We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Staff Dated Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #344 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Staff Dated Rooms”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when they could be but the hotel is lacking in some major areas though some things were very nice.
The room was small but clean and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom needed updating, the shower drained poorly and the bathroom showed a lot of age. The TV was old and tiny and the remote did not work. The internet did not work well and the chairs for the guests in the computer area were horrible.
The breakfast was very basic, same cold cuts and salami daily with a few pastries and breads. It was passable but not very good really.
Overall the hotel was probably a 2 star, the fact it is basically in a church was amazing at first but the hotel itself needs some improvements. the location is not too bad once you know the buses.
The best restaurant is a local place on the other side of the wall about 3 blocks away, we lreally enjoyed it, locals and great prices.
Beds are hard as a rock and small, we did not mind the hardness but some people might and the pillows were very flat.

Room Tip: Probably best to try to get a room behind the desk area and not on the other side because you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    371
    173
    55
    38
See reviews for
185
341
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

No working air condition in our room for 3 nights and management didn't give us a fan or room change until the 4th night. They didn't change our towels until we asked for clean ones. Their "fast" Internet is super spotty and kicks you off line constantly - do not stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is something different! It's not your usual hotel but that's what makes it special. Fantastic views from the roof terrace. The breakfast was basic, cold meats croissants. The hotel is in a good location for sight seeing but the metro is excellent so would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My sister & I stayed here for our first Rome trip & it was fantastic. An excelent location right across the street from a bus stop that had the busses we needed & a major bus stop right down the street at the Basilica San Giovanni that we could get for almost anywhere in the city. The room was really spacious & there was no street noise as we were at the top & back of the hotel. We were really happy especially because there was an elevator to take us to the top floor. The rooftop terrace was lovely & the continental breakfast was really great. It is actually connected to a basillica so that was an added sightseeing bonus for us. The staff was extremely helpful in finding our way around & always had a map to show us where to go. All in all - a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My friend and her mom stayed there and enjoyed their stay based on price, location, and cleanliness. I on the other hand was there for four hours waiting to meet up with them. But think that I got a good perception of the hotel since I needed to keep myself up so I wouldn't get jet lag. The outside building is beautiful. The reception and rooms have ac also. They have an amazing view from the terris and free wifi.

The only negatives was that my friend said the hallways and monastery was a lil dull. There weren't a lot of restaurants or places to go close by but the train station is walking distance and bus stops close by.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good location- right near the metro station, close to good restaurants, and within reasonable walking distance of major tourist attractions. It was fun to stay in the converted church and the rooftop patio is amazing, especially at sunset. The rooms were very basic and the bed was not too comfortable, but this is a great option for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hello,

We just loved this hotel, very conveniently located, not far from metro station San Giovanni and near Colosseo, yet far away from the hassle of the city center.
Very spacious and clean rooms, quiet at night and great buffet breakfast with local roman products. The view of Rome from the roof terrasse at sunsent is just amazing !
Feels very special to stay in an historic building when visiting Rome

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fesajo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#389 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#266 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#212 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#238 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#715 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing