We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a few days sightseeing if you want or don't mind being outside the centre.”
Review of ARS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ARS Hotel
Ranked #411 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stated with my wife 5th - 8th November for a sightseeing get away.

We usually look for a docklands hotel in London to be out if the noisy centre and keep price down so this was our Rome equivelant.

Great to be out if the rowdy centre of Rome and even though there is a 20 minute trip into town each day the bus service is fantastic and runs every 5 minutes through to 11:30pm and less frequent most of the night. It's good to see more if the suburbs and be amongst Romans on the bus.

Hotel is used for business and travellers alot and is simple, modern with all the mod cons, clean and spacious. Breakfast is all you could ask for of a continental buffet.

Great friendly service and front of house can't help enough if you ask!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arshotel, ARS HOTEL at ARS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Yerella,

we couldn't expect a nicer comment than yours. It is wonderful hearing that you had such a great time in our Hotel and that you enjoyed the quite position we are located in. As you well said, it is not difficult at all to get to Down Town by public transports that run frequently but at the same time it is enjoyable to chill out in a peacefull and relaxing Hotel once back from the crowded and noisy city center.

We really hope to host you again!

Thanks again and best regards,
ARS HOTEL MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for ARS Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 619 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in a double room here from the 3rd to the 4th January. We arrived in the evening and left at 8am the following day, so I can't really judge the accommodation. The room and bathroom were nice and clean, but somehow devoid of character. Breakfast could not be faulted. I expected the hotel to be better located, after reading some of the reviews, but it is still over 20 mins bus ride to the centre. If I had paid the rack rates I would have been sorely disappointed!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arshotel, ARS HOTEL at ARS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Nadette,

thanks a lot for your email and for choosing ARS HOTEL. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and appreciated the cleaness and nice atmosphere of our rooms. I can deduce from your comment that unfortunately you got stuck in traffic to get to Down Town as usually it takes less than 20 minutes to get there. I am sure that if you had had the chance to use transports more often, in case of a longer stay I mean, probably you wouldn't have had such a bad impression about the distance of our Hotel from the city center. Hopefully you will come back and change your mind!

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Kindest regards,
ARS HOTEL MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Ars Hotel from 27th to 30th December 2012. I had previously stayed here with friends years ago. I had remembered the hotel and was planning a surprise trip to Rome for my boyfriend so decided to have a look online to see if they had any special offers. As it turned out they had an amazing Christmas package which included 2 3-day Rome passes for public transport, 2 tickets for the open bus tour and 2 welcome drinks on arrival.

The hotel is a little out of the city but is easily accessible with the 90 bus which runs regularly to and from Termini Station. It is about €25 in a taxi from the city centre.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are very generously sized. The breakfast which was included had a good selection to set you up for a busy day in the city.

There is no restaurant in the hotel but the staff were able to recommend somewhere nearby and gave us a discount card. They also have snacks available in the small bar.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. The offer we got was just amazing value for the city and the fact that it is a little bit further away is not really a problem with frequently running buses.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank victoria_jamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 for my boyfriends birthday, although its a little out the way it is a really beautiful modern hotel. On request we received a jacuzzi bath, champagne and strawberries in our room which was a lovely addition. Breakfast was really good, lots of choice and all fresh. The only downside is you are a bus ride from the centre of Rome but on the plus side it means you leave early in the morning and come back late at night and spend the whole day exploring without the temptation to sneak back to the hotel for a nap or change of clothes - you get the most out of our day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just returned from a short break in Rome, Ars hotel was a little out of the centre €15 taxi ride, but well worth it when we arrived. Hotel is off a very narrow road, but after a few days in Italy they just don't have the same hang ups as we do when it comes to traffic? The hotel was a very pleasant surprise, both the staff and facilities were excellent although the plastic cups for the coffee were a little disappointing. The room was light and airy and very clean! I will certainly book there again - what better recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arshotel, ARS HOTEL at ARS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Lesley,

wow, what a fantastic comment! You made our days! We do our best to make the stay of our guests as much pleasant as possible and when we reach the goal we feel good!
Furthermore we dedicate to you a special thanks for providing such a detailed description of how to get to Bus Terminal in Termini Station and then to ARS HOTEL!
Your feedback is seriously priceless!

Thanks again and kindest regards,
ARS HOTEL MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

As someone wrote earlier the approach to this hotel will put you off, but once inside you will be pleasantly surprised. The contemporary feel on the inside definitely contradicts the atmosphere of the surrounding area. Mario greeted us at reception. If he doesn't like his job, he is good at hiding it. He was so helpful and pleasant as were all the staff but he stands out in my mind. We contacted the hotel weeks before our arrival mentioning that we were coming on a particularly special occasion and notes were made of this and evidenced in the room we were given.
Breakfast was great with a plethora of choices to suit even the most finicky (me).

If you're coming to the hotel via Termini, the (electric)90 bus is at the back of the bus stand. You won't see it for all the other buses unless you walk over there. Its one of the few green (in color) buses. Note: if you're coming from the UK people wait for others to get off a train or bus first before trying to board. Not so in Italy. They will bulldoze their way on. Also, if you arrive in the area between 9:30 and 11 a.m. don't expect to get a seat. This seems to be the commuters time. (Also, getting into St Peters Church outside the Vatican is best after 3 p.m.)

Food: Turn when you get to the bottom of the street turn right and go past the fuel station. At the light to your right there is Planet Pizza that serves cheap and tasty food. The proprietor is a nice guy from Morocco who makes amazing falafels. If you cross the road towards the park and follow the street around to your left there is an ice-cream establishment on the right that shouldn't be missed. And finally, if I told you that I went to Italy and tasted the best Chinese food of my life would you believe me? Again the area where this restaurant is nestled belies what rests behind its tainted exterior illuminated by bright neon lights. We couldn't believe that we had been given the correct directions, but just ask the nice lady who works in the evening about the Chinese restaurant with the fish tank and turtles. We chose 7 vegetarian items from the menu and paid just 19 euros. My wife raved about how good the soy sauce was. Everything was fantastic.

The Ars staff made all of this possible. If we're ever back in Rome, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I peaked inside the rooms when cleaners where in there. I don't think you can go wrong here.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afrosnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSHotelManagement, ARS HOTEL MANAGEMENT at ARS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Greetings from ARS HOTEL!

thanks a lot for taking your time to write a review on our Hotel..and what a nice review!
We are glad to hear about your satisfaction about our services and staff. Our mission is to do our best to make the stay of every single client of ours the best it could be, that's why reading your feedback made our day!
Furthermore, I would like to thank you in a special way for providing a detailed description of transports, nice restaurants and services you can find around here.. all the information you provided are very useful for our potential clients.
So, thanks twice:)

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Kindest regards,

ARS HOTEL MANAGEMENT
ROME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having read some excellent reviews about this hotel on Trip Advisor I was looking forward to staying. I have to say I felt rather let down when we arrived. We were travelling as a family of four and were given 2 neighbouring rooms in the basement of the hotel. One of them smelt distinctly damp. The rooms were fairly small and the bathrooms tiny. We looked out onto a plant covered brick wall and had to keep the blinds down all the time as rooms on higher floors could see right in. The beds were really hard. There did not seem to be many staff. The one receptionist was answering the phone, taking bookings and serving at the bar. The terrace looked like a nice place to sit but as we returned after dark each day we did not use it. The self service continental buffet breakfast was very good. The rooms have tea and coffee making facilities but no milk, there is a fridge. The hotel is in quite a busy area and there is some road noise from the rooms which disturbed my sleep. There are quite a few shops nearby where you can pick up drinks, snacks, bus tickets etc. We eat at an excellent restaurant nearby called Hostaria Menenio Agrippa where we had the best food and service of our entire trip to Italy.
We arrived in Rome by train to Termini and after eventually working out where to buy our bus tickets we located the no 90 bus to the hotel. We would have really struggled to know where to get off had a kind Italian gentleman not taken pity on us, as the bus does not announce the stops and it is impossible to tell which stop you have reached. The buses are really busy and it was a struggle with luggage, it is also quite a long journey (a good 25-30 minutes). Retuning to the Hotel at in the dark at night the following days it was really difficult to know where to get off, this time a nice lady helped us!
I would not stay here if I were to return to Rome, it is a very basic hotel a fair way out of the City. It is not terrible but there are better more convenient hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny.M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSHotelManagement, ars hotel management at ARS Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Penny,

Thanks for choosing ARS HOTEL for your stay in Rome and for taking your time for writing this review. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment for the rooms that were given to your family, what I don't understand is why you didn't ask the receptionists to change them as soon as you arrived. The point is that we believed to make you happy giving you two neighbouring rooms, we couldn't imagine that it would have been such a unpleasent choice. On another note, as you noticed, our rooms are provided with a fridge containing water, juices, cokes, oranges, beers and prosecco. you can also find tea, coffee and boiler (other than snacks chips and nuts). We prefer to not to put milk beacuse we believe it is better that our clients have it fresh all the times and it is enough to ask the receptionist for it (that's why he/she was very busy trying to satisfy all the clients' needs). Furthermore it is unfortunate that you couldn't see how it can be relaxing and pleasent having something to drink in our terrace after a day of tourism in the chaotic atmosphere of Rome, that's why a lot of people prefer our Hotel (25 mins away from down town but surrounded by green and for sure less noisy than the city center's ones). From your review I can understand that you didn't enjoy Rome in general, besides our Hotel. You are right, bus stops should be announced in the transports and buses should be more frequent. Nevertheless, there are a lot of fantastic monuments to see, good food and friendly people, In conclusion, if you ever will get back to rome, I hope you will have the chance to experience the nice aspects of our beautiful city (as well as the positive aspects of ARS HOTEL).
Thanks again for your time and best regards,

ARS HOTEL MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Artis
#400 of 1,267 in Rome
655 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
#298 of 1,267 in Rome
884 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#343 of 1,267 in Rome
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel American Palace EUR
#1,016 of 1,267 in Rome
1,365 reviews
Occidental Aurelia
#216 of 1,267 in Rome
1,138 reviews
Raganelli Hotel
#395 of 1,267 in Rome
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARS Hotel

Address: Via Monte Altissimo 20-24, 00141 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#222 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $82 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARS Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive Hotel will warmly greet you to a refined epoch structure in the residential area of Monte Sacro.The quiet location allows you to rest between meetings and conferences or to spend a pleasant holiday.The very luminous rooms are well furnished. We offer every type of modern comfort; air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, telephone, ADSL internet connection and safety locks. A solarium, a sports gym with steam showers, an interior car park, a meeting room, a snack bar and a reading lounge with a Lcd TV are also available.The Ars Hotel is located approx 15 minutes far from the Termini station and 5 minutes form the metro station Conca D'Oro. We provide a shuttle service to take you either to Fiumicino or Ciampino airports with an extra cost.The meeting room is available for 20 people and can be set up for an audience, in horseshoe-shape or for a conference. There is the possibility to organise half-day or full-day meetings with coffee breaks and a business breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ars Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing