We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Combination of spirituality and leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #299 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Sibiu, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Combination of spirituality and leisure”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here a week, in February 2014. Located quite close to the metro station and to the main train station (EUR8, by taxi) the hotel is a good starting point to discover Rome.
Clean, friendly staff (Hello, Iulian!) and offering, at a very decent price something else then a traditional glass and steel hotel.
hope to come back again!

Room Tip: Ask a room facing the garden and not the main street, it's quite noisy. Don't miss the terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constantin-Hori... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    382
    183
    55
    39
See reviews for
198
361
44
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends were at this hotel at the end of February. For this price I couldn't want more. It was even better than I expected. The location is great, the staff is helpful and the breakfast is good. We had no problems and were not disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Недко С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel has a good location, 7 minutes walk trough a nice park to the nearest metro station and just across the street from the tram station.
Quiet area with pharmacy, minimarket, restaurants very close to the hotel.
He hotel is very special, is actually an annex of the Domus. It has the most perfect view of Rome from the terrace of the hotel, at the last floor.
Room was small but kept the look of an old monastery room (buy new furniture inside).
The bathroom had an unpleasant smell, probably from the pluming. We announced at the hotel and they said they will fix it.
The breakfast was ok but few things to choose from.
Overall I recommend it, it's worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights, upon arrival it's a very cool looking place. It oozed history which is why we went to rome in the first place!! When we was checking in we had a friendly guy check us in, he gave us a map of rome, and showed to our room.

The room was a very basic, very small room, but had everything we needed. Including a free to use safe. The shower was lovely, and the bathroom well kept. The bed was a bit hard and the pillows were flat, but I didn't pay for a 5* hotel so wasn't complaining to much. The T.V only had Italian channels but I did not go to one of the most history rich cities in the world to sit in front if the T.V so was not a problem. I also would like to point out that to get to the room you first have to go through a door using your room key card, then use your key card and your key to get in your room, so felt very secure. I can't say to much about the breakfast because because I had one pain au chocolat (i prefer a fry up)

It's location is fairly out of the way, with a couple of restaurants within short walking distance, but a 5 minute walk to a metro station gets you to the main sights of rome, although make sure to keep a secure grip of your belongings if using it.

All in all it got the job done and I would be likely to use again,if your looking for a luxurious stay in rome this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prawndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel because of it's history and that was about the only great thing about it. Tiny room and an even smaller bathroom. Could not even open the bathroom door all the way, you had to open it half way and scoot between the door and the sink to use the toilet. Shower leaked terribly and soaked the floor. Walls and furnishings were very dingy. Room did have a safe. Rooftop terrace had a beautiful view of a basilica in the distance. Not the best side of town though, be careful which way you walk when you leave the hotel. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Colloseum, but you will want to take a bus/cab to go to other places like the Vatican and Trevi Fountain. There are restaurants and shops nearby but they aren't high quality. Breakfast was typical. They wouldn't let us check in early but did offer to store our luggage until check in time. Wi-Fi is only in the breakfast area and lobby (not close to our room) but we did read that prior to going. Front desk staff were very helpful when we asked for directions and gave us a map upon arrival, which we used every day to do our sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

When I booked the room for me and my boyfriend I felt like I was taking a risk after some bad reviews I had read on this site, but when I arrived I was blown away, we were lead through a working monastery to our top floor room. Our room was rustic and basic but it wasnt rundown and we had working amenities and to be honest the view was breathtaking and made up for maybe a lack of luxuries.
It is within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions but far enough away so you can explore local restaurants and shops.

The hotel is full of character and the staff are very helpful. The breast fast is included in the price and is very reasonable, it is a basic continental breakfast which wasn't high quality but was well presented and always fully stocked.

If you are going to stay in one of the most cultural cities in the world why not stay in a historic building which continues to serve its purpose as a beautiful working monastery.

Just a note to say we didn't book transfers from the airport and got a coach from the airport for just 4 euros to the central train station we then walked to the hotel from there. These coaches run all night/ day and most cost around the same and it saves you alot of money compare to taxis/ transfers.

Room Tip: Prior to your visit make sure you have clear directions from the train station to the hotel as the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to Rome recently and picked out Domus because of its history. While the public areas lived up to this, the rooms were sad. Need to fix, patch and paint the walls. The furniture was very dated and all scratched up. A little Old English would go a long way. The bed was hard and the pillows were so flat, you needed 4 of them to equal one good one. They only had two extras to give us. Forget watching TV if you only speak English, no channels in English available. The breakfast was ok for Europe but nothing to write home about. Unless you are a real walker, you are not close to much. I think there was a metro station near but we did not use it. Some of the staff was nice others not so much. Only told you what they had to and nothing more. We were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Check out my review on Hotel Napoleon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barringtonbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent in sharing your opinion about your stay.
We truly appreciate every comment because it helps us to improve our service. We took in great consideration your words and discuss them with all the members of the staff in order to figure out how to amend the problems you highlighted.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and in spite your decision not to come again we would like to welcoming you again to show you our efforts to let our guests enjoy their own stay.
Please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#184 of 1,259 in Rome
258 reviews
Hotel Apogia Lloyd Roma
#310 of 1,259 in Rome
511 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#274 of 1,259 in Rome
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#378 of 1,259 in Rome
415 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#271 of 1,259 in Rome
520 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#283 of 1,259 in Rome
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing