We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ranked #216 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Principessa Isabella for 4 nights. The hotel is extremely clean and well cared for - spotless our entire stay. The triple room to which we were assigned was absolutely magnificent. Plenty of room for 3 people, bathroom quite large and a wonderful patio. The room was absolutely quiet and although at first glance the mattress looked very firm, I have to say it was one of the most comfortable for sleeping that we have ever encountered.

Mauro, at the front desk, was very pleasant and had many good tips. The shuttle from the airport was very easy and simple to arrange prior to our arrival.

There are only three things that would have made the stay perfect - first, computer terminals (or a business center) just to help with booking tours or train tickets while staying at the property; second, perhaps more variety for breakfast (although what was out was very good); and third, it was a fairly decent distance to ancient Rome where we spent most of our time (although cab service was a piece of cake from the hotel).

All in all, if you are looking for a superbly clean property with a very friendly staff that is quiet and restful, this property should be on your list.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 654 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

On this trip several of our friends came along and we tried to find a hotel that had double and triple rooms within easy walking (a relative term indeed) distance to most places and the Princess Isabella fit the bill. We picked it for the ease of auto drop off, driving in from Pompei we only had to drive on the outer part of the city to get to this area and Avis (Hertz also there) garage just a few blocks up the street. Being a Choice Hotels member I figured it would be of acceptable and of familar quality so we booked though their WEB site. We were not disappointed, the hotel was totally remodeled in the last two years I was told and it showed, the public spaces and rooms were clean, up-to-date and everything worked fine. A nice breakfast area with eggs, pastries, cereals ,etc. was well stocked and maintained. There were a number of reasturants close by and they were somewhat less expensive than a few blocks down on the Via Veneto. The staff was very nice and helped local info and to make reservations to the Villa Boughese Gallery (a stunning place that I would recommend to anyone with an ounce of soul) rememeber you need reservation to get in. Just remember that many of the hotels in Rome and similar cities are relatively small 10 to 40 rooms so there tends to be only one person at the desk, so a little patients is necessary as they can be going in several directions at once. P.S. Even though we were somewhat familar with this area of Rome I found the street views in Google Maps a real plus and was surprised when I recognizied the area when I was near the hotel.

Room Tip: A lower room will allow you to use the stairs on occasion as there is only one elevator, although it...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMMRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked the Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella at the last minute because I had my passport stolen and we had to return to Rome earlier than planned to get a new one. The hotel was booked through booking.com and it was very reasonable and well located for getting to both the consulate and the other Hotel we we're booked in to later in the week. It ended up being a good location that was within walking distant of the Spanish Steps and was around the corner from great window shopping on the Via Veneto. The hotel was comfortable, the front desk was accommodating and breakfast was included. The view was non-existent but we hadn't booked it for the view. Lots of hot water and a comfortable bed. There are a lot of good restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked via the Internet and found the other reviews a bit mixed but reading between the lines we thought it would be good enough,

There is no real place to relax but we were always out and only came back to either freshen up or sleep so it didn't bother us - don't expect a normal 4 star hotel like in England !
Plus side the breakfast is nice and the room was excellent clean and absolutely beautiful room 432 ! Balcony and quiet !
The staff are good I thought Mauro and Roberto being very friendly and helpfull, the older guy is unhelpful and a bit grumpy but in a funny Italian way !!! You can't complain really, there is an excellent restaurant next door to the left as you leave which you have to try and believe me its fantastic - no food at nights here even in summer which again is unlike a 4 star but again we ventured out more and for us was not a problem but if you have come to relax and make use of the hotel you will be let down here badly. !

Good location for a lot of major sights

All in all I would return here but my first option would be more of a Hotel with amenities next time as we have seen a lot already and would enjoy a Hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights in Rome staying at the Hotel Principessa Isabella . This is just a fabulous hotel in every way.The hotel was all new, the rooms were in immaculate condition and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The location is close to the main place.Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hi, I normally don't writte reviews but I do this one just because I don't want you feel the same frustration the me and my family. the service in this hotel was the worst Ever. The staff was very unhelpful and ready to argue all the time.
The hotel doesn't have a living room, it' just one chair next to the reception desk, it's dirty,

Have a better look with other hotels before to choose this one.

HOTEL Principessa = Hell

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Porque2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from 3 nights in the most amazing city in the world which is Rome.We stayed in the Principessa Isabella. The staff are very nice and friendly and the rooms although small are clean and comfortable.

The Hotel only does Breakfasts but this is not an issue as you will most likely be out wandering around and marvelling at this incredible city.

We got the train from the airport to Termini station which took 40 mins and cost €28 one way for the 2 of us. However when we got out at Termini and went to get a taxi to the Hotel we were charged €25 for what was at most a €7 trip so don't accept the first price the Taxi men quote you. You could actually walk there in 20 mins.

We did a guided tour of the Vatican which too 3+ hours and cost €40 each with Roberto of RoundRoma tours (I think that was the name) and it was the best money we spent all weekend. He was hilarious, knowledgeable and had a healthy amount of scepticism for the catholic church. The tour itself is fascinating and by getting on a tour you avoid the 1.5+ Hour queues to get in anywhere. it includes teh Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica.

Go to Piazza Navonna for dinner and great selection of wine bars and get down to the Colloseum at night to get an idea of what a majestic monument this is.

All in all a great weekend and would go back in a heartbeat.

mark.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor so there was no street noise to disturb us.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markst33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#250 of 1,267 in Rome
796 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#200 of 1,267 in Rome
909 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#298 of 1,267 in Rome
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
508 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,267 in Rome
872 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#344 of 1,267 in Rome
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Address: Via Sardegna 149/151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#301 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern comforts; situated near the Via Veneto, Villa Borghese and Piazza de Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Principessa Tea
Principessa Tea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing