We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Domus Sessoriana in Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #349 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Domus Sessoriana in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Sessoriana is an active Monastery, attached to the Church of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem, Rome. The building is wonderful, high ceilings and great views from the rooftop garden into the adjacent Monastery garden and archeological site. Room are quite basic, with an iffy shower and difficult to control heat. Basic breakfast was included. People at the front desk are mostly helpful. It is possible to get a ticket for Wednesday Papal Audience with the front desk staff. The location is good, a few minutes walk to the Coliseum and St. John Lateran. The Church has a chapel of important relics, collected by St. Helene, Constantin's mother. It's really the location and the price that are most attractive.

Room Tip: Ask yo change rooms if the shower in the room is too bad. We have been in four rooms, three with goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your important comment. We appreciate that sometimes the importance of history in our building is underlined by guest. This is really a unique place in Rome with so much history. The archaeological Area of Santa Croce in Jerusalem, located just inside the old Aurelian walls of Rome, make it possible to admire an extraordinary archaeological complex. The anphiteather castrense, which you can admire from our roof terrace, is the only other example of an amphitheatre apart from the Colosseum to be found in Rome, it had a capacity of 3.500 spectators. It is possible to join the guided tour to the archeological site the first or the 3rd saturday of each mounth. At moment it is no possible to get a ticket for Wednesday Papal Audience, but as soon as the pope will be elected we will confirm as this free service.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    362
    164
    53
    38
See reviews for
178
329
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elblag, Poland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

we stayed there for 3 nights from 12th feb. about 80 euro for 3 nights that's bargain that's why we didn't expect to much, just clean place to sleep, and that's what we got. hotel is located 10 minutes from termini , 15 minutes walk to Colosseum. good location. nearest metro station 5 minutes walk and can get you to vatican in 10 - 15 minutes. area nice and safe, few restaurants around , and coffee shops. but quiet at night - probably because there is no English tourist who act usually like monkeys.
staff very nice and polite. last few reviews about rude staff i can actually understand i work in hotel and sometimes i want to brake bones some of costumers they are so rude and unpleasant- that's im not surprise that some of hotel workers loosing their tempers towards them.
breakfast is nice typical continental juices ham bread cheese yogurt , coffees - thank you thay not going for full english breakfast which i personally is second worst thing which people created just after holocaust. ( full of fat - and later english people are surprise why they are fattest nation in europe - here we go - yr breakfast is the answer
building is few hundred years old - thats why you cant expect quality of newest Marriott hotel or similar. but rooms were clean and serviced every day . only issue it was smell from drains at night.
somebody mentioned plenty of homeless people sleeping next to hotel because is located close to church - its a lie for 4 days we have seen 1 person begging on the stairs to church and when they closed church gate abut 8 o'clock this person was gone.

over all , i would stay there again for similar price , if you want luxury - don't stay in ex monastery pay more and choose 5 star hotel and stop complaining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArkadiuszW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mme, Thank you very much for your comment. Which respect perfectly most of the comment of people coming back to us since years . Whether you will not find the same tariff during the year as for low or high season or special events (that, as you know ,change the range of tariff) give us a call or just send us an e mail and we will do our best to confirm you the lowest. About aggressive staff, it is something very curious to us to understand like many other untruee thinghs written by a couple of people. They may have second purpose. We do not allow at all our staff to be rude ora aggressive to anyone. Even if some guest give hard time for little problems, kindness is the rule. We are very strict on this. By the way people can write anything on internet comments, but 95% of guest that slept in Domus Sessoriana are satisfied. And this is very important to us. Thank you again and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 and had the worst hotel experience ever. We were on a walking holiday with a well known tour company and were supposed to stay 5 nights. We moved out after 1 night as we had bed bugs. The lady in the room next to us experienced an absolute plague of bed bugs and was traumatised. We found the hotel to be more like a cheap hostel; it was dirty and in need of redecoration. The bathroom was dingy with poor plumbing. Breakfast was mediocre. Management responded badly to our concerns and became very aggressive. The bed bug infestation must have been longstanding due to the vast number all over our neighbour's room. Ours had fewer but they still posed a risk of transportation to our home.
There was a vagrant sleeping in the foyer during our stay and the supposedly locked door to the bedroom area was open to anyone who cared to wander in. Various of our group were disappointed with their rooms due to poor plumbing, defective electrics and general shabbiness.
I can only imagine that there must be two parts to this hotel and we were put in the shabby part ( across the church foyer to the left of the reception ). However, bugs do travel easily so beware if you don't want to have to destroy your entire luggage on returning to home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir or Mme,
Your comment it is suspecious of second purposes as it doesn't correspond with any of the good comments that our repeters guest wrote and says to us every day. VIPS, politicians, actors, Priest, bishops, choose to sleep in our building since many years for the quite and cleaness of the building. They would not sleep in our rooms every week otherwise. We ask to Tripadvisor to investigate about your comment and we are a disposal to any inspecition to all our rooms any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here just one night out of the five our tour company had planned, Five of us insisted on moving. Our party's rooms could only be accessed by the church loggia where homeless people were sleeping. Our room, up in the rafters was uncomfortably hot and the air conditioning wasn't working. It could only be reached by a narrow flight of stairs. Others told us of faulty plumbing. Two rooms had bed bugs, but the worst of all was the management's aggressive attitude to the woman who first complained of the bed bugs -- denial at first, followed by intimidation. So, if you're thinking of booking a group holiday, check before you book that you're not going to be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandAriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir or Mme,
Your comment it is suspecious of second purposes as it doesn't correspond with any of the good comments that our repeters guest wrote and says to us every day. VIPS, politicians, actors, Priest, bishops, choose to sleep in our building since many years for the quite and cleaness of the building. They would not sleep in our rooms every week otherwise. Only selected, experienced and serious Tour Company work with us. We ask to Tripadvisor to investigate about your comment and we are a disposal to any inspecition to all our rooms any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here the three nights after Christmas this year. The location was a little out of the way, but that was ok because it ended up being very quiet. Our room had a view of the back side of the church that this is connected to. The rooftop terrace was nice at night. We brought a bottle of wine up with us. A bit cold, but the clear night and the sounds of the city were nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The church that this hotel is connected to is very interesting and worth the visit even if you don't stay here. As for being out of the way. It is a very short taxi ride to the Colosseum or anywhere else you wish to go. The only negative would be the slightly leaky toilet. Wet tile floors are no fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went to Rome last February when it had record snows, so staying in a very old ex-monastery hotel with tiled floors wasn't the best, but I still enjoyed the experience as this wasn't the hotel's fault! The heating didn't really work and the shower was only luke-warm, but this again was due to the bad weather.

The room was very clean and bathroom was nice. Everything you need in a place to sleep. I really enjoyed the novelty of the hotel being an ex-monastery, you could really feel the history, and it did look lovely in the snow.

Free breakfast buffet was good too - a nice selection of everything.

Location was ideal. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Allen4485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everytime I've been to Rome I have stayed here. it is close to everything, is rich in history itself and the staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried. The rooms are basic and I've had tiny and tinier bathrooms but they are functional and since you only sleep in the room - who cares? They have a lovely terrace on top at night and gardens to walk through, not to mention the church and musuem downstairs which holds relics of Christ's. I absolutely love this hotel and will stay there every time I go to Rome!

Room Tip: I've had varied rooms and never a problem in any of them when staying there. They are quite so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_Domus, Direttore vendite at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the comment. hope to welcome you again in the near futur.
We whish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#256 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#751 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#314 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Prati
Casa Valdese
Casa Valdese
#532 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing