We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet, good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #348 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very quiet, good value for the money”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hotel is located inside the complex of the Basilica of Santa Croce in Gerusalemme. If I hadn't read this before, I think I would have had some difficulties of finding it. But when you know it, look for the small door just on the right of the main Basilic entrance. The only indication is a very small and discrete sign on the door, that is hardly readable from the main road. Look for the "10" street number which is bigger.

From Termini station, take metro A to San Giovanni. Then don't take Viale Castrense which is a very uneven road, very bad if you have baggages (my experience). Instead, go through the fortification through the white gate that you see when you exit the metro station. Take then on the right Viale Carlo Felice. The church tower you see at the end of that street is where the hotel is. Something like 10 minutes walk from the metro station. Alternatively you can take tram 5 or 14 from Termini to Piazza di Porta Maggiore. This is faster and less than 5 minutes walk. But at peak hours it's impossible to get in the tram with baggages.

Room was clean. Not very large, but OK. Building interior and the room look a little bit austere, but don't forget that you are in an historic building. The room was very quiet as the window was on a side of the building inside the Basilica's complex. TV was minuscule and mainly with italian channels; but you don't go to Rome to look at TV... Breakfast was basic, but sufficient to start the day.

Don't miss the very large terrace on the roof, where you have a great view of Rome.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CH_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    370
    173
    55
    38
See reviews for
185
341
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Being an older traveller, I like convenience, simplicity and budget conscious locales. I have planned multi-week, multi-city itineraries for myself and for couples who abide by the Rick Steve's philosophy of travel. All that being said, I found Domus Sessoriana to be an absolute treasure on mutilple counts. The building itself is a unique and historic venue attached to one of Rome's major churches with a fascinsating history. My first experience was in the main hall where the sight of large vaulted ceilings, expansive hallways and beautiful quiet ambience was sheer delight. And the room my son and I got the frst trip there was 3x the size of our 'chambre' in Paris. A view over the tennis court bounded by Hadrian's Wall, heated towel racks and 4 single beds which would never be found in a more mainstream hotel. As a monastery, it was exactly what I expected, which included quiet hallways, blissfully expedient sleep and elegantly simply decor. Sparse but very roomy, small tv ( I don't really care about that). Nice showers, clean and refreshing, nice towels and the convenience of said towel racks when you do laundry in the sink! Typical light breakfast was very adequate and, as I love observing the architectural aspects of these type of buildings, an adventure in the basement, or lower levels of the building. Sometimes navigating within the premises can be a bit challenging but that is a minor issue in my book. It gives one the opportunity to see more than you bargained for!

A second stay there was a bit surprising as we were put in the upper, smaller rooms. Not at all how I desribed the palce to my then travelling partner. She was confused by the small and secluded room, but enjoyed the location and the overall experience as our vantage point offered us some great views of 'hidden' aspects of the building, the roof top view, the gardens, very different views of the church, Santa Croce in Gerusalemme, and the grounds. The church is a real treasure to explore!

The location is fantastic as it excludes you from the busy touristy locations but is a brief stroll to San Giovanni in Laterano, then down to the Colesseum and the Roman Forum, the Baths, etc. I found it to be extremely delightful locatin and so peaceful to return to when all you want to do is re-charge before you go at exploring the treasures of Rome.

You won't find bars and restaurant options. No clubs around and no in house night life but for some of us, we can find that when we want to so enjoy a secluded, refreshing and spiritually invigorating stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oleoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The only good thing about this place is what it looks like on the outside. The Basilica is beautiful but avoid the hotel like the plague. We've never been treated so badly! This hotel is obviously not affilliated with the church in any way. They told us the gardens (shown on their website ) belong to the adjacent monastery and not to the hotel so you are not allowed to go there. Their knowledge of the English language is selective and seems to come and go depending on their moods. There is one tall man that works at the desk which is especially mean natured. He scoffed at us when i lost my passport. I thought it may have fallen out in the cab service they use on the night before but he refused to call them to see if it had been turned in. He just kept chuckling and said we should be more worried than we were.
The rooms are stark and beds hard as the sidewalk. Also the shower drains don't work so only one person can effectively shower per day. Unless you enjoy standing in cold soapy dirty water up to your ankles. The bathtowels are more like hand towels and that's if you can manage to get one at all. Also climate control is next to nonexistent. The breakfast staff was usually scowling or glaring at you and that particular neighborhood was not too keen on Americans. Definitely stay in the touristy parts of Rome for food and lodging. This place is deffinitely not upscale and at 170. euro per night it was no bargain either. The only reason we picked it was because of the religious connotation
. But there was deffinitely no warm and fuzzy feeling to be had there. Our quest to feel more at one with God went severely awry when we picked this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel. If it's your first time in Rome use an American based hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbie759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

If you are looking for a convenient, no frills, and economical place to stay in Rome, this is the place for you. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and we were very pleased with the location, especially for 70 euros per night in early September.
The basilica is beautiful, and the area is very quiet. The walk to the metro is about 7 minutes, or about 25 minute walk to ancient Rome. We walked early morning and late night, and always felt safe. There is a lovely cafe and bakery across the street, and some great local restaurants in the area - perfect to go to if you are looking to get away from the touristy areas.
The cold breakfast served was much better than we expected, given the price of our room, and it is included in your stay. It included cheeses and meats, fresh breads and crossiants, cakes, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, juices and coffee.
Our room was big enough to fit our needs, and very clean. The bed was a bit too hard for my liking.
The service was great at the front desk. All of the front desk employees spoke english, and were very helpful in supporting us in trying book reservations at museums. They made phone calls for us, and even gave us a free internet pass for their internet cafe to book on line. It also seemed to be one of the last places in Rome to sell the very popular Roma Pass, that was sold out on line and everywhere else we looked into prior to our trip.
Overall, we definately got our money's worth, and more than expected given the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Quiet, small rooms of large, marbled corridors, elegant and simple decorations, user-friendly as well as historically charming and a breathtaking location. Walking distance to Colisseum (15 mins through some great piazzas and streets). Close to metro. Great restaurant on corner opposite the piazza.

Hotel staff are friendly, breakfast standard Italian fare, no problems, no fuss, a real treat. Children were accommodated at no extra cost, we were made to feel very welcome.

Parking not so easy, but not difficult nearby.

Wonderful.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you can! view onto the piazza is a great way to begin the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subbuteo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

room and corridor is very special and historical. it made our first days in Italy fulfilled with nice memory.
the breakfast is average but acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yujiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you're looking to be pampered -- flat screen tv, stocked mini-fridge, room service -- this is not your hotel. If you want a clean, comfortable bed to sleep in after a long day of exploring Rome, this might be your place.

This hotel was a little difficult to find as it's connected to the adjacent Basilica and doesn't have obvious signage until you're right at the entrance. However, from the very beginning, the staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, away from the really touristy area around the Colosseum, but it is only about a 15 minute walk to that area. There is also a bus line right in front of the hotel.

The rooms were simple and all I needed after walking all day. The only problem I had with my room was that I had to walk quite a long way to get to it. A really long way.

They offer a free breakfast, well-stocked with just about anything you might be in the mood for.

The hotel itself has a lot of character and is definitely a place I will stay in again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#267 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#210 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#234 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#722 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing