We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #344 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good price and great location”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We've been visiting Rome in August and stayed at Domus for 5 days. I was well impressed by the property of the place (linen, room cleaning, buffet was good too) and the receptionist was very friendly and ready to help with advice. We walked every day to the main spots in the city because it wasn't far and although it was very hot, the running fountains were a blessing. I liked it and I recommended it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    371
    173
    55
    38
See reviews for
185
341
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are paying for a hotel to get the 5 star treatment, this may not be right for you. If you are going to Rome for an experience of the history, people, and culture... this might be perfect. I read other reviews before I left... the beds aren't the best, there are no extra pillows... and our room did have a mildewy smell to it. However, the staff was amazing and helpful in any way they could be. The location was historic and convenient in terms of metro or buses. I really enjoyed the history of the place. The rooftop terrace is lovely with a great view. The breakfast is a great add on. There is a computer downstairs with internet access... so unless you are spending your Roman vacation Facebooking people on a daily basis, you really aren't missing out on anything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassandraJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very basic hotel, clean, but basic. Only a cold buffet breakfast, no restaurant or lounge area where you can sit and relax after a long and hectic day exploring the city of Rome. Situated within a 10 minute walk to the metro the city centre is accessible. The staff are polite but reserved. The hotel just about scrapes in at 3*. You have to consider that the hotel is part of a very sacred and revered Church,with unique relics and historical interest. We would advise that you purchase the Omni Card as this allows you access to most sites without queueing and the metro and the Roma Christiana open top buses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imataffman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is located on the premises of a church and it's all beautiful and historic. The rooms are small but again, at this price point and in Italy it's to be expected. If you want more then don't be cheap and pay more. But as far as the ameneties are concerned, everything is clean and the A/C was freezing cold. Breakfast as typical european breakfast with cold cuts, pastries and cereal, nothing special.

The location is on the outskirts of the tourist area so you will take the bus everywhere or walk ALOT. Luckily there are several buses that will get you here plus the metro so once you learn the bus system or use "Google Maps" you're all set. The staff was very friendly and couldn't be anymore accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtkappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just got back from my European vacation which included Rome, and The Domus made our experience an unforgetable one. FIRST OFF: For the 2 nasty reviews I just read, I couldnt disagree more.
1) Regarding the hight of the rooms,,, the ceilings were easy over 10 feet in my room
.2) Its going to cost a lot from airport to rome because the airport is far, but if you paid 60 euros, you got ripped off and clearly are not an experienced traveler. I arranged the Domus ahead of time to have a gentleman waitng for my family at the bagage area, with our name, and got driven to hotel in a Mercedez Benz E class, with an awesome tour of the city for 45 euros. (Gian Carlo, thanks you were the man).
The rooms were confortable, high ceilings, the staff were super friendly, they all remembered my entire families names, always. Simona, Andre, and Manuele especially were super cool and always helpful. I actually left my wallet in the room after I checked out, they are having it FED EXed to NY for me, if that is not integrity, I dont know what is.
The beds were fine, I mean they were not something you would find at the waldorf astoria or plaza hotel in NY, but for the price, the beds and pillows were perfect. i have traveled a lot with my wife and have been a trip advisor member for a while now, we know when to give kuddos and when to leave a bad review. But if expectations were not met, here are a few things that my wife and I considered. We were not looking to stay in an ordinary franchise hotel, if that is what you are looking for along with cheap rates, the domus is not for you. You should try a best western or holiday inn, they all look identical no matter where you go. But the Domus is not just a hotel. We decided on this hotel, because if you have any culture what so ever and or did ay research before booking there, you would have realized the historical importance of the Hotel and the site it is located in. First of all, It was a property owned by none other than emperor Constantine's Mother !!!! Original walls and structure can still be seen and you can take a tour. Early Christian relics brought back from the Holly Land were kept there by her. So a church and a monistary are erected there, and this place known as the Holly Cross of Jerusalem, for the important objects and history it held, became one of the Churches that early Christians had to make a pilgrimage to. (like Meca for muslims today). The history is LONG and AMAZING, wikipedia it or research it online. I dont know if Trip advisor will allow a hyperlink to wikipedia, so just do it, you will be blown away.
Having said all that, once you know the meaning and history of this place, the last thing you would worry about is a pillow, or the maze to get t o your room. You are staying in a Christian relic!!! And you want to know something? I am not Catholic, I am an Atheist, but love history and traveling, and having great sotries to tell about my travels, the Domus gives me plenty of good stories, somethingn you will never get from a cheap corporate, franchise hotel. At the Domus I felt Like I was stepping back in time, which is what were looking for. It is old school with a modern touch. Glass elevators, Wifi everywhere, awesome bathrooms, and yes, an actual key for your room. Although you have to combine it with the electronic card the doors are hardwood, classic style and cool looking. Ohhh and as far as it being far away from everything? Dude, we walked to the coliseum from there, and you do not want to stay in the downtown area, the traffic and noise from the street suck and you will not get a good night sleep. The domus is super quiet and perfect place to relax after a long day of sight seeing. 5 minutes to downtown from Domus via Metro.
So my fellow travelers, If you like history, a mix of old school with sofistication, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, and super friendly and helpful staff, I wish I had more hands to give this place a 4 thumbs up!!! My only suggestion for the staff of the Domus, is you need to get some eggs in the breakfast room. My 1 year old loves eggs. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with high ceilings, and overlooking the archeological site and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carlosymarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are over 6 feet tall ,dont expect to fit in the room or the bed. I was very disapponted with this hotel . First issue , was the 60 Euros it cost to get their from the airport . Then there was the maze to get you your room with no sort of concierge. This hotel actually still uses keys., not a key card . There wasd actually a key card to get into the hotel but not your room. The room was small, dirty , and quite depressing. This room was made for a person taking a vow of poverty and joing the priesthood. The one positive thing I have to say was the breakfast was ok. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sacha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place used to be a monastery. Rooms are a bit gloomy, even though the bathrooms are quite new.
It is 20 min walk from Coliseo but very far from the rest the main attractions. The underground is 10 min walk.
The breakfast is simple, not big thing.
I wouldnt recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaPili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#389 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#266 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#212 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#238 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#715 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing