We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Delle Vittorie
Ranked #301 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 6 fabulous days in Rome, our hotel was disappointing as we had chosen this hotel because it had such great reviews on trip advisor. The hotel is dated and in need of a makeover, trip advisors reviews of reception staff were marvellous but they were polite and did their job. On entering our room it was stuffy and smelly, appeared clean enough. Our room did not have a full length mirror, the shower curtain stuck to your body when showering as the shower head was in the middle of the bath!!! The shower leaked all over the floor no matter what you did to stop it, the bathroom mirror was only cleaned in the centre. The bed was two singles shoved together and very very hard, we had two flat pillows and had to ask for extra pillows. We noticed that there was a plastic wrapper and a grape on the bathroom floor and it was there for three days!!! The breakfast was adequate, you had to be there early or all the best bread had gone, the cheeses, meats and boiled eggs were left out in ambient temperatures from 0700-1000. The "flask" for "hot water" for "hot" tea was always Luke warm, and I had to ask for hot water. One elderly female breakfast member of staff refused to give me cold drinking water. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldellevittorie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Delle Vittorie, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest, we are happy to know that you had six fabulous day in Rome but we are quite puzzled about your review. You wrote you chose our hotel after reading other Tripadvisor reviews: so it was not a surprise that hotel is situated in a historic builiding. The hotel was established in 2003 so the oldest part of the makeover goes back to less than ten years ago, with a daily complete upkeeping. We checked you reserved a small double with breakfast and you was upgraded for free into a standard double, which is wide 16 square meters . That room is furnished, as all the other rooms of our hotel, with a standard double bed, a wardrobe, a couple of bedside tables, a minibar and a stand for luggage, all pieces sharing the same classical style: for the most part of the people that's “furnishing” and not “stuffing”. Every room has a mirror, but a picture-size one: a full length one may be dangerous in case of accidental banging. About the bathroom, yours had a bathtube: we are sorry to read that the fact that the taps and the shower were in the middle spoiled your pleasure in having a shower. The bathtube curtain, if it was properly set, it would not stuck to anybody and it would avoid the flooding on the floor. And because a flooded floor needs an overall cleaning, it sounds strange that there was a grape and a plastic wrapper let there for days. If you meant to trash them, you had to leave them inside the wasted paper basket and not in the nearby: our cleaning staff do not dare to trash any guests' goods if it is not clearly destinated to the trash. Regarding the bed, you slept into the same bed that was considered too soft from another guest few days ago: that's a matter of personal taste. The same about the pillows: someone likes the flat ones, some one else the ones more consistent. And as you noted, we immediately provided you for two pillows more.
We are glad to know that you considered our breakfast adequate: after the first morning you arrived in our breakfast room near the deadline of 10 o'clock and you complained because the bread was over. The following days the waitress let aside some bread for you, so you found your bread every morning at about 10 a.m. For this, we cannot understand how you can state that we leave food on “ambient temperature from 0700-1000”: you were not present and could not see how many time the waiters refilled the cheeseboards with fresh cuts of cheese and coldcuts. Regarding the water then, the same lady that provided you the very hot water, would have had no problem to sell you a small bottle of mineral water or refill your bottle with water-tap (which here in Rome is quite good) for free, but she could not allow that you refilled your private bottle (from which you could drink straight) with the buffet mineral bottle: you know, it's a matter of hygiene. We respect your resolution to not come back, but if you change your mind, we are ready to welcome you again. Best regards.Marco Klingler Capo Ricevimento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 712 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night city break staying at the Hotel Delle Vittorie. Arrived before mid-day having arranged airport transfer through the hotel and rooms were already available. Check-in very informative. Rooms spacious and well appointed. Breakfast adequate with enough variety to satisfy and all good quality. Staff on reception is excellent. All very helpful, Hotel is probably 15 -20 minutes walk from the Vatican and 20-35 minutes from the other main attractions e.g. Pantheon,Trevi Fountain etc. Free Wifi. Good restaurant less than 100 yards from the Hotel- Vanni - cakes are especially good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor overlooking the road - rooms 402 & 404. Nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldellevittorie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Delle Vittorie, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review!
The awareness that our guests enjoy their stays in our hotel push us to give always our best.
We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our breakfast (we improved the offer the savoury food choice and all the bakery are delivery daily) and appreciated both the hotel itself (we are glad you noticed the wideness of the room and the free wifi) and its location in the city and its neighbourhood too.
All our staff greet you and we hope to welcome you again in a next future!
Marco Klingler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very good Hotel, nice room, nice people, wifi included, you walk like 1 block to get the bus or 6 blocks to get the metro, also the bus can take you to the metro and use the same ticket, everything a tourist may need to enjoy vacations, plus the people in the front desk is very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not eat at Vanni restaurant (near the hotel) is very expensive
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Carl0s_Hdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldellevittorie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Delle Vittorie, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Sir, thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here and you appreciated our free wifi connection. About the public means of transport, “Lepanto” subway station, it is really six blocks away, but if you are too tired for this short walk, you can take a bus from “Lepanto” (# 280 or # 224) that drops you 20 mt from the hotel. We hope to welcome you again. Greetings from all the staff.
Marco Klingler Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very pleasant hotel. Lovely neighbourhood and good value for Rome. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Outsnanding restaurant just around the corner and around 10 mins to nearest metro and 20 min walk from the Vatican.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldellevittorie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Delle Vittorie, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Client,
thank you for your review.
Our staff is trained to give all kind of informations how to reach the most important sightseeing.
If you don't like to walk, bus 280 just around the corner brings you in 5 minutes to the metro Lepanto.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated your stay and we hope to welcome you back.
Marco Klingler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was the only "real" hotel I stayed in on my trip around Italy. Maybe my expectations were too high. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the closest Metro stop, but not too bad. The lobby was very nice and there was a computer for guests to use with a wi-fi password personalized to your room. The room itself was ok. The bathroom was nice, but our shower head was broken for the majority of our stay even though we let the front desk know right away. The tub was great! The beds were rock hard. The neighborhood was nice and pretty quiet in the evenings. If you are coming back late at night, the street leading to the hotel has no streetlights at all which was a little scary, even though the area feels safe. There were a few good cafes and restaurants within a short walk from the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. They can arrange for transportation to the airport for you if you give them 1 day notice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldellevittorie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Delle Vittorie, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you appreciated the free wifi and kindness of our staff.
The distance between our hotel and "Lepanto" subway station is really 5 minutes walking, but you can even take a bus from "Lepanto" that drop you at 20 mt from us.
Regarding the texture of our mattresses, we are sorry to read you found them "rocky". We chose a medium texture ones, in order to meet the most of our guests' tastes.
About the streetlighting, the best we can do is alerting the public light company when there is a blackout (and we do every time it happens!)
We hope to welcome you agauin in the future, so you can appreciate our effort to give a better and better service.
Marco Klingler Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel Delle Vittorie is a clean, comfortable hotel in one of the most charming parts of Rome. The neighborhood is upscale and residential, away from the chaos of the tourist attractions. There are a few quaint restaurants and cafes nearby that are a wonderful respite from the rest of the city. To get to the rest of the city, the Lepanto Metro station is only a 10 minute walk.

Though simply furnished, the hotel itself is clean and modern, with all of the ameneties and facilities that one cannot necessarily take for granted in Italy. The beds are comfortable, and because the neighborhood is quiet, it is the perfect place to get a good night's sleep after a busy day sightseeing.

After my first stay at this hotel, I have returned twice, and tend to think of its locale as "my neighborhood" in Rome, a charming oasis within the bustling city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldellevittorie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Delle Vittorie, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Client,
thank you for your review.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated your stay again here and we hope to welcome you for your next trip to rome.
Marco Klingler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Sept 2012 - just returned from 6 nights in this lovely hotel. The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood, a 10 min walk from the Metro at Lepanto or 25-30 min walk (or a 45 min amble) to Castel S. Angelo at the Vatican. There are 2 restaurants at the end of the street for evening meals, or lunch, and several others within easy reach.The room and bathroom were clean, the beds comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The choice of breakfast was good, my one criticism is that there was no variety in the breakfast from day to day, but I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldellevittorie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Delle Vittorie, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you for let us know you enjoyed your stay: we are always pleased to know that guests appreciated their stays here. We hope to welcome you here again.
Thanks for the review and all our best regards
Marco Klingler Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#194 of 1,272 in Rome
760 reviews
Hotel Clodio
#523 of 1,272 in Rome
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#256 of 1,272 in Rome
614 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#353 of 1,272 in Rome
440 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#175 of 1,272 in Rome
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delle Vittorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delle Vittorie

Address: Via Col di Lana 24 | Prati, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#155 Business Hotel in Rome
#290 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $59 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delle Vittorie 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually controlled air conditioning, telephone and Internet access, satellite TV, radio, minibar and safe-deposit box. Each one of the 41 rooms offers all the comfort you may need.Converted from a small early 20th century aristocratic residence, the Hotel delle Vittorie is located close by the homonymous TV Theatre and near the RAI (Italian Television) offices, the courthouses, the Coni (Italian National Olympic Committee) and the Olympic Stadium. The famous Piazza di Spagna and the Vatican Museums are easy reachable by the Underground (Lepanto Station), just a few steps away from the hotel. Its strategic location, the services offered and the own internal parking make the Hotel delle Vittorie the ideal landmark for tourists and for the several needs of businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Delle Vittorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delle Vittorie Rome
Delle Vittorie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing