We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Morgagni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Morgagni
Ranked #323 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We can't complement the staff at the Morgagni enough. From the bellhop, to those at the front desk, to those working in the penthouse breakfast room, every encounter was greeted with a smile. All requests were promptly and professionally satisfied. The breakfast was abundant and of excellent quality. The hotel location was quite convenient to the metro, buses and restaurants. (Loved the Happy Hour at the wine bar across the street!) The room was well appointed and the tall ceilings added a touch of elegance. Overall, a very good value!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southern-Gentleman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    238
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
98
250
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Most things I have to say about this hotel are great.

#1-Amazing location. It is very close, just about 2 min. walk to the Policlinico Metro (B line) only two stops from termini station. Close to a bus stop and a tram, also. There was a little grocery store very close to buy cheep water, toiletries and food.

#2-Great breakfast! So much to choose from with fruit, pastries, cereals, yogurt, eggs, meats, breads, juice, water, coffee. The rooftop view was nice during breakfast.

#3-Clean room, clean bathroom. The bathroom was marble, and a very good size for Europe. Both the room and bathroom was big enough to feel comfortable. There was a bath tub and shower combo. The water temp did fluctuate, though. There were many little toiletries in the bathroom, which was nice. There was a very handy close up mirror for applying make-up and a hair dryer. The in room safe was big enough to fit our iPad. Room #206 had a double bed, a desk, chair, closet, stool, tv, fridge, phone, windows that open, curtains that keep the sun light out, laundry service, but no clock. There was in room controlled air conditioning which worked well, but when you left the room the lights and AC turned off. So, no charging your devices or cooling down your room while you are out. We didn't mind that too much, though. Did I say it was clean? It was clean!

#4-Price was reasonable for a 4 star hotel with breakfast included.

#5-Other stuff... Wifi is not free. One continuous hour is free, then you have to pay for it. There was an elevator. Hotel lobby and other areas were nice. 24 hour reception. Hotel staff were very helpful. They helped us find restaurants, and get reservations. They really cared, and they spoke English. They have info on tours and will book one for you. Must pay city tax in cash.

We loved this hotel and when we visit Rome again, we will stay here, definitely. No need to search all over again.

Tip about Rome: Get a Roma Pass. You can buy it at the Ciampino airport where you buy the bus tickets for Terravision.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessnessa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel at Villa Morgani-until time to go to sleep. Our room was the room right next to the computer and the bathrooms. Just down from the hotel check in desk. We had a hard time going to sleep every night because of the noise. I don't know if it was the desk clerk and the visitors lurking out in the lobby, or the people standing at the door smoking. There was also a parking lot just outside our bathroom window and it was loud when workers came and went from there. The rooms were nice. There was ample room to move around and decorated nicely. The beds were not very comfortable, but, I guess that is common when you travel. Breakfast was free, but, I didn't really eat much of it. Lots of pastry type stuff, some fruit and cereal, etc. Rooms were very clean, nice big bathroom. The staff was friendly. Some people say there was free wi-fi. We were never offered that, which, was a downside of this hotel for us. Not alot of eating choices around either. But, this hotel was in a quiet part of town and not far at all from subway. Just do not stay on bottom floor close to desk!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to the front desk. Very loud--all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for one night in June 2013.
This is the 2nd time at this hotel. It is very handy for the offices I visit and is fairly close to the main parts of town with a tube station just opposite.
Very easy to get to from the main station via 2 stops on the tube - much cheaper and quicker than a taxi if you haven't got too much luggage.
Hotel is nice and quiet away from roads, lovely view from the roof top breakfast area in the mornings.
Rooms are small but have everything you need - would be tight of 2 of you.
Minibar, aircon, etc all work fine.
Breakfast is good with enough choice.
Everything very clean and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetsqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every time I am in Rome, I stay at the Villa Morgagni. It is located near the university and therefore, it is quiet and peaceful. The hotel management is superb; they cater to every need. The rooms are spacious and clean and the bathrooms are immaculate. Breakfast is to die for. Everything you can imagine is on the menu and cooked to perfection. The hotel is located across the street from the Metro and you are only two stops from Termini Station. Therefore, you are out of the loop of the craziness of the city centre. Tour bus vans will pick you up for your tour. I stay in hotels all over the world and consider this property to be one of the best. Price is reasonable. By the way, the windows are so thick that you cannot hear the outside world. Some rooms have balconies which is an added treasure.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. They will accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived from Paris and after 12 days of hectic sight seeing, Villa Morgagni was a pleasant oasis. Our third floor room was spacious, very clean and had a nice view of green and residential Rome. All staff were pleasant and the front desk staff were very helpful. The first hour of wifi is free, and 1 Euro for each session after that. Breakfast on the rooftop is a lovely way to start the day and there was a pleasing variety of food. The Colosseum is only 4 short Metro stops away. We spent 2 very full days exploring Rome, ate our big meal at lunch in wonderful piazzas and then had local pizza one evening and brought home sandwiches the next. At this point of our vacation, it was nice to retreat from the city centre to a quieter environment. This location is no problem for the experienced transit traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our first stop on our trip of Italy. We found the accommodations to be very nice. This hotel certainly had the nicest breakfast spread of any that we stayed in. It is located in a somewhat quieter area not directly in the hear of tourism but is located less than half a block from a subway station. You are only a brief 5 or 10 minute ride from most of the major sights. If you are up for a reasonable walk (~1.5 mile) you can reach most on foot as well.

While the staff was not rude or bad in any way they certainly weren't as warm and friendly as we experienced elsewhere on our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingCandyCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#278 of 1,291 in Rome
1,567 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#281 of 1,291 in Rome
1,325 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#435 of 1,291 in Rome
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Patrizi
#974 of 1,291 in Rome
138 reviews
Hotel Villa Torlonia
#1,038 of 1,291 in Rome
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Morgagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Morgagni

Property: Villa Morgagni
Address: Via Giovanni Battista Morgagni 25, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Rome
#132 Business Hotel in Rome
#173 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#231 Family Hotel in Rome
#239 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Morgagni 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rome Hotel Villa Morgagni is an elegant Liberty Villa built at the beginning of the 19th century and recently refurbished to unite warm hospitality with a tasteful ambience, a mixture which has created an exclusive atmosphere and refined hospitality. Positioned off the main road, thanks to its long driveway, it offers the advantage of an environment particularly silent and relaxing. For the business traveller, Villa Morgagni has a conference room. Start the day with a view while enjoying a gourmet breakfast in our Roof-top garden or finish it by relaxing in our Turkish bath and sauna or just lounging in our bar and lounge. Private parking is also available and the area is also and well served by the subway, bus line and taxi services to arrive to the historical center not far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Morgagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Morgagni Hotel Rome
Morgagni Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing