We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Banchi Vecchi
Ranked #2,610 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2006

My wife and I were wrapping up our honeymoon last spring. We had a flight out of Rome the morning of April 4th, and we trained it from Venice back to Rome the afternoon of April 3rd. We called Milena and alerted to her our late arrival, and she told us that she'd tape the key to the door! So friendly and trusting - very unexpected! We arrived there by taxi from Termini (10 euros?), and found the key and a note telling us welcom and which room we were in. The rooms are beautiful! Exposed wooden beams, terrific tiled floors, and huge bed. Though not the newest Sealy Posture Pedic mattress, it was fine for us. the room was immaculate as was the marbled bathroom. Loved the blackout shutters as well. In the AM, our ride to the airport was early, so we had to rush to check out. Newton was working the office downstairs and we paid him on departure - 144 euros. Location was pretty good if my memory serves me correctly. We only had 1 night there, and looking back, we should have stayed there when we first got to Rome. If and when we go back, we'll try and stay here for all our time in Rome!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2005

Well worth trying - we arrived having been collected by a car organised by Milena. Slightly nervous on arrival but after experiencing the circular lift and Milena's hospitality started to relax!! The room (No 2) - yes it is very dark and the bed very uncomfortable and the street incredibly noisy - especially on Saturday night when half of Rome seemed to be partying outside our window!!! Needless to say an excellent location, delicious room delivered breakfast and wonderful to be able to make coffee and hot chocolate on the little stove top!! The area is absolutely perfect and so pretty with wonderful shops within a 2 minute walk - bought most of my Christmas presents just in the area alone!! Experienced some wonderful meals, also within walking distance and having been an avid fan of Paris which we visit at least three times a year (partly because of the convenience of Eurostar from London) I am now totally hooked on Rome and cant wait to return. Whilst a little more luxury would be great I think, at the end of the day the BV would be our choice again if not just because of the price and perfect location.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatham24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2005

Rome was the first stop on our trip to Italy this past October. We were nervous about finding the B&B, however, after leaving the airport, we were able to find a shuttle into the city by where you would take the train into the city (worth every euro...only 20 euro/pp). Our driver was able to locate the B&B, and even walked us up to the door. I was a little hesitant from the short walk from the main street down the cobblestone alley to the front door, but the B&B was simply wonderful! We were greeted by Milena, who was very helpful with giving us some ideas on where to eat and where to go. It was good to have seen her the first day, because that was the only time we did see her. She showed us up to our room....via an elevator - very uncommon in Italy. Granted, the elevator could barely fit my husband, myself, and our suitecases...but it saved us from lugging them up the stairs. You'll like that feature if you tend to overpack like me.

The room was very clean, looked exactly like the pictures on the B&B's website, and faced Via Banchi Vecchi. There was a lot of street noise from all of the mopeds driving by during the day, but at night it was very quiet. We liked its close proximity to the Vatican City, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, and Campo di Fiori. We liked Trastevere, and would have gone there more, but it's about a 40 minute walk from the B&B.

The first morning that we used our breakfast coupons, we were a little confused as to which coffee bar we were supposed to go to, since there was no name on the coupon Milena gave us. However, after one wrong stop we made our way to the right one... There are only a couple coffee/breakfast stops that it could have been. You just tell the guy at the cash register that you want to use the coupons, have a seat, and they bring you the latte and pastries. We left a couple Euros as a tip, but no one else seemed to be doing that.

The only thing that didn't work in our room was our little mini fridge. We had some water in there that never did get below room temp.

There's also a restaurant directly across from the B&B, but there's no sign with its name, no hours, and no menu...but it was busy every night, and smelled delicious. Overall this B&B is a bargain in price for both quality and location to the top Roman tourist stops.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mmbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2005

I was a little nervous about staying at a Bed and Breakfast on my first trip to Rome, but everything was great. Only problem was street noise from some construction, but that wasnt the hotels fault. Really nice rooms, super clean and big with a great bathroom and comfortable beds (and the pillows were fine). I agree with the other review about the bath temperature. It seems like the tub itself zaps all the heat out of the water. Excellent value. Location is great. Quick walk to campo and Navona areas as well as trastevere, vatican etc. Buses are very easy and right around the corner. I stayed at another cheap hotel and it was nowhere near as nice.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goingtoROMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2005

Stayed here July 14 and 15. Booked 2 rooms. Place was a little difficult for limo driver and people in the store at 115 were not at all helpful yet they had to know what we were looking for, considering their back door opens into the building entry as well. Anyway Newton was available to let us in when we did find it. Cute building. Has an elevator. Rooms basic, but clean. Wooden beamed ceilings. Pillows need replacing tho, thin and worn. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was very well appointed, towels plentiful. Little hotplate for tea. Breakfast at a cafe next door. Basic continental , it was fine for us. On the Sat. morning Newton served breakfast in the room which was much better. Bigger cups of cappucino and the croissants were nicer. Location is good. Walking distance to Vatican, P.Navona, Trevi, Spanish Steps and we had our 2 kids with us.Really we have no complaints. Rate was 125 euros per room per night. Expensive by Canadian standards for the calibre of hotel but cheap and well worth it by Roman standards. I would rate it equivalent to a 2 star in Canada. The ideal would have been if it was a little closer to P. Navona but then we have had to pay much more. We also stayed at Residenza Canali (will post a review), but of the 2 Banchii Vecchi was a better value for money in terms of accomodations provided.

Stayed: July 2005
4  Thank Sungirlxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2005

What can i say? The rooms of this Bed and breakfast were really great!! Very clean, spacious, with very nice furniture... i really liked them!!
Of course i can't say that 140€ for a b&b is a real bargain but... this is Rome! And in comparison to mediocre hotels in higher prices i would definitely stay there again!
The only downside was the area. It's very close to Campo dei Fiori and 5-10min walk to Piazza Navona, but i can't say that it's my favorite part of Rome. It was my second trip there and i definitely prefer the Pantheon Area or even the Spanish Steps. But if you want to stay in that part of Rome, then i would definitely recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cristina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2005

This was a great little find! A small, quaint bed and breakfast in a very central area of Rome. It is located off a small side street that is a little hard to find. Once we got there, we loved it! Our room was large and spacious and was cleaned thoroughly each day. We walked everywhere from here-Colesseum, Forum, Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Vatican and only took a taxi to and from the train station on our way into and out of town. There are numerous restaurants/wine bars nearby to choose from and also some good shopping areas. Be sure to try Blue Ice Gelato in the Camp di Fiori!! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and had a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KYHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#230 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Banchi Vecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Banchi Vecchi

Address: Via dei Banchi Vecchi, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,610 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais Banchi Vecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Banchi Vecchi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing