We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge made the experience.”
Review of Tempio Di Pallade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tempio Di Pallade
Ranked #1,085 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was surprised to read some of the horror stories about the hotel here, as our experience was quite satisfactory.
First I would like to say that I rate the hotel at 3/5, however I am adding an extra 1 purely for the wonderful concierge, Alex. He was immensly helpful, friendly, entertaining, and just a real character all in all. He is also an archeologist. I particularly enjoyed him waving a hand, and saying, "Michaelangelo was an amateur."
The good: Alex, low cost, proximity to Manzoni Stazione, nearby restaurants, very clean, satisfactory breakfast, helpful staff.
I injured my ankle after exploring Ostia Antica, and the staff were all too happy to get some ice for me to apply, and also supplied us with an adaptor to charge our phones with. I'm not sure why people are saying the breakfast rolls were "stale"...they are crunchy rolls, and were soft and fluffy inside...they are meant to be that way. Also, the televisions DO work, it's just that we had the sense to go to reception and ask how to turn them on.

The bad: EXTREMELY nasty smelling detergent/cleaning agent, very thin walls, tiny room, tiny shower, and we got a double room after requesting a twin.

All in all, we were satisfied. We are used to budget hotels, and are pretty confident navigating different parts of town. The beds were suitable, the towels were changed each day, and we had a fantastic concierge, so we were quite happy.

Room Tip: You cannot turn the televisions on with the power button, you need to press 1. Ask the reception to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Tempio Di Pallade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 438 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had this hotel booked for us by our travel agent and were very disappointed. Very small rooms and very ordinary breakfast. Lots of groups of students staying in the hotel and they were extremely noisy, running up and down hallways and going up and down in the elevators. We complained to management about the noise and they assured us it would be retified but unfortunately nothing changed for the whole of our visit. On returning home we put in a formal complaint via our travel agent and had some of our money refunded. We will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel is look like their descriptions, rooms and bathrooms small, but very clean. Furniture is not new, but it is well maintained and clean. The employees are very friendly and polite. Breakfast was ample with milk, cereal, fruit, jam, 3 types of sausage, cheese, cookies, coffee and juice machines. I had no problems with noise of others.
Subway station is 10 minutes away and the train station Termini 20 minutes away. The street is a little hidden, but devoid of undesirable events as they assured me all I talked about this aspect.
I did not found at this hotel something bad I read before. Compared to other hotels in major European capitals where I stayed, the price of this hotel is a half than others, superior cleanliness and breakfast surpasses them all.
When you go in honeymoon looking for a 5-star hotel, when you go to visit Rome, looking for a clean room and near to transport station.
You can't pay 3 star and expect 5 star for facilities and service!
I recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for 3 nights. For her, it's a cheap hotel and that's it but for me it's more than that. Every little thing people say about it in other reviews is so true. Breakfast is the poorest and most disgusting thing ever. Rooms are tiny and ours had a third bed to make it even tighter. Bed linen, OMG (I don't want to remember). During those 3 nights we never got toiletries refilled. And the worst of all, one night, the boiler was broken and whole hotel ran out of hot water. I had to go out without a shower and my mom went to bed without one. How frustrating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baratella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Poor service,small rooms,very small bathroom,poor breakfast,location not easy accesible,moderate price,once booked never again.I am sure you can find much better places in the city of Rome.
Worst place with big luggage.Many groups of students,thrrefore very noisy.

1  Thank wolfgangschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went on a cruise and stayed 2 nights prior and after the cruise and were booked into this hotel by the travel agency. When we first arrived, the reception gave us hope, it looked very nice. There was a older gentleman on reception, who was completely flustered and gave "basil" from Faulty Towers a run for his money! They had no change, and complained that "us tourist never had smaller euros to pay the bed tax"! I asked why he had no change if he knew this to be the case? Got a cold reception from there on. Was assigned our room, it was so tiny there was no room to actually open our bag! The shower was so tiny, you had to be a circus clown to get into it, and it leaked.. Bathroom was wet and had leaked under flooring in room, but it is a three star hotel, so it was adequate. On our return visit, conditions got way worse, room was so small, nothing worked in it and where the building is 800 years old, the bed and bedding in our room was at least 400 years old im sure! The bed was so hard, may as well sleep on a marble floor! I complained about it, advising that we had a 30 hour long haul flight home the next day, so would it be possible to change room - was rudely told "no, stop whinging"!, WTF? I then did become rude! Was then Offered the staff room, which had no window at all, and left a lot to be desired, however, it was a comfortable old bed! (There were rooms available, he just chose not to give us another). Will never stay there again, it truly is a schoolies/back packers hostel, not suitable for more mature travellers. We were also attacked / robbed by a gypsy outside the hotel in broad daylight!

Room Tip: Stay away from this part of town. Termini railway station full of pick pockets, gypsies and thieves...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Inge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Close to the termini Stazione but that is the only positive - seedy area;; cramped rooms; and noisy. It was only a "one night stop over" being in transit from Dubrovnik to Perth. During the previous week we stayed in an apartment near the Pantheon - still cramped but what a very different and positive experience. Final advice is to use the Trip Advisor!!!

Room Tip: See above use the trip advisor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Parker
Hotel Parker
#592 of 1,267 in Rome
306 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,039 of 1,267 in Rome
263 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#830 of 1,267 in Rome
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#974 of 1,267 in Rome
334 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,107 of 1,267 in Rome
382 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#554 of 1,267 in Rome
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempio Di Pallade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempio Di Pallade

Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 425 - 427, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,085 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $48 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tempio Di Pallade 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tempio Di Pallade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempio Di Pallade Rome
Tempio Di Pallade Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing