We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you are a smoker” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ranked #131 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great if you are a smoker”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here early January. The hotel smelt of smoke everywhere. I opened the window in our room to find cigarette butts fly in the window and ash all over the window ledge. I also did not realise that it was pet friendly and my daughter suffers badly from allergies. The bedspread looked as if it haven't been changed or washed for months, there was NO room service. My niece and I went to the bar to let my daughter rest and asked for a cocktail which is advertise they have NO cocktails. I then asked for tea as there are NO tea coffee making facilities in the room. We were made tea for three and told to BRING BACK THE TRAY AS SOON AS WE HAD FINISHED. For this I was charged fifteen euro. The hotel is in a back street which we were scared to walk at night as there was a homeless man sleeping in the doorway down the road and several creepy men who propositioned my girls. There is no iron in the room either. There is no compendium in the room so no idea how to call reception, dial out phone, housekeeping etc. no instructions on tv or how to use pay TV as advertised. the complimentary papers are not in English so no use to me. The breakfast room was ok but smelt. A hot cup of Tea would have been good but the urn did not seem to boil.
Only one of the staff members on the desk understood English well and the afternoon guy was just rude.

And to top it off I was charged an extra twenty seven euro on leaving for tax. Which I though had been paid when booking room but was told it was city tax.
The only good part of the stay was the lovely lady who was cleaning the rooms who always had a smile and greeting.
I will definitely be telling my travel agent not to recommend this hotel.
No way is it a four star. It must be self rated.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    183
    79
    32
    24
See reviews for
135
229
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is more of a 3.5 star hotel but the room was very clean and looked like it was just renovated. Location was average - it is a short walking distance to the Borghese Gallery and a bit of a long walk to the subway stop. But this also means you're in a quieter part of the city which is a good thing and the restaurants around the hotel are not frequented just by tourists. If would definitely take a taxi from the train station if carrying luggage as the walk is mostly uphill. Overall I recommend this hotel as long as you can get a great rate. Had a terrific 5 night stay which was just enough to explore this fascinating city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are thankfull to You for such a good review. We are happy to know that You was good here at the Princpiessa Isabella and we really hope that You will have the chance to visit Rome for more than 5 days and, of course, to meet You again! Best regards and thank You again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Principessa Isabella Hotel in early January 2014 with my family of 6. Due to our size we had 2 rooms with each room having a double and a fold out single. This hotel is located in the Spagne area about 10 mins easy walk to The Spanish Steps.

We arrived late in the afternoon evening and our rooms were ready for us. They are small like most in Rome but his made no difference us as we were just ready explore Rome and this was the perfect base.Importantly though they were ABSOLUTELY spotlessly clean!!

The staff spoke good english and were ready to help at any time and were great. We were even invited to a local pub for a gathering!!

They have a small dining room for a buffet each morning with a good selection of local breads, 2 cereals, whole fruit, yogurt and scrambled eggs and bacon. Fresh juice and great percolated coffee.

For couples and small families I would recommend this hotel very highly and it shows a reflection a little more closely to a small italian hotel rather than a big chain.

We loved it, it suited us perfectly and no complaints.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DaffyDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
it was only a pleasure for us to host You and Your lovely family! We are glad to have contributed to make once more pleasant Your stay in Rome, so You have had the chance to visit it with ease, and we want to thank You by our hearth for this excellent review and for the pictures! We really hope to have You all again as our cherished Guests! Thank You again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cal
Level Contributor
292 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hotel and staff were nice. Mauro was good with English and the most friendly of the staff, but other staff were also very helpful. Location was close to Galleria Borghese (short walk) and the park (great place for runners); it is also a good walk (15-20 min) to the main attractions of central Rome. Room in hotel was clean. The wireless internet was fairly good. However, the walls are thin, so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was fairly good, but I would have liked more fruits instead of processed baked good. Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sactokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank You for such a good review and, above all, for Your suggestion about breakfast. We appreciate a lot this kind of reviews, that allow us to always offer a better service to all our Guest. Thank You again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights, everything was wonderful! Beautiful room with a small balcony (we are smokers so it was excellent) , very clean, staff was sweet and helpful, breakfast was very nice ( ask the nice lady for cappuccino ). It's a seven minute walk to the nearest metro and five to the bus stations that basically gets you anywhere you need to get in Rome.
Only bad thing we can say is that the wifi was very weak on the fourth floor, other than that, it was perfect! We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Naomi,
thank You for such an excellent review and, above all, for Your suggestion about Wi-Fi. We are sorry You have had some problems with it but we appreciate this kind of reviews, that allow us to always offer a better service to all our Guest. Thank You again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located a few short blocks from the top of the Spanish Steps, the US Embassy, and the Hard Rock areas. It's newly renovated; our room was beautiful with high ceilings and spacious quarters. Breakfast was generous, welcoming, and consistently lovely. The front desk warmly welcomed us each morning and evening. The hotel is only a few blocks from a major grocery and retail area. We had a lovely visit and plan to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
it's a real pleasure to read such a good review and most of all to know that You have had a great holiday in Rome, here at the Hotel Principessa Isabella! We are glad to know that You have appreciated us and we invite You to come visit us again during Your next Roman holiday! Best regards and thank You again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just out of the busy parts of the city, is this hidden gem, worthy of your attention. We were impressed by the security of staff at the front desk 24 hours a day. The staff were helpful and friendly and our favourite manager was Mauro.
Mauro spoke good English and I saw that he was good with all kinds of guests and nothing was problem. I have a crazy sense of humour and he adapted to me and understood how I think and what I wanted. In all the hotels we stayed at throughout our tour of Italy and France, Mauro was the best and friendliest manager we encountered. He made our stay perfect and we loved dealing with him.
Our room was immaculate and comfortable, but next time, I would request a room facing the street to get a better view. Fittings and decor were amazing. I loved the breakfast bar, which had more than you need for a great start to the day.
Thank you Mauro and Hotel Principessa Isabella. We will stay with you next time.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
It’ s a real pleasure to read Your review! We are happy to know that Your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella was ok and that You have appreciated a lot our man, Mauro, more than every other manager You have met travelling in Europe! We want to thank You even for the picture! We hope You will come in Rome in the next future and to meet You again: You will be our relished Guest! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#171 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#132 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#340 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#208 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Address: Via Sardegna 149/151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#301 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern comforts; situated near the Via Veneto, Villa Borghese and Piazza de Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Principessa Tea
Principessa Tea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing