We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, cozy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #589 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient location, cozy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

It's a old Rome building, the enviornment just like a bed and breakfast but it have room services and house keeping every day. I like the furniture and the decoratation, bed is ok. Shower room is really small, hardly get in if you're fat! no tooth paste and no shower gel. The breakfast lady is very nice, breakfast is continental, don't expect ham and egg. Overall, I like it the convenient location and the traditional old style and we feel cozy during our stay.

Room Tip: It's combined single bed for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    98
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
83
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We reserved the hotel after reading the spec as presented in the Hotel web-site by the owner (Dora), and she declare that all rooms are with central heating, and some of them have double bed (while the others have 2 separate beds).
We placed the order asking for a double bed, and stated that we are on our honeymoon.
As we arrived to the hotel we found out that the central heating is out of order, and that we have 2 separate beds. We asked Dora about it, and she explained that the central heating is on from 01.11.11, and that the hotel doesn't have double beds room, so it must be a mistake on the web-site...
We spent the night, freezing, and on 07:00 we were amazed to wake up to hammering and drilling sounds. When we went to the front desk to complain to Dora (the owner), she said there are renovations at the top floor and she can do nothing about it, and about the heating, she came up with an old radiator….
We tried to explain that if she would have mentioned the renovations, we would pick another place… she nodded, and said that it's "not a nice thing to write on the web-site"….
I said that all and all the place doesn't worth the price (similar to other hotels in the neighborhood), and she should move us to another room (though all rooms suffers from the noise as far as I understand and verify with other guests), or make us a discount considering the circumstances.
She refused, and promised to talk to the workers, and make sure the noise won't begin till 8:00 o'clock (AM) -I said that 08:00 o'clock on vacation is very early, trying to urged her to realize the problem depth.
The next morning we woke up to the same symphony, at approximately the same time (07:00).....

On the other hand, The hotel location is the best one can imagine (right at the Spanish stairs), and the staff working there is helpfull and kind (excluding the owner).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our second stay at the Hotel Suisse in Rome, Italy. My husband and I enjoyed this hotel experience. The location near the Spanish steps is very convenient to walk to all the local sights. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful especially Dora, the proprietor. We were able to check in early and were provided with information about the area and a map to assist with sightseeing.
The hotel has an elevator and in room continental breakfast.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Hotel Suisse was great value for money! The location was great, right behind the spanish steps. The room was comfortable, quite a good size. The bathroom was great, though the shower was tiny! The breakfast was average. The housekeeper brings it to your room each morning - freashly squeezed juice which is great and a basket of crossiants/toast. There was no internet in our room but there is in the lounge - though the connection is terrible! But that wasn't really an issue as we were there to explore ROMA.

As we checked out in the morning and our flight wasn't until the afternoon, the manager allowed us to shower in the bathroom off the hallway with no extra charge- which was great after spending the day in Rome's heat! Very kind.

All in all - we loved Hotel Suisse. See you again next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Suisse in Via Gregoriana many a times when I visit Rome. It's a family oriantated hotel at ideal location. The hotel in clean, the staff are extremely helpful can't ask for more. It's a hotel I recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiara64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our 25th wedding anniversary trip that we took in May of 2011. The hotel was located about a city block from the Spanish steps and in a small cobbled street, that looked like an alley, but most do. I felt safe in the hotel and they kept everything securely locked. The room was nice sized with 2 shuttered windows overlooking a garden area that was surrounded by other buildings, possibly apartments. We could hear these incredible sounding birds each morning and it was really kind of neat. The room itself was nice size, clean, hard bed with a 13 inch small old tv. I wasn't in Italy to watch tv so really could care less. The bathroom had a little shuttered balcony overlooking the same garden area. The shower is extremely small and I'm an average sized woman. I dropped my bar of soap and literally had to step out to pick it up. My hint of the day was to make sure the balcony doors are shut. The staff were very nice and breakfast your typical very small cappuccino, oj and croissant. There was this small jazz club next door that was really pretty cool. The night we went they had a small group of musicians that sounded and looked like they'd just stepped out of the 50's and were incredible. I thought the Spanish step area at night had a very carnival atmosphere and there were several nigerians trying to sell glow sticks, bouncing lite up balls and it was a little too much. The walking distance was not too far to get to the Presidents palace, Pantheon and Tevi Fountain. Basically you get what you pay for and when I go back to Rome I would pay the extra and stay in the Pantheon area. Full of musicians, outdoor restaurants, etc. It was really the neatest spot in my opinion for Rome tourists.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

It is a nice hotel in great and wonderful location to the Spanish steps. The room and bathroom are very clean. All The ladies staff are nice and cooperative specially the lady working in the kitchen is very hard working and responding to our request instantly. However, one of the receptionist is curious and asking many personal questions and asked us to leave our passports for completing the check-in but we asked him to complete this job to take our passports before checking-in. Hotel kindly accepted keeping our luggage in the Hotel's storage till our return back from other city. The hotel is secured with large wooden front door which is closing automatically at 8 pm and opened with a ring bill. You feel like home and we liked it. The breakfast good and fresh but it needs to add some more. The last night we checked-out early morning and we didn't get our breakfast in compare to other hotels which packed the breakfast for us.The lift is very small and slow. The walls need to be acoustically treated because you can hear every thing outside the room even the foot steps. All in all this hotel is great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourdream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Gregoriana
Hotel Gregoriana
#410 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#490 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#561 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#70 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#294 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#468 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: Via Gregoriana 54 | Near Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing