We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ZERO Star hotel not four”
Review of Champagne Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Champagne Palace
Ranked #1,098 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
London, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ZERO Star hotel not four”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you want a dirty small room with no heating, no hot water with dirty blankets full of others hair, mattress like a rock and poor breakfast, bingo! This hotel is your choice!
Better if you also like to hear the other guests every sound....

Room Tip: A room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 112jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    153
    183
    130
    124
See reviews for
58
328
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Dirty, staff who do not speak English, the shower is very tight,wi-fi only near reseption , the hotel is sorrounded by addicts and drug sellers, bums and hookers everywhere, very uncomfortable place to stay, 1 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dardaneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Location was really good , close to termini, can catch the train to airport and pretyy mich anywhere
Everything, supermarket, cafes, restaurants,, chemists, shopping.
Bit dingy in the night though, so be smart
Beware there is no ramp, so carry your luggage on steps to the reception and then lift to all other floors, We had a pram, was awful, cant imagine if someone is disabled, so make up your mind
On upside the breakfast buffet was really good, good variety of food, which was available without fail.
So may good restaurants with 5 minutes walk, we couldn't explore them all in our 10 days there !
Food was really cheap, about 10-15 Euros you can have ample of food.
Showers were really small, if you are a big person like me, was bit hard to get used to bit, but toward the end was so used to it
The provided a free cot, which was good.
Staff was helpful and keep in mind the "wifi" is available only in lobby are and at buffet - so rather take your own prepaid

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross on wye
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at midnight. Check in very swift. Reception very happy and helpful. Room ok, a bit small but ok for a long weekend. Bit dated, small shower cubicle but done the job. Clean towels every day and bed made. Continental breakfast good plenty of cheese ham bread tea and coffee etc . Brilliant location. 20 mins walk to colluseam, trevi fountains etc. Plenty of nice cafes and restaurants close by to choose from. If you're looking for a 5 * hotel this is not the place you want. Would I return Definitely.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Went to rome to watch the rugby with my 14 yer old son, a pal and his son.stayed here for 4 nights. it is tired in places but very clean with fresh towels and linen daily.All round excellent for the price and location as only 2 mins walk from the termini so central for most sites.The staff were excellent, very helpful and cheerful. The breakfast is what it is continental.The bar in the hotel was closed but we were there in march and relaltively quiet.I would certainly stay here again and recommend it for its value for money. By the way nothing for kids but this was also a sight seeing trip and that is how i would treat this hotel i.e.somewhere pleasant to lay your head on an evening.Cheers

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This isn't the 4* hotel you would expect. It does what it says on the label, it gives you a decent place to sleep and stay over night, it is very central 10 mins to Coliseum, within 5 mins of Termini, the other side if you're coming in on a Terravision bus (best value by far). Bus 910 to Stadio Olympico for the rugby, 40 express for The Vatican. again only 5 mins walk away. The safe was a boon helping you not to have to wander with all your documents and cash. Our room overlooked the street but with windows shut, shutters closed and curtains drawn managed to overlay for breakfast. Shower in the room excellent, towels changed every day, toiletries replenished as required. Breakfast was just what was advertised, continental, various breads, cereals, boiled eggs, cheese, choice of cold meats, croissants, danish pastries if you were lucky (I was on 2 days) coffee from a machine but perfectly adequate, tea, Orange juice probably not the best ever but you can't have it all. Staff always helpful my only gripe was I couldn't for the life of me get to the log on stage of the Wifi even in front of the reception desk which considering I have and iphone (and had no problem elsewhere in the city) was a pain but nonetheless a great hotel and because of it's location well worth the money. Only one thing I didn't notice on booking that there is a charge (local tax) of 3 euros person per room which in our case cost an extra 30 euros for 5 nights but do not let that put you off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Migster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

... The beds were very clean and comfortable, the rooms are not too small and the location is 2 mins walk to termini station. The staff are helpful and friendly.

There was only one English Channel which isn't a problem and not what we came for of course but it was 5 news stories on repeat per day which on the first night there were roadworks outside our room all night long and I'm not sure what was more annoying!!

The hotel breakfast was disappointing so we only ate there once, but again the location meant we were free to explore so we didn't mind.

My only negatives are the breakfast, the walls and lampshades in our room were splattered with coffee and that was horrible, and the loo brush holder doesn't have a base which is a bit gross. Also, there isn't any internet in your room which I think there should have been in a 4*. Just needs a bit of money spent on it and it would be a 5* review every time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_2_next_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,261 in Rome
849 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,068 of 1,261 in Rome
890 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1,004 of 1,261 in Rome
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#741 of 1,261 in Rome
377 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#861 of 1,261 in Rome
484 reviews
Sunrise Hotel
#1,033 of 1,261 in Rome
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Palace

Property: Champagne Palace
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 82, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#363 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Champagne Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champagne Palace Rome
Champagne Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing