We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent budget option”
Review of Nazional Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nazional Rooms
Ranked #2,734 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I booked our stay via Easyjet holidays. Having agonised over the various package flight and hotel options, I settled on the Nazional Rooms, largely based on other TripAdvisor reviews.

Firstly, yes it is a budget hotel, but that shouldn't take away from what it offers on top of the basics.

As already stated it is on the 4th floor above a wig shop (which I couldn't help but find amusing myself!) and can be accessed by stairs or lift. The reception is very small but in the day there was is usually someone around and so long as you make your requests clear, there shouldn't be a communication problem.

Our room was a double facing away from the main road, so was very quiet. The following facilities are available:
Private bath/shower room
Hairdryer
Wardrobe storage with hangers
Extra pillows/blankets
Digital safe
TV
Mini fridge (for your own purchases)
Air conditioning

We went in the middle of August and the air con and fridge were a God send in the sweltering afternoons!

We had no problem with towel replacements - just put them in the shower as requested and it new ones that morning. There was soap and shower creme available so bring other amenities you may require.

All in all a very straightforward stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmVicWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Nazional Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 188 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room was reasonably priced regarding the living conditions and location. There is nothing bad to say about the hotel. Service was good, the room was comfortable even though the bathroom was a little small and old. Vatican and Colosseum are a little far from the hotel, but the walk is till enjoyable. Didn't seem to have any good restaurants near by. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a budget traveler!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was the last stay from my 3 week vacation and understandly tired. The hotel is tucked in a building that has a wig shop on the ground floor and the smell of burnt hair with amonia was a bit of a turn off. Then you have to either walk up 3 flights of stairs or take a tiny elevator to the lobby. The staff was very helpful. The room was nice and big and the A/C worked well. Internet worked as expected - great location for all things touristy. Price was great considering Rome. For breakfast you need to walked down the block the a restaurant where you got the typical european breakfast. Don't think I would stay here again, but you can't beat the price. The biggest turn off was the main access to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I found the Nazionale rooms a very pleasant place to stay for a week in Rome. It is very convenient to the main railway station but just far enough away to avoid that grotty area.

First impressions worried me a little, it's above a wig shop on a very busy street. Once you get inside and up to the fourth floor though it is much calmer and my room up on the top floor was a haven of peace. I had two rooms, a bathroom and a roof terrace (was anticipating a hot little single room). There was enough windows to keep air moving through as well as air con and a fan. It was very quiet up there so I got a good sleep every night. I didn't use it but I also had a full kitchen so my single room was effectively a flat!

The location is also pretty good, a short walk to the Forum, Colosseum etc in once direction and the Trevi Fountain, St Peters etc in the other. I never needed to use public transport apart from trips to Tivoli and Ostia which where easy enough to reach from the train station

The two chaps who worked long hours manning the reception where always available and very helpful.

Downsides? None really. It isn't a bland "corporate" hotel but is an enjoyable place to spend time. I would certainly return if I was going back to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groucho58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Fantastic hotel, good value, friendly english speaking owner, central location (main sights no more than 2 miles away), would recomend booking top floor apartment as it is very spacious, clean and has a beautiful sun terrace. The breakfast although rather small is traditional and the caffe latte tastes wonderful, we also ate our evening meals here. Three to Five day stay is ample time. Would definitely go again! Ciao

Room Tip: Book top floor room, sun terrace and nice and quiet with no neighbours, good views over city and spa...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel situated on 249, Via Nazionale, at the 3rd floor. Coming from the Termini Station, is just 10 minutes walking. So, no need for a taxi. The elevator starts at the 1st floor, not at the ground floor. The person at the reception is very polite, with an English not so developed, but you can understand reasonably each other. The rooms are very clean. New TV. Have a small table/desk, closet, 2 chairs, all quite new. Small refrigerator incorporated under the table. The bathroom is as well very clean and large. Is provided, besides the normal articles (towels, toilet paper, toilet items) with hairdryer. Small shower cabin. Breakfast is served outside the hotel, in a small restaurant just around the corner, “Barocco”, on Via Napoli, where is provided a standard breakfast /2 persons with: 2 coffees (can choose the type of coffee); 2 glasses of orange juice; 2 patisserie items. Seems that is an agreement from which both parts (the hotel and the restaurant) have benefits. The rooms are situated both to the street and to the back side. To the back side, for fine sleepers, you can enjoy the absolute silence.

Via Nazionale is a very decent and safe street, with no that kind of mixture of people that is present around the streets closer to Termini. The hotel is 15 minutes walking by Mercati Traianae. 10 minutes walking to Barberini Piazza. By Vatican, be prepared for 30 – 40 minutes walk.

The bill is just a basic one (no VAT) with the hotel stamp. Besides the price of the hotel, as reserved, be prepared to be asked for another 2 Euros / day / person, as “city tax”. Strangely, the “city tax” does not appear on the bill.

All in all, the rooms can be qualified at 3 stars, not at 2 stars (I’ve stayed in 3 stars hotels worse than this 2 stars hotel). If I would go again in Rome, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophiaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The hotel is located on a busy main street with plenty of buses to the historic center and a nearby train station which is great. There is actually no noise from the street. However, in the morning there was some noise as the reception is located just at the beginning of the corridor.
The room was fairly big and the shower was good. The breakfast was very poor even in Italian standards (in a sense of being small), although the guys at the restaurant were very friendly!
The guys in the reception were nice, but not very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kangarooInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#574 of 1,267 in Rome
317 reviews
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#235 of 1,267 in Rome
302 reviews
Esquilino
Flann O'Brien Rooms
Flann O'Brien Rooms
#729 of 1,267 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#24 of 3,710 in Rome
399 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Inn
Hotel Everest Inn
#1,625 of 3,710 in Rome
149 reviews
Esquilino
Persepolis Rome
Persepolis Rome
#2,165 of 3,710 in Rome
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nazional Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nazional Rooms

Address: Via Nazionale 249, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,734 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nazional Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nazional Rooms is a comfortable hotel, located in the heart of Rome and just a few steps away from the Air Terminal, Opera house, S. Maria Maggiore Basilica, Colosseum, Via Veneto and Roman forum. Nazional Rooms offers its guests 8 soundproof rooms with private bath, color T.V, air conditioning and telephone. The rooms available are: single, double, triple or family version furnished en suite bath, minibar and air conditioning. elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Nazional Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazional Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing