We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza Antica Roma
Ranked #322 of 3,751 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The best asset of The Antica is its location. No need for a bus, taxi or train for your whole stay. A nice part of town, around the corner from the Trevi Fountain. A fit person can easily walk to every famous location from here. Essentially a B/B it has no communal areas/ bar etc. It's on a busy road but we heard no noise at all save the odd police siren. Good firm beds and quality pillows. Fantastic housekeeping. Friendly and helpful staff. Good continental breakfast. Good value for money. The gaudy bright red decoration in our (small) quadruple room took some getting used to but actually added some old school Roman character. Who needs corporate off white minimilism. Don't expect the Ritz at the price but I would definately reccomend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    217
    64
    25
    16
See reviews for
132
209
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were so fortunate to be able to stay at the Residenza Antica Roma during our recent four-day stay in Rome. It is in a wonderful location, very near the Trevi Fountain as well as a subway stop. (In fact, we could have saved ourselves some money had we taken the subway rather than a taxi from the train station--oh, well!!) It is a beautiful little hotel that has a wonderful staff (including Paolo and other wonderful concierges), very comfortable, clean and very Italian (by American expectations!). The entire hotel is decorated with tapestry on the walls and is very clean and well-cared for by an excellent staff. It was a perfect little Italian home for us during our visit of Rome. The breakfasts were very nice with a very homey atmosphere in the dining area with a lovely server. And Paolo and his staff were certainly helpful in every way! In fact, we could have waited until we arrived in Rome to make all of our plans. They were so helpful! In fact, we went to the Borghese Museum with their help and also attended a beautiful Mozart concert through their advice. We have no reservations in recommending the Residenza Antica Rome. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BijouBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We only stayed here one night, the great location helped us to make the most of it. We had just finished an 11 day cruise and were flying out the next day.The staff was very helpful. We chose this hotel because of its' age and history. I had read a review saying that it was gawdy, but I felt like it was decorated appropriately. It reminded me of Venice. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and we slept great. No noise complaints. We rode the Blue bus to the Vatican and walked back to the motel. We had issues with blue bus because their stops were hard to find (another review for that). I have to say that the walk was very enjoyable and we saw everything we wanted to on the way back to the hotel. All of the staff spoke good english except the nice lady who served us breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is perfect in all ways. If I go back to Rome, I will stay here. Location is perfect, close to the subway. The rooms are fine but shower is small. The breakfast is very good. There is also a restaurant right across the street that offers breakfast. The elevator is small but what do you expect? Our room was in the back so it was very quiet. I felt quite safe walking the streets around the hotel.

Room Tip: Be careful and watch the step from the floor to the landing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here whilst on our works Xmas do. Great location, can walk to Trevi fountain. Supermarket opposite. Friendly efficient staff. Over the top decor which we loved, heavy wallpaper everywhere, and lots of frills. Nice breakfast. Clean rooms, might be a bit warm for some, we couldnt seem to turn heat down. Take a travel kettle and tea bags, as no tea making facilities in room, although they kindly lent us a kettle. You can get milk over the road. Just opposite and right a bit is the Tritone trattoria, which was a fab place to eat. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: some rooms have showers and some have baths, so ask for what you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff went out of there way to make our stay great. Breakfast was fine, but of all our hotel stays it was the least fresh. Certainly adequate. Rooms very small, but again adequate. The elevator is extremely small.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on the fourth floor so I recommend asking for 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel, October 2012. It couldn't be in a more perfect location: just a few corners from the Trevvi Fountain, close to the Spanish Steps and within walking distance of the majority of the city's major tourist attractions (and lots of little gems that don't get many brochure mentions!)

The staff are really helpful (but a word of advice - don't take them up on the offer of tickets for the Ciao Roma 'hop on hop off' sightseeing bus company as the buses are really unreliable and often didn't turn up at all, plus most of the headphone sockets are faulty. There are several other companies offering the service, so I'd advise to look around first). Breakfast was basic, but there was plenty of it. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and the hotel is on a busy main road, so you really feel as though you are in the heart of the city.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to couples and families.

Room Tip: Some reviews criticise the noise, but we stayed on the second floor and at the front of the hotel ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#402 of 1,291 in Rome
447 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Anglo Americano
Hotel Anglo Americano
#661 of 1,291 in Rome
837 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#149 of 1,291 in Rome
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#317 of 1,291 in Rome
639 reviews
Trevi
Trevi Palace Luxury Apartments
Colonna
Spanish Art Hotel
Spanish Art Hotel
#576 of 1,291 in Rome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Antica Roma

Property: Residenza Antica Roma
Address: Via del Tritone 82, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 3,751 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Antica Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Antica Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Antica Roma Hotel Rome
Residenza Antica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing