We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I checked out after 1/2 an Hour”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Center 2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Center 2
Ranked #1,169 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I checked out after 1/2 an Hour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I booked our Rome trip through an internet company, which is how we wound up at the Hotel Center. All I can say is that the hotel was so awful that we checked out 1/2 an hour after we checked in and moved to a different hotel.
Do yourself a favor and go to Hotel Smeraldo. It's right in the center of Rome. The staff isn't the nicest but the rooms are great, inexpensive and the hotel is convenient to the Pantheon, The Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Campo del Fiori, etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    51
    50
    68
See reviews for
32
68
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

1. We were made to walk a long way from hotel center 1 to center 2 which is a long way considering our baggage since our reservation did not specifically state which hotel center we are billeted.
2. The guy at the reception just handed us the key without instructing us to insert the key card in the slot to make the lightings and electrical outlet functions.
3. After returning from a long day outside and the room is very warm you cannot turn-on the airconditioning full blast to lower the temperatute faster because it was remotely controlled from the reception desk. You must call reception everytime you want the airconditioning turned on If the hotel wants to save electricity it must not be at the expense of its customer.
4. For a continental breakfast, I was expecting more not juice, coffee or hard bread and biscuits.
5. The location states it is near Termini train station but you must take a bus or the tram to get there from the train station since I think it is about 500meters or more from the termini station

For those who want to travel to Rome, there are better hotels which is a walk away from the Termini train station.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happysisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
riverside, ca
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have traveled all over the world and never found a hotel as cheap as this one. 1. Its not close to the rail station, good 20 min walk via a rough neighborhood 2. They charge 20 euros for a tv remote, 12 inch tv that does not work 3. lights in the hallway turn on for a few seconds then turn off...you have a hard time opening your door 3. Cheap, few thin towels and one soap. 4. Shower is 14 x 14 inches, if you are a heavy set person, you will not be able to take a shower 5. Air Conditioning does not come on unless you beg the front desk to do so, most of the time, they dont answer the phone 6. Breakfast is a joke...a cup of coffee, a danish and some juice 7. shower leaked all night, could not sleep 8. only one electrical outlet in the room, if you use a cpap, you will have a hard time. 9. No tissues in the room, only toilet paper 10. Trains run in front of the hotel...good luck if your room faces the rails. LOUSY AREA, NOT CLOSE TO ANYTHING STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank importedinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrovgrad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

It is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! If it was presented with 1 star, I would accept it as normal. I usually stay at 3 star hotels, sometimes at 4 star and what I saw here was far far away from a 3 star category. The walls were scratched, the ceiling has mould, the towels were torn, the TV was not working. Everything seemed like the hotel was last refurbished 20 years ago. The 3 star hotel I stayed at in Warsaw looked like a palace compared to the one in Rome. I have been in a 3 star hotel in a small country town in Bulgaria which was like heaven compared to Hotel Center 2.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — misery
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

The breakfast was very poor.
The milk was from a machine with terrible taste.
Everything was dirty and worn-out which you can see on my pictures.
You need to pay a deposit of 20 Euro for remote control.
There was mould in the bathroom. The towel was torn.
The bed was not comfortable. The plaster of the room was broken on one place.
The shower had e problem.
The old guy at the reception was not helpful at all and etc and etc.
I really don't know how such hotel in a such big destination like ROME can have 3 stars. I feel I was cheated.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyubobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

We had a room on the first floor near the lobby. It was like sleeping in a dorm room on a cot.
1. It was very noisy due to the location.
2. The bathroom smelled like a sewer.
3. I have never seen towel like this before. They were a little heavier than a sheet.
4. Refrigerator was broken.
5. We had a 12'' T.V in the room. You had to pay for the T.V.
I hear they would reimbursed you. We opted not to watch T.V.
6. Breakfast was coffee, juice and a pastries.
Gate 1 Travel should remove this Hotel from it choices.
Thanks for letting me vent, KLT Buffalo N.Y.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the odor in the bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kteresi_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Tx, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Room 612, Hotel Center II, Rome, Via Giovanni Giolitti 443
1. Heat could not be regulated. Always at full blast. Had to open windows.
2. No light in bathroom. Had to buy an extension chord to move a lamp into the bathroom.
3. Non operable TV without 20-euro deposit for remote. 80% of key boxes at registration contained remotes indicating most people were not interested in coming up with a 20-euro deposit for a 5-euro remote. Risk factor of loosing deposit was too high.
4. Refrigerator didn't work. Unable to find an on/off switch.
5. Light above bed two didn't work.
6. Hair dryer in bathroom didn't work.
7. Electric socket in bathroom had no power.
And now for the positives:
1. The windows worked.
2. The bed and sheets were OK.
3. The door closed and locked OK.
SUMMARY:
Out of ten issues, Hotel Center II scored 30%. Would you stay here with such a record? The answer is yes, if the price per night was 10-euros. But alas, the price per night was much higher. We know what you're thinking. "But why didn't you go to the reception and complain?" We went down to get the TV remote and when we learned about the deposit policy, big negative signs came up. So at that point one just limits the downside by making do, beating it out of there and never returning again. But does Gate 1 Travel, the booking agency, know the facts? Yes, we'll write the letter. Have a nice day as we know you'll not have a nice night at Rome's Hotel Center II. Oh, we know what you're thinking! "Other people were not complaining." Well, yes they were, to us, but will they make a summary at TripAdvisor? Stay tuned.......

  • Liked — The door was solid with a good lock. The windows worked well. Water was hot.
  • Disliked — Non regulatable heat, unlit bathroom, nonworking refrigerator, nonworking TV
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanoJoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Giotto
#1,108 of 1,290 in Rome
2.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#690 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
#727 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Elyse
Elyse
#963 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#967 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Parker
Hotel Parker
#603 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Center 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center 2

Property: Hotel Center 2
Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 441-443, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,169 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Center 2 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Center 2 Hotel
Center 2 Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing