We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice area, decent hotel, staff an all time low.”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #153 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice area, decent hotel, staff an all time low.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you carefully read the reviews for this hotel you will notice an ongoing trend, even with the good reviews....and that is the staff members awful attitudes particularly at the front desk. My wife and I are professionals who have travelled the world for years.

But first the good points:
The hotel location is pretty good. It's central to all the touristy stuff and overpriced restaurants and shops etc along with the Spanish steps.
The hotel itself is nice. Mind you we did find a dried out contact lens in our room (gross) the general ambiance of the hotel is charming and warm for Italy.

The bad points:
When we checked in, man at the front desk insisted we were there for two nights instead of the four we booked. When I showed him our confirmation he didn't apologize and instead just gave us our room key. This should of been our first sign.

Next any time we asked the front desk for directions, you constantly feel like you're asking for too much or intruding on their personal time. We have never felt so awkwardly unwelcome no matter who was working the desk. Instead they would just hand you a map.

I had some suits made at a local Italian tailor shop. I needed to go see them for a few last minute measurements and wanted to call ahead since it was late and it was a long walk. They didn't speak English at the shop so I asked the man at the front desk to call for me please and just ask if they were open, in Italian. He refused. He wouldn't even give an explanation he honestly just didn't feel like it. Instead of calling for me he insisted they'd be open (without even knowing the shop) and I walked thirty mins there and guess what. They were CLOSED.
When I returned he didn't even bother asking about it.

Upon checkout-front desk again. We had a train to catch and asked the bellhop to call us a cab. When he went to pick up the phone, another bellhop (short with a sleeve tattoo covered by a bellhop jacket) ran to him and told him not to call us a cab til we had paid the hotel... What the? They then told us it wasn't their responsibility to call us a cab. Dd they think we were going to run out on the bill with all our luggage in tow?
Instead of neutralizing the situation the front desk man contributed by giving an angry attitude and was extremely confrontational in broken English. His name was Gabriel.

There are a lot more examples but ill keep it here. Bottom line? Don't stay here there are plenty of great hotels in the area that won't leave you feeling awful in the end. The staff here are beyond rude and arrogant we have never experienced a front desk staff like this in all our world travel.
This was literally our first time to Italy and the desk staff at the Mozart left us with our first impressions of the people of Italy. (Until we went to florence which was great )

Room Tip: choose a different hotel don't ask them or they will be rude and arrogant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank urbansquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adegregorio, Proprietario at Hotel Mozart, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We had a great problem on departure with these clients, they say that they are expert travelers, so we don’t understand why Gabriele had to fight with them to require the payment, we take this occasion to explain to everybody that making a reservation through BOOKING.COM doesn’t mean that a payment has been made. We don’t charge any payment or deposit at the moment of the booking, we need credit card only to guarantee the booking, this information is provided on the confirmation message.
The clients left the room one hour after the regular time without any pressure by us and they came down in a hurry in the reception asking a taxi to everybody but the concierge Gabriele, without worrying about the due payment,
When they required the taxi to Gabriele, he only waited calling it because he needed time to expain that the room was still unpaid.
The check-out problem annoyed the clients, we think this is the reasons of this bad review.
The clients mentioned the small problem at check-in (immediately solved), but they didn’t mention that they got a double free upgrade (from a Standard to a Deluxe).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    591
    147
    42
    26
See reviews for
294
655
56
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is a good base for seeing all the sites, the metro is close by for quick travel to the vatican. you can walk to all the other famous sites quite easily. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and can guide you to the services you require.We found some really great places to eat which were very good on price, beware of the the ones with the white coats charged us 18:00 euros for house wine average cost will be about €6>€7 Food at the hotel was great a good selction to eat,comfy beds and clean tolets/bathroom. Read somewhete it was noisy outside, not true very quiet location and cars/minibuses can get to hotel. Summing up a great place to stay central and good value for money and that's from a taff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterjaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel located in the center of Rome. You can easily reach all part of the city.
Rooms are clean quiet and you can find all wat you need.
The staff is friendly and is happy to help you enjoying as much as possible your experience in this beutiful city. They can help you for the transfert from or to the aerport, suggest tipical restaurant.
The breakfast is very good you can eat fruit, biscuits, cake and different kinf of juice.
We went there in january and the price was very attractif.
I recommend you this perfect hotel where i ll stay during my next trip to rome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastogne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We would consider this hotel for our next stay.
The location is perfect.
Breakfast was very good ( eggs, cheeses , biscuits, cakes, toast, juices, coffe.....everything) .
The staff was very helpful. Maybe a little too pushy.
The room was very small but clean

Room Tip: Via del corso is noisy but the room with the window on via del corso is better Than the room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at their triple bed apartment on Via del Corso in early December 2012.
The overall experience was great! Clean room, comfortable beds, great terrace!
This hotel has a very welcoming English-speaking staff
The buffet breakfast was very good.
Highly recommend this place for families traveling with teenagers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inna_Inna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good location in a quiet street between Via del Corso and Via del Babbuino; it is possible to walk almost everywhere; the hotel has a very cosy lounge on the 1st floor and also a nice roof terrace. Our room was on the back, very quiet. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpful. We have appreciated the "Brindisi" (sparkling wine + panettone) offered by the management at midnight on the 1st of January. The Limousine service from and to the airport was also very good. We will certainly stay again in this hotel or in one of their adjacent appartments during our next stay in Rome.

Room Tip: I would recommend to ask for a room not on via del Corso as this is a very busy and noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISABELLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel have very very good location and breakfast was perfect-cheese(espesially mozarella), tomatoes,carrot, French plum, jam, nutella, kiwi fruit, mandarin, capuchinno, juices-everitning frech and tasty. Room was modest, but for Rome it`s ok (that mean don`t expect to see a real 4 star hotel for that price in Rome).One thing i was quite surprised - the water in the mini bar was paid- 2 euro for each bottle. Staff were everytime polite and smiling. In common i liked my stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#298 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Property: Hotel Mozart
Address: Via Dei Greci 23/B, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Family Hotel in Rome
#148 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#151 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Rome
Hotel Mozart Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing