We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good economy hotel with great transport links”
Review of Champagne Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champagne Palace
Ranked #1,073 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good economy hotel with great transport links”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from 6 days in this pleasant hotel. I have read some of the other reviews and quite honestly if you want spa centres, large rooms, restaurants etc in a capital city with the attractions of Rome you are going to need to pay seriously more money and the star ratings on Roman hotels do not really give a true picture. GOOD POINTS
we were on the 5th floor and although the room was quite small it was more than adequote for our needs, comfortable beds, well furnished, a good bathroom, very clean and towels were changed daily and bed linen every 2 days, we were not disturbed by traffic noise and when we asked for more pillows these were supplied within 5 minutes and with a smile. There is a roof top breakfast room and large roof top lounge with great views, with a smaller lounge adjacent to the reception. Breakfast was a standard continental - cereals, bread, cheese, cooked meats and eggs. Sweet croissants and cakes, yoghourts and good selection of jams, chocolate spread etc. No complaints there. Staff were friendly knowledgable and very helpful. LOCATION 10 minutes easy stroll to Rome Terminii where the main train station, bus station, tram stops and hop on hop off city tour buses are to be found. It was very easy to get all over Rome and with the guidance of the reception staff on buses we had no problems at all. Directly by the Terminii is a little down market but 2 block down and 2 blocks across where the hotel is located was just fine. You are also within 3 minutes of the wonderful Papal church of Santa Maria Maggiore which is well worth a visit. Radiating from this square are roads in every direction but if you take the road at one oclock with your back to the front of the church (via Merulana) there are some good restaurants and some up market cafes if you are on a smaller budget, eating out in Rome is not cheap. Continue down the road and turn right directly before the Museam of Oriental art for a stroll through Parco di Trialono, continuing down hill and at the bottom gate the glories of the Collosseum are in front of you. It really should be your first image of ancient Rome. Would I use this hotel again - I most certainly would and also would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brodiesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    152
    179
    127
    120
See reviews for
56
319
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
355 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located really near from Termini Station. I got a very special price in the last minute through hotels.com
Clean and confortable rooms. Very nice breakfast. The only problem is the wifi connection that is paid and just works at the lobby

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersonSalvá
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were expecting a four star but thought this to be a two star at best. No bar, no restaurant no keep fit facilities. Small noisy room with traffic 24/7. Good location for those without transport. Easy to walk from here all around Rome. Major train terminal near by. We visited Pompeii and got there by fast train. One very helpful member of staff. Wifi only works down stairs in the lounge which is little wider than a train carriage. Wish I had checked the place out before booking a British Airways break.

Room Tip: Avoid street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSuperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Don't go anywhere near this hotel! Terrible place. Breakfast inedible. A place that has fallen on very hard times. Needs a refurb. Televisions do not work. Housekeeping 'light'. The Termini area should be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuwieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you compare this hotel to a 4 star in, say America, then yes, it is definatley not the same class but you have to remember this is an old building in the heart of a city which is hundreds of years older than America itself! The hotel does need some work. But if you're there for 3 or 4 days and there to explore the city and not sit in the room then this is ideal. Bed - clean and comfortable. Room size for a couple - absolutely fine. Bathroom - clean and power shower was lovely. I am 6ft 1 and built so yes the shower was very small and there was enough room for me to turn around but I didn't care... I was not expecting a spa day! Surprised it had an electronic safe (very impressed). TV was an old tiny thing from the 80s but again, I wasn't there for the room I was there for the city. My only issue was they had switched the building's heating on and they couldn't change that to air con from room to room. They gave me a fan which was actually fine. Not ideal but it was ok. Staff were 10/10 and very helpful/nice. Breakfast included was better than if you tried to find something outside the hotel. If you're just after a place to sleep and shower then this place is perfect. Location is 0.5 miles to the Colesseum. We walked every inch of Rome and it is actually, in my opinion the nicest area to be staying. Lots of hotels locally so you feel very safe and restaurants locally are all gorgeous. Minutes from the main train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GmanUnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room smelled like cigarettes (and dust) and the shower had one of those disgusting shower curtains that sticks to you when you try to clean yourself in such a small place. Breakfast was ok, but the coffee was terrible. Internet is charged (expensively). The staff is nice, though. The bed was good enough. The best thing about this place is it's perfect location, right next to Rome's central station, the Termini.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardomello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am not a fussy person,however this was just about the most basic,worst then that,place I have stayed. We booked a double room and were given a rom with two singles pushed together. We had to ask for another. The hallway smells of cigarette smoke(the place had designated smoking point on the holway) and it looked like it hasn't been hoovered for weeks.the room and bathroom was very small. Signed of wear all around the place,room. Clearly understaffed,as the receptionist is the same person,who prepared breakfast, which was the most basic I have ever had.if you dream of nice Italian coffee, forget about it! The machine prepares instant.
It is definitely not 4star! Expect 2.
It is not the place for a romantic, comfortable stay. More like a student, traveller, budget accommodation.

Room Tip: You can get better for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hajnal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#249 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,062 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Monti
Gallia Hotel
Gallia Hotel
#661 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#1,023 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#926 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Monti
Hotel Viminale
Hotel Viminale
#842 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Palace

Property: Champagne Palace
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 82, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#358 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Champagne Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champagne Palace Rome
Champagne Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing