We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was just fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Center 2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Center 2
Ranked #1,164 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was just fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

It is not a grand hotel, just a small simple hotel. It was very clean. Breakfast included was good for a starter and if you want more, there are 20 restaurants 3 minutes away on Manzoni. You can grab a coffee, expresso, cappucino on almost any corner. My room was on the top floor with a skylight. It was quiet. The front desk was as helpful as could be. I went budget, expected budget, got a little more than expected. I stocked the mini frige with Peroni, wine, salami, procuitto (sp) and bread for late night or downtime snacking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    51
    49
    67
See reviews for
31
67
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cochin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here for couple of night few weeks ago and the experience was good. It's a clean hotel, in the centre of Rome, near to everything, with also a fair price, nice breakfast. People are nice. May be the expectation of the clients are different, but I know by experience that hotel 3 star in Italy are never so great. So not so bad experience.

Room Tip: May be ask for rooms not on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biju_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

The location was very good near termini station.Only two station in the metro to thr colosum.The rome small but clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daliasiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

After reading reviews we decided if we booked Hotel Center with our tour company it would ONLY be if we were guaranteed a room at Hotel Center 1. We were assured that was the case. However, when we arrived we were directed to Hotel Center 2. (Just like many reviews we read said they would) Between my broken Italian, and their broken English we got out that there was no room there and we would HAVE to go to #2. They would not budge, so we were forced to walk ourselves to the next location. It proved to be a nightmare. This hotel sits on top of an "after hours" disco tech that POUNDS ALL NIGHT on the weekends. Which of course was when we were there. We did not get a single nights sleep and the staff was unwilling to move us to Hotel Center #1. You'll think you know better than me, you'll say I can put up with a little noise, I don't mind a small room, who needs a shower that you can bend over in, BUT MARK MY WORDS YOU WILL REGRET IT! Good Luck.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Palencia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

- The rooms are poorly ventilated, do not smell good.
- There is no own regulation for air conditioning. Reception is regulated from, what it means to die of cold or heat.
- The receptionist did not speak English. I always answer "yes" say what you say.
- The owner of the hotel is beyond good and evil. Kindness is not one of his virtues.
- The bathroom is leaking, noisy. Never came to fix it.
- The breakfast is quite poor for a supposed 3 star hotel.
- The wifi service: you can use after paying extortionate prices.
- This 15-minute walk from Termini, it is not a good place to go back alone at night.
- I do not recommend this hotel at all, would not return. The price and the stars do not do justice to the services offered. And above all, the deal is not good. It appears that you have to thank for being able to sleep there. I've been in several hotels on Rome, and I've never felt so ill treated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palentina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

My sister traveled to Rome for the first time and stayed at the Hotel Center 2. I went through trip advisor to get a review of the hotel as it was set up by the trip planner. I tried everything to change the hotel before we left, thank goodness I couldn't. This was one of the nicest places we had seen and when we told fellow travelers on the train about it, they were a bit jealous. They had modern rooms with no opening windows, close to traffic and lots of noise. We had the sound of roudy footbsllersw coming home and the nonstop horns, but we also had a great breeze and tall windows that let in all of the Rome atmosphere. Some people pay a fortune for rustic, we got booked into it. Small cozy rooms, the nicest people at the desk who showed us Americans how to get bus passes and mapped out the stops we needed for the day, and right in the middle of where we needed to be. I would styay there again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanintheruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Have stayed here before, via Gate 1 Travel (clearly the best value trip organizer around!). Arrived in Rome from Florence by train, and walked in minutes to the hotel. Rooms are newly modernized, clean, and a bit small -- but who cares since you're not in Rome to hang out in your hotel room! Close to the Rome subway, and therefore easy to get to all the attractions. Good breakfast and good coffee...just ask the waitress for an espresso (which the automated machine doesn't make), then add your own latte.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
#722 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Esquilino
Elyse
Elyse
#963 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#779 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Giusto
#1,106 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#900 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#413 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Center 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center 2

Property: Hotel Center 2
Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 441-443, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,164 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Center 2 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Center 2 Hotel
Center 2 Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing