We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant room & dining, super clean - great FREE breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Ranked #232 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked this as we wanted to stay in a safe neighborhood with 2 gals traveling and closer proximity to Vatican (about 15-20 minute walk). It didn't disappoint. We took the train to Rome Termini and transferred to the red line metro to Lepanto station. Once there, it's about a 4-block easy walk. Check in is at 2pm so they held our luggage in a secured room until we could check in. Elevator was in good condition. Hotel was sparkling clean. Room, toilet and elevator were small but expected in central part of European cities. We took a look at the gym, spa tub and sauna downstairs... looked good. Don't forget in Rome, they just started a hotel tax in which guests are charge 3 euros PER PERSON/per day, not per room.
The breakfast was excellent - with eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, pastries, milk, coffee and great tea selection. DOWNSIDE - we could not turn on the AC as it was 'not in season' yet. It was muggy enough that we needed it. Also the room walls to the hallway were paper thin. Guests checking out early in the morning woke us up as they closed their doors and walked down the hall - it was as though they were in our room!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street as the main road is quite busy, especially on weekdays. Maybe cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuntgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 917 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

very nice hotel, good breakfast, it is pretty close to Vatican, close to Piaza del Popolo, on the Tiber River..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The donna laura palace is a 3 star hotel. Clean and modest. It doesn't have anything that will make your stay special. Old furniture and a mediocre concierge that could't speak english. I was supposed to stay 8 days with my 16 person family. When we got there we completely lost the feeling of being in a good hotel. The rooms were small and badly decorated. The smelled like javel. The big "suite" was composed of a sofa and a queen sized bed. When we saw this we packed up and went to the Westin Excelsior. That completely changed our stay. You can check out my review of the westin aswell. In overall this isn't a bad hotel but it sure isn't a good one.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livingthedreamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Having read some of the more recent reviews I was apprehensive - in fact a very positive experience in a modest but clean and utterly respectable hotel. It is a fair trot from the centre but as other reviewers point out, about 10 minutes from Lepanto and about the same from Piazza del Popolo and the bottom of the Borghese Gardens, so not exactly remote. Staff unfailingly courteous and helpful; breakfast buffet fine but make sure you ask them to make you fresh coffee rather than using the self-service machine, which is only one notch above what you can get in Kwik-Fit waiting for your tyre to be changed. Room was small but very clean and all that we needed for a weekend where we were going to spend most of the time out of it. It's not a four star hotel - more like a 3.5 - but the price we paid on Expedia was very low. I'd cheerfully return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SE27Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Congratulations to the staff at the Donna Laura Palace for making our first few hours in Rome so fantastically awful! Having travelled all day to get there, we were told that we were being moved to another hotel, because they had been "obliged" to give 12 customers their room back when the airline cancelled their flight. Now..... Thats complete and utter B.S. and we knew it, and the idiot on the desk knew that we knew it, but what could we do??
We were reassured that we were going just 5 minutes away to another hotel within the LO.AN group and was also 4 star. Well - 45 minutes later when we arrived at "Hotel Flemming" (a whole other review in itself!) it was most certainly NOT 4*. 2* would be being kind. We were reassured by our Donna Laura staff that we would have a taxi back the next day as soon as we wanted to return. This was, yet another, lie. The next day we were told we would have to wait 30 minutes for a minibus to take us over to the hotel. We kindly suggested they do as promised and get us a (paid for) taxi (when I say kindly suggested - I'm being "polite" - as were already a little upset at the way we'd been treated) and eventually a taxi was arranged.
When we got there - the little bell boy was all excited - telling us that his football team had come to stay at the hotel last night! Interesting........ 12 rooms "given up" to the imaginary travellers who's flight were cancelled, and conveniently - a football team comes to stay!!!!

Throughout our whole stay the staff on the desk were ignorant and rude and very clearly did not want us staying there. "It's a local hotel - for local people" (apologies to those who have not seen league of gentlemen!). They did the bare minimum they had to do to "help" us with any requests (ie a taxi) but no more then they had to do and NEVER a smile!

The rooms were average for a 3* hotel, small but reasonably comfortable. Once you have your bearings it's just a 15-20 min walk into Rome centre and the sights. There are plenty of reasonable restaurants in walking or short taxi distance - all of which are "off the beaten track" and better than the "tourist" places.

Anyway- was pleased to leave the hell-hole and won't be returning.
Will be suggesting Expedia remove this hotel from their British web-site.

Room Tip: Don't think you'll be given a choice. My best advice to choose a good room would be to go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank zekiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I secured a reservation here many months ago. Unfortunately upon arrival they informed me that they must give my room to some people whose flight was cancelled. They did arrange accommodation for me in a nearby hotel for the first night of a 7 night stay. That hotel was supposedly a 4 star hotel but was a bedbug infested hell hole (Grand Hotel Fleming). We then came back to the Donna Laura and were told by another member of staff that the football team was there yesterday (the real reason why we lost our room). The hotel gave me no discount and no apology and I even had to argue to get cab fare paid between the 2 hotels. They are liars and thieves. Avoid or the same may happen to you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Donna Laura Palace in Roma in the first weekend of September 2011 for work.
The hotel is located on the Lungotevere delle Armi,21 which is not far (8-10 minutes by foot) from the “Lepanto” underground stop.
Instead the downtown is not near by foot and you need a taxi or the underground.
My company booked a single room for only 67 euro per night, but normally the room is more expensive (more than 100 euro per night).
The hotel is a mix of modern and ancient furniture but the standard is high.
The breakfast is a buffet breakfast and there are a good selection of food.
The front desk staff is very friendly and you can ask information how to visit the city.
In conclusion: if you take an promotion is definitely a nice hotel … the only bad thing is that is not so near to the downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#217 of 1,269 in Rome
769 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#311 of 1,269 in Rome
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#224 of 1,269 in Rome
1,029 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#119 of 1,269 in Rome
898 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#237 of 1,269 in Rome
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Laura Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Laura Palace Hotel

Address: Lungotevere delle Armi 21, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
#132 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#158 Family Hotel in Rome
#312 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $88 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donna Laura Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace," a 4 star hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar . OUR ROOMS: With its 164 rooms the Hotel has got different room types to meet all guests' needs. The welcome is assured in comfortable single, double, twin and triple rooms, and for a more comfortable stay we can offer our suites. All our room types share the same attention for details and the warmth of green and brown colours of our furniture. All rooms have toilet en-suite, are classically furnished with wooden floor or carpet and are equipped with minibar, safe, heating and air conditioning system, flat screen TV with international channels, direct telephone line, hairdryer, desk, toilet amenities. If you travel for business purposes you'll be pleased to know connection is free for our guests. SERVICES The hotel offers several services to make your stay special :  The reception desk staff is at you complete disposal 24h a day for information and assistance. Our laundry service assures your clothes will be delivered back in 24h if required by 9.00 Am. Room service available everyday from 7.00 Am to 10.00 Pm and everyday free newspapers available for our guests. Our gymnasium is open from Monday to Sunday and it's free for our guests. The parking area is available inside the hotel with an extra charge..... And if you come for business purposes, our two Conference halls can sit up to a maximum of 70 people and are equipped with all modern audio-video devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Donna Laura Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Laura Palace Rome
Hotel Donna Laura Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing