We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussie's abroad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ranked #258 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice clean room with lovely king size bed. No tea or coffee offered for a tired traveller. Also no information or brochures for sightseeing, restaurants provided in the room. Desk staff were inattentive when visitors sought information, by ignoring you until they finished what they were doing. Report of television not working was not acted upon. Rooms quite small, and walls very thin resulting in sounds from adjoining rooms very noticeable. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mernda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 666 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel is recently renovated and very nicely decorated, clean and well situated in Rome, great that you can walk to most of the famous sights, and really nice restaurants in the neighborhood - we enjoyed several great dishes from the Italian cuisine

Reception staff are extremely helpful both before and under your stay - thank you!
- also great with airport transfer opportunity

Rooms are REALLY small, and VERY loud - would be great with a drawer somewhere.

If my hotel, I would improve:

Bathroom: Hairdryer - have you ever tried drying something, amenities (we cannot do with small soap and small plastic bag with shampoo/gel), why not put a dispenser at sink and in shower? The noise from the ventilation

Room: Would be great with a water cooker, some glasses for the otherwise nice mini bar, not a pleasure to drink from plastic cup, and btw. no refreshment of same plastic cups. Why put a tiny flat screen on the wall, but placed on top of the top box, so it only can point in one direction

The low bed was the right hardness for us, but the pillows hmmm, glad we got extra from reception

Breakfast: Not bad, though, would expect some variety, bacon needs to be fried - no-one ate it, and still you served it every day, nice with sausages or something similar, juice instead of with flab ours looking like Orange and Grape. Only hard boiled (cold) eggs, precut cheese and meat, and again no variety - glad we brought our own decaf

Wireless: Not sure if the wireless is only unfriendly to Apple devices, but I was struggling to keep connection, and had to reconnect (applying code and/or password, as well as do some search to get in, and then only for short while or until turning device of, then had to do it all over

View not worth mentioning, but would have been great to be able to get natural light without having to actually open both door and shades

Room Tip: Sorry no swimming pool as no restaurant (besides for breakfast)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Though clean and well located we found the front desk staff quite off hand and not interested in helping with our queries.
Stayed here a total of 5 nights over 3 visits as we travelled within Italy. Will look elsewhere next time.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Beth5573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is in a fabulous location. Easily in walking distance of a lot of locations. The staff were nice after I explained it was their job and I would treat them the same as they treat me :) After that, I found it to be quite pleasant. Very clean, the breakfast was good, rooms are smaller but very nice. I had read the reviews prior to going and was a little concerned however I did enjoy all 4 nights that I stayed there. The restaurant right beside them ai Fienaroli was fantastic. Food and service was the best I had on our entire holiday. I would stay at this location again just simply because it was clean, I could eat breakfast and be on my way hiking to whereever. Would definitely say great for a couple. There is a supermarket and a hardware store (incase you forget your adapter) just 3 blocks away that was convenient. Keep in mind a lot of stores in the area were closed on the Sunday except on Via Veneto.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with 3 people try and get room 106 it was set up way better than 102 which jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A nice hotel in the centre of Rome. Very friendly staff, clean rooms with excellent air conditioning (well needed for the summer) and great breakfast.Our room on the 3rd floor was very comfortable (king size bed) and well appointed. Free wi-fi. The breakfast included in our rate was also lovely with lots of options to cater for all choice. We will certainly stay again when in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and the rooms were rather tired and the decor was pretty basic. The rooms themselves were a good size and clean, however. The breakfast was VERY basic and offered little other than toast, some cereals and it just felt cheap. The location probably wasn't the best either. Next time I think we'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a tour in Italy. The frot desk agent who greeted us was very friendly. The room was immaculate. We had a triple (although we were only two!) with a huuuuuuge open terrace (I would kill for one that size in NYC!) although there was no furniture on the terrace, we took a few from the room outside to enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the sun set. The beds are heavenly, felt like a memory foam mattress that just surrounds your body after a long day of walking. The location of the hotel is a little isolated, but there are several good restaurants nearby. San Marco was a favorite. Close to Via Veneto and a short walk to the Spanish Steps. Also near metro stations which provide access to the city. Free wifi and buffet breakfast made this a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCbelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#299 of 1,269 in Rome
789 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#199 of 1,269 in Rome
911 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#239 of 1,269 in Rome
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#71 of 1,269 in Rome
517 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#345 of 1,269 in Rome
1,200 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#237 of 1,269 in Rome
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Address: Via Sardegna 149/151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#300 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $91 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern comforts; situated near the Via Veneto, Villa Borghese and Piazza de Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Principessa Tea
Principessa Tea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing