We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definately NOT recommanded” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Patrizi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Patrizi
Ranked #1,000 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definately NOT recommanded”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

From the pictures you may think that this is a nice, good furnished hotel. Our experience however showed that this is far from true. The rooms are small (it is almost impossible to walk around the bed) and extremely hot and dark. There were no windows in our room, only an exit to the balcony. Because of the heat we had to leave the doors to the balcony open, allowing everyone to enter into the room, so this was not without a risk. The bathroom stank and the bed was very hard, making it difficult for the blood to circulate and thus causing 'sleeping' limbs. The tv set was very small (15 inch or so), making it almost impossible to watch a movie. We asked the guy at the reception desk to fix the air conditioning. Clearly irritated ty the question, he told us that in the winter it only blows hot air and the only thing that he could do was to switch it off (which he never did). The breakfast consisted of a couple of croissants, some sandwiches, orange juice and undrinkable coffee. Definitely NOT good. Furthermore there was this woman, never speaking a word and watching us every move and counting the bread each time we took some. It was as if the woman was like a ghost that could not find rest in the hereafter; knocking about in the restaurant of the hotel. We made jokes about this, but certainly, this was the most ridiculous experience we ever had (in a hotel)! There is no (internal) telephone guide and the information provided by the staff is unreliable. For example we asked at what time the first metro leaves during weekdays. We were told from 05:00 AM. As a result we found a closed metro station at 05:05 AM the day we left, because in reality the first metro leaves about 06:00 AM! The doors at the hotel are locked by a chain and a padlock during the night, making it impossible to leave the hotel in case of an emergency. So, if you are planning a trip to Rome, take care of your life (and your vacation) and DO look for another hotel and stay out of this one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller0238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    38
    23
    16
See reviews for
22
59
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menaggio, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

This beautiful old villa set in an area of Rome surrounded by many similar buildings is just 2 stops on the Metro from the Central Rome Railway station, followed by a walk of, I would guess, less than 1km. If you are arriving in the dark, get your directions worked out before you arrive as it can be confusing when you emerge from the subway and this area is does not invite lingering. The cost of the Metro journey was 1 Euro each, compared with the price quoted for a taxi of 25 - 30 Euros. Breakfast is included in the price but don't expect much more than the standard Italian fare for breakfast. A toaster was not made available in the dining room on request. The rooms are very, very small and very clean. Bathroom very small but adequate. There is a bar fridge but no tea or coffee making facilities. Staff helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missmary1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is not a 4 star hotel.
At best a 3 star.
The attitude of the reception lady was arrogant and dismissive beyond belief.
The room was so small we couldn't walk down either side of the bed. One side was nearly touching the wall, about 10cm gap. Ridiculous.
TV didn't work so we asked reception to look at it while we were out for the day, returned 6 hrs later and nothing been done. We asked them again and eventually they came and fixed it about 8hrs after requesting. Rubbish.
The breakfast experience was v intimidating, the kitchen lady was constantly staring at us and tutting when we ate anything. She acted like a prison warden. V v weird.

I would strongly recommend you staying elsewhere for good value and service.
1/10

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G4Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

It is a nice hotel in a very silent, green area, near the embassies. The nearest tube-station (Policliniko) is about 4 minutes by walk. The hotel is beutiful with very kind staff. Our room was wery little, but very comfortable, well-furnished. The TV was also very modern with a lot of channels - we had a Hungarian channel as well. We really enjoyed our holiday in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and left the location with several mosquito bites all over our body. The reason for this...was that the room we stayed in (room G02) reaked of mildew. The bathroom walls were garnished with mildew as was the shower head and doors. We could not use the air conditioning to air out the smell because it was not working and the Concierge would not accomodate a room change or upgrade request. So we had to open the windows each night to be able to breathe (and it was also raining). Mosquitos were then able to fly in and attack us, but it was either that or suffocate.
The location is also very far from the touristy spots. I would more likely recommend a hotel around the Spanish Steps because staying at this hotel was a real inconvenience for our travel needs. I would not rate this hotel 4 stars as it is promised - but rather 2.5 in american standards.
Lastly, the hotel is located near a police station so every night we would wake up to the sounds of sirens.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank absyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

A nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. We had room 304 which had a huge private terrace, would definitely recommend trying to get that room. The room itself was cosy but big enough for the two of us with all our stuff, the bathroom on the other hand was quite small with limited surface space to set things down (although the size of the terrace more than made up for this!)
Breakfast was limited, breads, ham, cheese, pastries, eggs, cereal and yoghurts etc, and as we were staying for a week it became rather bland, eating the same thing every day, although it hit the spot until lunch time.
The hotel has a metro station within 3 mins walk and is situated two metro stops from termini train station, from which you can reach anywhere in the city. We bought a week long travel pass for 16 euro - bargain! If you don't mind not being in the heart of city life then this hotel will suit well, however I think I'd prefer to have been a little closer to the centre. Be warned - there aren't any shops or restaurants close to the hotel, there could have been but we coldn't spot any. If we wanted anything we bought it at termini (plenty of shops there) and brought it back to the hotel.
Overall this is a decent hotel with friendly staff, a little out of the way but by no means inaccessible. Would I stay again? Probably not just because I'd have liked to have been closer to the action of Rome - which is truely amazing!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDaMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL!!!
I sayed for 3 weeeks, and although I had a long stay i was given room 201 and despite all my requests to be moved, it didnt happeneed.

cons:
- below mediocre breakfast: if you're prepared to eat in so called 4* hotel each omlet, with a slice of ham and a slive of chesse, go for it. btw, they also have cereals. Also...be preapared to drink form plastic glasses.
- room with only one bed and a small desk....2 persons dont have enough space.
- room 201 HAS ANTS!!!!! if you're a ant lover, go for it...otherwise ..!
- noisy...very noisy
- no view
- incredible small bathroom, I could not stay on the toilet...unbeliveble.
- no restaurant
- no bar

pros:

- nice employees
- free parking, where you always find a plce between 7PM and 9 AM, otherwise is 1 euro/h
-internet relatevely cheap, 10 euro for 24h (but you cand devide the time, you dont have to stay all those 24h in one pice), very conveninat

I will definetly not go there again, one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in and i've been enough in africa.
Still, do not expect to find good hotels in rome, they do not rely on difelity, they rely on new visitors.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Turner
#654 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Hotel Villa Torlonia
#1,002 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#906 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#280 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#844 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#989 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Patrizi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Patrizi

Property: Villa Patrizi
Address: Via di Villa Patrizi 20, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#339 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Patrizi 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Patrizi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Patrizi Hotel Rome
Patrizi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing