We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ranked #88 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I'm just back from 4 days in rome where i stayed with my partner for the first time. While the hotel looked beautiful and our room was lovely. We decided to book room only and decide on each morning weather or not to have breakfast.

This was a total mistake as they did not show the price for continental breakfast and it cost us €70 per morning for gronola and coffee. The service in teh dining room was also sub standard we had to wait for tables to be cleared even though there would be ones set we still had to wait. Tables were then missing cuttlery and napkins and over all service in the dining area was not a pleasent experience.

Also i had booked a double room and they room was made into a twin, we asked to change the bed and they noted this would be done but when we arrived back after a day of walking 6 hours later it was not done and they couldnt tell me what time they might be able to do this.

Over all for the price i was very unsatisfied which is a shame as the front of house staff were nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    661
    245
    108
    88
See reviews for
522
1,254
75
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a very luxurious hotel and very professionally run. I got a great rate from the House of Travel in New Zealand and was expecting something a little less opulent. This was my first night in Italy at the beginning of a month long trip and it was quite a lovely surprise. The rooms were enormous in fact my room had a mezzanine floor which is where the bed was so it was an upstairs downstairs arrangement. So often in Europe the rooms are tiny so this was a nice change. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with his and hers sinks, a toilet, bidet, bath & shower and extremely spacious. And it was ALL marble as so much is in Italy. It really is a lovely hotel but almost a little aloof to be warm and friendly even though the staff were very pleasant to deal with. Not to mention glamorous. Everything was extremely polished and professional and it was an experience in itself. It is also in a good location right by a Termini entrance so you could get around easily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. The hotel staff was very efficient and helpful from desk to doorman. A very special thanks to the Guest Relations Manager, Giuseppe - he provides special personal help and great service. He really made the trip so special and easy.

Arrivederci Exedra.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyfordogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN!!! WORDS CANNOT DO IT JUSTICE!!!!
I regularly stay in 5* hotels and the Boscolo hotel is by far the BEST hotel I have stayed in!!.
I booked a romantic weekend in Rome for me and my Girlfriend, as I was planning on proposing. So i needed a perfect hotel and i certaintly got perfection at the Boscolo Exedra
When we arrived at the hotel, we were lost for words, everything about the hotel was elegant, classy and just utterly PERFECT. I was absolutely delighted and couldnt believe that i was staying in a palace like hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I booked a standard double room, but it was more like a suite. It was MASSIVE. The nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in!. The room and the hotel was immaculately clean, maid service twice a day.
The bathroom was very BIG. The bed was so comfy and their was lots of storage space. The wallpaper wasnt actual paper, it was silk material! NOW THAT IS CLASS!!!!!
The hotel is in a great location, it has a metro link just on the corner and is only 10 minutes walk to Trevi fountain and the spanish steps and most other tourist attractions.
The staff in the hotel were FAB!!!They go out of their way to help. I contacted the hotel direct via email to ask for suggestions on romantic areas to propose, Valentina who works at the hotel was EXTREMELY helpful. She helped me choose the perfect location to propose as well as helping me pick the best restaurant to celebrate. She also gave us hints and tips of places to see and how to travel when in Rome.
The hotel director Giuseppe took time out to personally greet us and ask us how our stay was!!!
This hotel is by far the BEST in rome. If you want to feel like royalty and be treated like royalty then you must stay at the Boscolo Exedra. It is a fantastic elegant luxury hotel, which exceeds 5* in my opinion!!!!!!
We certainly will be returning to the Exedra and we will now be visiting the rest of the Boscolo hotels.
A big thank you to all the staff at the Boscolo Exedra Hotel, in my opinion one of the best luxury hotels going!!!!!!!!!!!!
P.S she said yes :)

Room Tip: 242 FAB room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard v, Direttore at Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,

La ringraziamo moltissimo per le belle parole spese nella Sua recensione.
Siamo davvero lieti di sapere che il suo soggiorno preso il nostro storico hotel é stato piacevole e all'altezza delle sue aspettative.
Ci auguriamo di riaverla presto tra i nostri graditi ospiti per offrirle una nuova ed indimenticabile esperienza nella Città Eterna !
Con i più cordiali saluti,

Oliver Hutten
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the first time I write one of these reviews. I am doing this because I was really impressed with the hotel and with the service. We made a mistake with the reservation, and they took care of us in a very special way.

We like to travel. This was my 4th time in Rome. We have always been fortunate to be able to stay in 5 star hotels.exedra has been the best by far. The building from the outside is impresive, the location is very convinient, the rooms are very spacious, and while the place is a historic building, the rooms are new and nicelly decorated and clean. It is one of those hotels that when you walk in you feel proud and happy to be there. It makes the trip better.

But Even better than the hotel, was the service. We traveled with my familly, my brother and his family, and my mother....11 people in total...includin 6 kids, 12 and under..... At the time of making the reservations, we booked some days first, and later on we decided to book some extra days. The problem was that we reserved the second portion in a different hotel of the same Boscolo familly. To make it worst the reservations were made online, through travel sites, using non refundable prepaid rates. When we realized the mistake, we tried to work with the reservation sites without success. We did not want to have to pack and move to a different hotel, specially with so many kids. One day I called the hotel. They didnt let go until the problem was solved. They called me to Miami many times to work with me. Help me to arrange the cancelation with the other hotel, transfer the ammounts prepaid and credited to our account, helped us to get connecting rooms for the kids, welcomed us with a bottle of champaign in each room, arrange dinners in amazing restaurants, arrangaed transportation, etc. One day we were not able to find a taxi in San Paolo Fuori de Mura, it was getting dark and cold. It was Christmas day, and we were the 11+2 seminarians who joined us that day...not fun; I called the concierge at the hotel, a few minutes later Giuseppe, the customer relations director was calling my cell to inform that he was sending cars to take care of us.

The list of demonstrations of kindness and care could continue, but I think you get the idea. They made us feel very special, as if we were the only people at this wondefull hotel and as if we were the most important people in the world.

Thank you very much to the Exedra team for such a great time. Special thanks to Mr. Giuseppe.

Ps. Do take the breakfast at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms were great, we had 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend with friends. Hotel was beautiful and staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Was given complimentary bottle of champagne. Maid service twice a day. Made the weekend even more perfect. Would deff use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CynRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and i went to italy for our anniversary in august 2012, this hotel was fabulous and made our experience worth while.
we had a deluxe room on the 4th floor that was overlooking the fountain of republica plaza. the room was lovely, spacious for italian standards, plus the bathroom was huge! super upscare and modern with a classic tint. its exactly what u see on the hotels website.
the location of the hotel was also great since the metro stop was less than a minute away, the back streets had very good restaurants and currency exchange places with good rates.
it was very easy to get around/walk around to every attraction. and most importantly, room service food and the hotel breakfast were also excellent. i would defenetally go there again!

Room Tip: go for the delux rooms and not the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#85 of 1,263 in Rome
1,977 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,748 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,263 in Rome
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 47, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Rome
#54 Business Hotel in Rome
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#98 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#103 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern sophistication with a traditional 19th-century palace design, the Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, is a truly breathtaking sight to behold and unparalleled stay to experience. Sitting gracefully in the renowned Piazza della Repubblica,stunning Paris landmarks such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum are only a short trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Exedra Hotel Rome
Boscolo Exedra Rome
Exedra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing