants. Really satisfied at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aboutmarcolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spånga, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Had booked one Double Deluxe and One Twin Superior room for 5 nights. The Twin Superior room was excellent and according to expectations. However, the Double Deluxe room was the smallest room I have ever experienced in Europe - even smaller than all rooms I have stayed at in Japan. I'm certain that we did not get a Double Deluxe room but were ripped off.
The heating in the room was not possible to adjust but we had full heat all night long and woke up several times during the night all soaked in sweat. The Thermostat obviously did not work and in spite of complains at the reception about the problem nothing was fixed nor did we get proposal to change rooms.
The Hotel insisted in getting paid extra for Wifi in the rooms (1 € per hour and person) and still it did not work because of poor signal. And, specially one receptionist (probably the owner) was really alert in asking us to use their "special partner" for different services but at extreme overprices.
Breakfast was typical continental breakfast - nothing special - but worth the 6€ they charge for breakfast per person.

The hotel is not in the city but close to the hospital. However, both tram, subway and buses have stops very close to the hotel.

Now, considering that we stayed there off season and at off season prices (€60 per room/ night + tax + breakfast), the experience still was ok. But imagine if you have to pay the high season prices of €250 per room/night + tax + breakfast - than it is a real rip off.

Room Tip: Choose their twin superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was clean however it was very small. The hotel was very nice, I liked the interior. The receptionists were a little rude but when we asked them for info or extra pillows, they were helpful.
The breakfast was a let down, there wasn't much selection and there was only one waiter who seemed to be doing the cooking as well. This obviously meant that the food was well stocked up or the tables were cleared. I saw a few couples having to clear their own table. The view from the terrace was very good though.
The hotel is in a great location, only 2/3 mins walk from the Tube stop. The neighborhood was very quiet too, which is nice in Rome. We have stayed in this area before so we knew the area and where the good restaurants are. Our favorite is Ristorante Queen on V.le Regina Margherita (Street)
Although the room was small and the breakfast wasn't great, I would stay here again because of the area and the hotel's presentation.
The hotel is quite hidden to Google Street view the entrance, which is a long drive-way...which makes the hotel quiet.

Room Tip: Google Street view to find the hotel, it is hard to see. But this makes it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisW1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Villa Morgagni over valentines weekend, lovely place & very helpful staff. We were able to leave our bags before we'd checked in & even after we'd checked out. On arrival we were given the choice of rooms and chose room 401, a lovely room. It was a perfect size room for us & had the bonus of a huge private terrace complete with table, chairs & parasol. Room had plenty of storage and the bathroom was a really good size with a jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was on the same floor & had a good selection. In terms of location I thought it was great, a 2 minute walk from the metro & only a few stops into the centre, from leaving the hotel in around 10 minutes you can be where you want to be & pay far less than those hotels in the centre. Overall I thought this hotel was a wonderful surprise, for the price I didn't expect it to be as good as it was, special thanks to all the lovely staff. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Rome!

Room Tip: Request 401 if you can for a private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciereeve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#275 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#293 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#443 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Torlonia
#1,043 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Villa Patrizi
#988 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#196 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Morgagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Morgagni

Property: Villa Morgagni
Address: Via Giovanni Battista Morgagni 25, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Rome
#132 Business Hotel in Rome
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#231 Family Hotel in Rome
#239 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Morgagni 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rome Hotel Villa Morgagni is an elegant Liberty Villa built at the beginning of the 19th century and recently refurbished to unite warm hospitality with a tasteful ambience, a mixture which has created an exclusive atmosphere and refined hospitality. Positioned off the main road, thanks to its long driveway, it offers the advantage of an environment particularly silent and relaxing. For the business traveller, Villa Morgagni has a conference room. Start the day with a view while enjoying a gourmet breakfast in our Roof-top garden or finish it by relaxing in our Turkish bath and sauna or just lounging in our bar and lounge. Private parking is also available and the area is also and well served by the subway, bus line and taxi services to arrive to the historical center not far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Morgagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Morgagni Hotel Rome
Morgagni Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing