We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well managed hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna
Ranked #602 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well managed hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Superb location, only some steps from the Spanish Steps. The hotel facility feels a bit cramped with very steep staircase to the upper floors. But my wife preferred this instead of the narrow and slow elevator which she felt was frightening. Since we stayed at the fourth floor this was not very convenient and the staircase was cranking loudly each time we used it during our four day stay. But the room was surprisingly big, spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable indeed. One complaint only; there was no way to remove the plate "curtain" from the window so we had no light from outside. Maybe this was for the sake of energy saving. It was August and almost 40 degrees Celsius outside so the air condition was imperative and constantly on. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast, included in the room price, was served on the glass covered rooftop and was sufficient. All in all it was a pleasant stay in a well managed hotel. We could surely be back here when in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Börje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    30
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
64
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna. It's in a perfect location, near the Spanish Steps. We could actually lean out of our window and see the Steps. The room was comfortable and very clean. The people at the desk were very helpful whenever we needed something. The only 'complaint' I would have is the fact that the only way I could connect to the internet was in a chair near the front desk in the small lobby. Other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I stopped here with my son (11) for our visit to Rome so I was looking for a nice hotel within easy reach of all of Rome's attractions and found it with La Lumiere. The location is wonderful, a brief walk from the Spanish Steps and a easy walk to the Trevi, Piazza Del Popolo, etc. The hotel is very clean, the Staff friendly, polite and welcoming who made my son feel very comfortable. I hope to go back one day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antsmith67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a perfect three star hotels. The rooms are small and basic, but clean and quaint with a lovely breakfast room. While you get no "frills" with this hotel it has everything you need without breaking the bank. It is well maintained and the staff is helpful. More importantly it is excellently located! If your budget allows, try one of the rooms with a terrace.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our room was clean but tiny. We had a small terrace off the room. We felt very cramped. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbass60668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I really love this little hotel. I spent a week here in May, 2009 and came back for one night in April, 2012. The location couldn’t be better to walk to just about everything in Rome. Being near the Spanish steps is great! A metro station is a 5-minute jaunt. You are right on the Via Condotti for expensive (window) shopping. It's noisy during the day, but quiet after the shops close. And 2 blocks from Via del Corso. The rooms are small and the beds are small and firm, but you are going to find that in most hotels in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelsR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Inlovewithit :-) perfect location for brand shopping (that means great for the ladies. , bad
for husband's & bf's. ) hotel staff , great. Room recently renovate and very clean.

Room Tip: Go see first ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DejandoHuellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Suite Condotti 29 A.C. Hotels S.r.l.
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#294 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#165 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#420 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Gregoriana
Hotel Gregoriana
#410 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna

Property: La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna
Address: Via Belsiana 72, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #602 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Lumiere Di Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome
La Lumiere Di Piazza Spagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing