We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not particularly clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Good points: breakfast was nice and good variety of food, good location for easy walking access to main attractions, helpful staff who look after your key when you go out for the day.40% off drinks in minibar.
Bad points: bathroom never smelt clean and had big black hairs stuck on the wall. Surfaces just wiped down rather than cleaned. Air conditioning in room was pathetic and was not cold enough. Noise from main road at night is quite loud.

Thank Amysayer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 948 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. It was about 7-10 minutes from the lepanto metro station which was great. The rooms were a bit out dated but still a bit big and fit both of us well. There is free wii but very annoying because daily you need get a new username and password (but it is free!) on our last night the hotel lost wifi and that was kind of an issue to us. We were going to Paris the next morning and still had something's to work out. We asked where the nearest wifi might be and the woman had nothing to say except 'in the city center'. We ended up finding it on some street corner on our way to the metro. Breakfast was pretty good I ate a lot of croissants and rice cakes with nutella. It wasnt too large of a selection. All in all it worked for our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenglish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hello there, hotties

This was the worst hotel experience my husband and I have ever had. We have been to our fair share of hotels throughout the years. In short, we were lied to, shunned, cheated, scammed, and left in a very uncomfortable emotional and physical state. We were victims of the LO.AN scam.

I have been dreading writing this review, as I have explained this story to so many people for various reasons (comedic relief, most recently) that I hope this won't frustrate me in spending more time talking about the Donna Laura Hotel. However, the review, I do believe, is necessary, mainly to prevent others from being in a similar dilemma. After a long day of traveling and a 40 euro cab ride (standard. this is relevant to my review), we were ready to go in a hot tub, relax, and get to bed early. You can imagine our surprise when were told that we would be having to relocate to another hotel, about a 15 minute drive away, a "sister hotel." Reason given for this was that the "water was not working on the first floor." Now, it should be noted, that we were hesitant about staying at this hotel in the first place, as they "offer" transportation for 45 euro. We found this out after booking our reservation. Anyone who can google or who has been to Rome before knows that it is a standard 40 euro fee from the airport to this part of Rome. While this left a bad taste in our mouths, because the hotel obviously is making a little bit of a profit from this, we had already made other plans based on this hotel's location so went through with confirming our reservation, a week before.
Moving on....so, after expressing frustration that we were being shipped to a 3 star hotel, from a 4 star hotel, with no mention of a refund, let alone an apology, we sat down to gather our mental bearings.

On a whim, I asked another guest, who was sitting in the couch over, if he happened to be staying on the first floor. He looked at me oddly, and then stated, "Yes, my room is on the first floor." When asked if his water was working okay, he said, "Of course." Now, we did not believe initially that the water wasn't working, we thought that the hotel overbooked and for some reason was using the water thing as a different excuse. Talking to this gentleman verified our speculation. When my husband and I confronted "guest services" Alassandro, then said 'that some of the first floor's water isn't working.' Right. Next lie. When asked directly, if the hotel we were being forced to go to had a hot tub (as this one did, which was one of the reasons we booked in the first place) or a swimming pool, he said yes. My husband asked this question again a few minutes later to receive additional reassurance, and of course the answer was yes. Alassandro kept saying, "They have all of the same services." Next lie. When asked, if we will be taken back to our planned hotel (down the street from Donna Laura) by a cab with no issues tomorrow late morning, we were told yes, of course. "Arrange that with the next hotel." Next lie. When asked (unfortunately we needed to ask several times) if he could directly arrange this himself with the next hotel so we could be assured this would actually happen with no issue, he said yes. Next lie. When we told him we were aware that these issues have happened many times with this particular hotel and hotel chain and that we knew they had overbooked, Alassandro said, "I have never heard of anything happening like this before." Next lie. When asked why people (several people) were able to check in after we were denied our attempt, he neglected answering the question and said a few times, "I can only tell you that our water is not working." Next lie. When told we do not believe him and that there is no reason that people should be checking in after us if the water is not working, he said they have already checked in. I will admit that my Italian is somewhat limited, and his English is a lot better than my Italian (this is the one compliment I will give him, as none of these things occured due to miscommunicatino errors, that is for sure). However, I did understand the checking in of several Italian guests. If one did not speak any Italian, at all, it would still be evident when people are checking in (i.e. handing in credit card).
With no warning from Alassandro, an unkown man, who turned out to be our cab driver, took our roller luggage which was behind us, outside of the hotel. We were not told who he was, and we basically felt forced to chase after the guy, after we realized he had walked out with our suitcase. Good schemes that they got going on at this hotel. Funny thing is that after talking a bit with the cab driver, he implied that taking people to another hotel [from the Donna Laura] is not that uncommon.

Upon checking into the next hotel, Villa Glori, you can imagine what a good laugh we had when there of course was no whirl pool as Alassandro said there would be, the room was tiny by European standards, and the staff was not apologetic or empathetic in the least bit. The frustrations we had with Villa Glori we can leave for another day and another review. As one can guess, our transportation the next day was not smooth sailing.

Room Tip: There's a good chance you won't get any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NoShameTurkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We thought the room was beautifully decorated, very clean and included a balcony at no extra charge, however the room was slightly smaller than we expected but did have lots of storage space so wasn't an issue. Dinner on the roof top was amazing such lovely veiws and the food was excellent, was a little pricey but well worth it. The location is a little far from the centre of Rome but the metro is only 5-10 minutes away (when you work out the short cut there) and to be honest you tend to catch the metro in Rome, so didn't find this any hassle at all. Supermarket is only 5 minutes away too, so you can stock up on water instead of paying over the nose for it in the city.
Our only criticism's would be that there wasn't any ironing facilities which we expected, which was very much needed when you've tried to squash every item of clothing into your suitcase lol. There also wasnt any tea/coffee making facility in bedroom which we were quite disppointed about, however there is a minibar, but like any minibar in a hotel it's very pricey. Breakfast wasn't too our taste either, being English we probably preferred a good old cooked breakfast instead it was very italian consisting of cakes,crossaints etc and scrambled egg that looked more like mush, would have preferred something a bit different each day and probably a bit more English. Juice wasn't fresh either and when requesting a coffee in Italy ask for a cafe latte otherwise you'll end up with warm milk which I did find quite amusing lol.We felt the staff were very friendly and helpful although their English wasn't particular good and they found it quite hard to understand us but thats to be slightly expected in a different country.
Overall we were very satisfied with our stay here, few minor improvements needed but would very much recommend it to others! :))

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniElle920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Overall an ok hotel. The building seems to be quite clean, the rooms were cleaned in a reasonable fashion and the AC was a big plus for a Italian hotel. The free breakfast was also ok, although the you would get bored of scrambled eggs after several days (we stayed for 7 nights). The saltiness of the eggs was also a concern. The pastry and coffee (you can also ask for cappuccino and they will bring it to you). The rooms have a mini bar and there is a supermarket a block away (very small even for European standards).

On the not so good side I would quote the service provided. We reserved the room well in advance and we clearly requested that our room be placed as high as possible and in a quiet area. Instead we were placed on the first floors with the windows facing the main road. The windows were ok, but still not a match to the traffic. Second we traveled with a 5 year old. We were charged additionally 25 euros per night for him, although he did not need an additional bed. What made it more frustrating was that the hotel staff agreed not to charge us when we communicated through email only then to state that they could not waive the "extra" fee when we arrived. The front desk person claimed to look into this and see if it can be waived, yet when we checked out the was no record of this discussion and the new front desk person suddenly started to know less and less English. We gave up and paid but will look at other hotels for our next trip.

Other minor things were the whirlpool not working in most days and the front desk's insistence of sending you to the subway station for both buses and subways when other options were also available closer (the local transportation agency - Atac - has pretty good travel tools). The subway is not far, and the area seems safe but when you can cut down on walking with a child you can try.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank stefanelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear Mrs <Stefanel> , first and foremost we do thank you for choosing the Donna Laura Palace for your stay in Rome. I've read your experience and apologize for the issue of the extra charge . Sometimes happens that some guys at the reception desk do not feel secure confirming anything without their manager because are not authorize to decide for things like this. We would like you to experience our usual kindness in future and host you again during your next trip in Italy . We would in fact feel more than happy to grant you no extra charge for your child for your reservation with us and a dinner offered by us at your arrival. Please feel free to contact us. I remain at your disposal and send you my Sincerest regards, Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We received a friendly welcome from staff with excellent English. Our room was clean and had all the necessities.
The breakfast each morning was very good. There was a large selection to choose from including cereals, fruit, pastries, cakes, meats and cheese, bread, cooked eggs and sausages or bacon and yogurts. Something for everyone.
Although we did not use the gym or sauna, we ventured in to have a look and everything looked well kept and clean.
The only downside is that the hotel is a little out of the way. About a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro. After a long day walking round Rome this final leg did seem a struggle.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rymarzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Mrs "Rymarzski" , thanks a million for writing us your experience with us. We allways try to do our best to make our guests feel like at home so your comments are a real satisfaction for the whole staff of Donna Laura Palace. Please contact us in case would yo decide to come back to Rome and we remain at your complete disposal! Greetings from Rome ;) Please accept my sincerest Regards, Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Nice, clean rooms with air-con and mini bar. Our room was in the 1 st floor with a nice view to a front garden facing the Tiber.
The location is not super good. It says is located in Trastevere but is not the central and well know area of Trastevere.
Greaaaaaaaaat breakfast!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaconiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#242 of 1,272 in Rome
793 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#358 of 1,272 in Rome
708 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Laetitia
#500 of 1,272 in Rome
145 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,474 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#232 of 1,272 in Rome
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Laura Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Laura Palace Hotel

Address: Lungotevere delle Armi 21, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
#107 Family Hotel in Rome
#131 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#312 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $67 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donna Laura Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace," a 4 star hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar . OUR ROOMS: With its 164 rooms the Hotel has got different room types to meet all guests' needs. The welcome is assured in comfortable single, double, twin and triple rooms, and for a more comfortable stay we can offer our suites. All our room types share the same attention for details and the warmth of green and brown colours of our furniture. All rooms have toilet en-suite, are classically furnished with wooden floor or carpet and are equipped with minibar, safe, heating and air conditioning system, flat screen TV with international channels, direct telephone line, hairdryer, desk, toilet amenities. If you travel for business purposes you'll be pleased to know connection is free for our guests. SERVICES The hotel offers several services to make your stay special :  The reception desk staff is at you complete disposal 24h a day for information and assistance. Our laundry service assures your clothes will be delivered back in 24h if required by 9.00 Am. Room service available everyday from 7.00 Am to 10.00 Pm and everyday free newspapers available for our guests. Our gymnasium is open from Monday to Sunday and it's free for our guests. The parking area is available inside the hotel with an extra charge..... And if you come for business purposes, our two Conference halls can sit up to a maximum of 70 people and are equipped with all modern audio-video devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donna Laura Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Laura Palace Rome
Hotel Donna Laura Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing