We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #151 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

That is what this hotel is about. It is set in a great position just off the Via del Corso in Rome. The Spanish Steps are near the back of the hotel, the Trevi Fountain is a few minutes walk away, you can walk across the Tiber (on a bridge of course!) to the Vatican (or take the Metro from the Spanish Steps) and down the Via del Corso to the Victor Emanuel Monument, Colosseum and Forum (or take the bus from outside the hotel).

Staff are friendly and helpful, there is quite a nice self-service buffet breakfast and some nice restaurants and pizzerias just round the corner in the Via della Croce.

The main negatives are:

- the price of the rooms, where you are definitely paying for the location and
- this is an old building, the rooms vary enormously and some are not that great for a 4* hotel.

My last room looked over a roof (that was littered with cigarette ends!), was so dark that we needed the lights on even on a bright sunny day and (my pet hate!) had a shower instead of a bath tub.

Despite this, I would stay there again because of its position and would recommend it for the same reason. Just don't expect too much from the room itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passepartout_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear passepartout_888,
thanks a lot for your review and your wish to come back to us! If you do please do not hesitate to contact us as soon as you know your dates because for advanced bookings our rate system give you normally a better deal! By the way, if you prefer a bath tub (and more space) you need to book a superior room (all classic rooms have shower) and mention your preference. With a friendly comunication we’re confident next time we’ll be able to fully satisfy your needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed one of the Hotel Mozart's Vivaldi Suites apartments in August with our two teenage boys. We had stayed in one of the Vivaldi Suite rooms a number of years ago when the boys were younger (smaller) and this time upgraded to an apartment so as to have more room. The location of the hotel and the apartments is great: between Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps. The apartments are located in a separate building that is just around the corner form the Hotel, facing directly onto Via dei Corso, one of the most popular shopping and strolling streets in Rome. The apartment we stayed in was a perfect size for our family, having two bedrooms, one at the front and one at the rear of the aparatment, with a living room inbetween that converts into a third bedroom. There is also a small kitchen and two full bathrooms with modern fixtures. A full buffet breakfast is served everyday for guests who are staying in the apartments and the apartments have full maid service daily. Guests of the apartments are also able to take advantage of the Hotel Mozart's lovely roof terrace, which is open all day long and has a bar and snack service during the evenings. The Hotel staff are very helpful in booking restaurants, and taxis to and from the airport.

In addition to the local sights and shopping, the area is full of good restaurants, located in the many side streets off the Via de Corso. The closest subway stop is Spagna, which is about 5 minutes walk. We found we preferred to walk everywhere, though, as walking is by far the best way to enjoy Rome. From the hotel we could easily walk to the Trevi Fountain, the Colliseum and the various Fora, and the Pantheon. The Borghese Gardens are also very close by.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers with families (or without), who like to stay in a central location with good amenities for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMW1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear DMW1108,
thank you so much for your detailed and accurate description both of our Suite at “Vivaldi Luxury Rooms” (which we are pleased to remember that have a special section for reviews here on Tripadvisor), and of the neighborhood where we are located.
We are particularly proud to see you come back along the years with your grown-up childs and find ourselves able to meet your grown-up needs!
Of course we are waiting for you and for your beautiful family again and again and please don’t hesitate to call us directly to plan together the best solution for your next holiday in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed last weekend (26-29 Sept)

The hotel is central to everything and the bus (117) to the Colluseum stops virtually outside. Walking distance to the Spanish Steps (5 mins) and Trevi Fountain (10-15 mins). Walking distance to the Vatican 20 mins (past some more tourist attractions and along the river). The hotel was great. It took us a while to figure out the two elevator system going on but a minor irritant. The roof top is fab and it ticks every box.

Tip - Get the bus from the airport and the Metro to Spagna, walk from there. There are many taxi drivers only toO willing to charge you 20 euros for a 2 minute ride!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Ian H,
thank you so much for your nice description of our hotel and its strategic position. Thank you also for the tip to our readers: actually taxi are a bit expensive in Rome and of course the shuttle is the cheapest way to reach the hotel (as long as you don’t have too much luggage to take with you on the subway). It’s useful also to remind that the flat rate for taxis from the airport is not so bad: 48 Euros, but if you don’t know it, some taxi drivers seem to “forget”it, and use the meter. If you don’t want surprises at all you also have the option to ask for the Limo service of the hotel at 59 Euros.
Anyway mr Ian, if you’ll be back again at the Mozart, no matter how you’ll get here, you’ll have our best welcome again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is located just off of Via del Corso very close to the Spanish steps. I agree with another review that mentioned that beautiful rooftop deck and the singers voices rising above the rooftops (in an area that has many music lessons, instruments shops,etc.). Staff was helpful and breakfast each morning was very satisfying. We arrived in Rome after four days down in Positano and while we weren't expecting a duplicate of the beautiful room we had in Positano our first room was a bit disappointing after coming from the coast (had we stayed in Rome first we wouldn't have thought anything negative about the room). We asked at the reception desk if they would happen to have any junior suites that had come available since we made the reservation and he said he would move us the next day. The next morning my husband went to inquire and he was taken around the corner where the hotel has an "annex" called the Vivaldi Suites. Perfection. The room and bathroom were ginormous compared to anything else I had every stayed at in Rome. Everything was neat and clean and the annex even had their own breakfast room (I was certainly prepared to walk around the corner back to the hotel for breakfast each morning but I didn't have to!). The only thing missing (and maybe there was something there but I didn't see it ..) was its own roof top deck but we didn't find any issue in stopping by the hotel each night before bed for a night cap! To top it off we were not charged any additional for the upgrade. Perfect! if I had to mention anything lacking I would mention the bed. I didn't have much of a problem with it but my husband said his back was really hurting - probably a combination of the bed and all the walking one does in Rome!

Room Tip: When booking at Mozart Hotel check to see if any Vivaldi rooms are available. You'll be glad yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelwithBoys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear TravelwithBoys5,
thank you so much for your splendid opinion expressed here on Tripadvisor. We are happy you had the chance to hear the music of the Santa Cecilia Academy, one of the most ancient Academy of music of the world (since 1585!!!), located just in front of our hotel, a happy “bonus” for all our guests who love music.
We are also very happy that you apreciated one of our “Vivaldi Luxory Rooms”, for which you can find other reviews here on Tripadvisor, and which have been builded in these last years with a modern conception to meet the needs of the nowadays travellers. By the way, the roof terrace is only at the Mozart, just around the corner and always available for the guests of the Vivaldi, while at the Vivaldi the “feather in the cap” is the turkish bath. About the beds, we take your warning very seriously anf thank you for that because they are always our first concern and we continuosly check them to be in the best conditions for our guests: if this was not the case we will immediatly remedy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What else could you possibly even hope for in Rome ? This place is like an oasis ! We actually stayed in the Vivaldi extension just around the corner from the main Mozart building. The room was absolutely huge ! And the bathroom was enormous with bath AND shower. The bath was the jacuzzi/whirlpool type. OK, the shower door didn't shut quite right and the water trickled out onto the bathroom floor...but just wipe it up with one of the numerous white, fluffy towels that you'll find there. Our room was on the 2nd floor which was a long hike after a long day street-trotting. The 1st day we could take the elevator. From the 2nd day on, it was out of service. But this is Rome, not everything functions like clock-work. A bit pricey, but worth it. Free Wi-Fi that works (most of the time). Great breakfast with VERY friendly service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vivaldi extension with a huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP6Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear KP6Switzerland,
How can we thank you for this wonderful comment on our “Vivaldi Luxory Rooms”? (by the way, Vivaldi Luxory Rooms have a section of its own here on Tripadvisor). You gave a very nice description of the Prestige Room and also an input for us to go and check that door of the shower! We hope you will visit us again on your nex trip to Rome: please contact us if you do and we’ll manage to make your stay as special as this last one! (you’ll be happy to know that from next year we’ll have a brand new lift at the "Vivaldi"!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

3 days at The Hotel Mozart before going to Northern Italy. A quiet little street off the main boulevard is a perfect location. Beautiful upper deck that looks out over the small roof tops to the view of at least 5 church spirals. Bells ring beautifully on the hour, Opera singers voices rise above (music lessons on our street) make sitting upstairs a moment not to be missed.
Dinner is served as well as a cocktail hour.

Breakfast was incredible...generous and delicious. Take an apple with you as you walk to the Piazza de Populo - an easy walk.

An improvement could be at the Front Desk. They should take time to explain how to get around Rome...I found out afterwards, there's a subway stop close by near the Spanish Steps....that would have been helpful information then. I would have seen a lot more sights than by walking or a bus in traffic. Language can be a barrier sometimes at the Front Desk.

Don't let that stop you - it's a real gem in Rome,
I'd go back in a Heart Beat.

Room Tip: Depends on how much you have to spend. Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed @ Hotel Mozart the first 3 nights od a 2 week trip to Italy. FANTASTIC! This hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, it is charming, the staff is extremely helpful - especially with dinner reservations! Breakfast was the best out of our entire trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcl8653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear jcl8653,
many thanks for your nice comment here on Tripadvosor. We always do our best to make our guests at home and such comments are our best rewards. If you come back to Rome please contact us and we’ll try to make a “new best” of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,272 in Rome
1,242 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#338 of 1,272 in Rome
731 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#50 of 1,272 in Rome
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Vivaldi Luxury Rooms
Vivaldi Luxury Rooms
#489 of 1,272 in Rome
171 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Via Dei Greci 23/B, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#94 Family Hotel in Rome
#148 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#151 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $88 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Rome
Hotel Mozart Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing