We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, with little annoyances”
Review of Antiqua Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiqua Roma
Ranked #1,257 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I booked this hotel the day before we flew out. Enrico, was excellent about emailing me (very quickly), about directions and what not. It was very easy to find. The room was a good size and had the charm of an Italian apartment. The shower in the bathroom was tiny, and I'm 5foot2inches and 110 pounds! But from what I have heard, that seems to be the norm for showers in Rome. There does seem to be a lot of street noise though, but I never had problems falling asleep after a long day of sightseeing. It may just be thin walls, because I could even hear a guy sneeze from 2 floors down. The location was very safe, maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the Spanish Steps metro stop. The best thing was the free WiFi, free use of the guidebooks, and Enrico's kindness and enthusiasm for making our visit the best.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great location with a very nice and friendly owner. The service lady was also very helpful through our visit. Bathroom was separate from the room. We did not opt for the breakfast since there was a nice little cafe right next door that served fresh breakfast. The room was large and well decorated. Had a shared computer for internet access. Reasonably priced for Rome

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank AnuP2D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I found Antiqua Roma to be the best value for a good quality B&B at a good location. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews talk about the noise on the street at night, but I found it to be extremely quiet, except for the recycling trucks that come by early in the morning, we didn’t hear anything. The location is ideal if you don’t mind walking. If not, there is a couple of bus stops very close and the nearest subway stop is at the Spanish Steps, about 15-20 minutes away by foot. When you walk out of the B&B, you have your choice of 3 directions depending on where you want to go. There are two bridges close, both less than 5 minutes walk, that take you to the most popular destinations. To get to the Vatican is very easy, it’s about 10 minutes away. The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, and the Spanish Steps are about a 20 minute walk, with the Colosseum and Trastevere area about 30 minutes walk. I bought the Roma Pass at the airport and didn’t use it to it’s full potential. I took the subway to the train station to pick up a car once and took the subway to the Colosseum once, and walked back. I took a taxi from the train station upon arrival and it cost me Euro 35,00 and it took about 15 minutes in traffic.

The Building has an elevator and we had no problem getting our large suitcases and duffels up to the room. Enrico met us at the top of the elevator and showed us to our room. We arrived early in the morning and our room was ready for us already which was nice.

We got the room without the insuite bath. The room was large, plenty of places to put suitcases and duffels with plenty of room to walk around, and has a sink, which is nice to be able to get ready without leaving the room. The bathroom is down the hall and private. There really isn’t a common area and we only saw one other couple in the hallway the entire time we where there. The room had a large double bed with a canopy and there was a small bottle of wine waiting for us. The fixtures were modern and there were plenty of places to plug in cellphones, laptops, etc. We stayed 3 nights in late June and it was very hot in Rome. There is no A/C in the room, but there is a fan and we were comfortable. I get hot easily and don’t sleep well when it’s hot and I was fine. There is free Wi-Fi but it was a very weak signal in the room. We were down the hall however, other rooms are probably a bit better, and there is a small desk in the hallway in an area with good reception.

Tip: book your Vatican tour with www.angeltours.com We loved them. Small groups, no headset.

I would highly recommend this place for travelers who like the freedom of walking to their destinations and are looking for a good value in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FoolishBurrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We want to thank Antiquaroma very much for our stay in Rome in April and in particular for the extra free night because of cancelled flights back home for volcano erupted.
When we picked a place to stay in Rome during our first visit there, we searched for location and price, after having searched the net a for long time for adequate B&B, we took a chance on AntiquaRoma and the place met - by far - all our expectations for a good, nice, convenient and safe place to stay!!!!
We have spoken highly about AntiquaRoma to friends after our return home
and we certainly know where to stay next time in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OBbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We want to thank Antiquaroma very much for our stay in Rome in April and in particular for the extra free night because of cancelled flights back home for volcano erupted.
When we picked a place to stay in Rome during our first visit there, we searched for location and price, after having searched the net a for long time for adequate B&B, we took a chance on AntiquaRoma and the place met - by far - all our expectations for a good, nice, convenient and safe place to stay!!!!
We have spoken highly about AntiquaRoma to friends after our return home
and we certainly know where to stay next time in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The apartment was well maintained, with a live in house keeper. This was useful when picking up the keys, as there is usually someone in.

The hotel is tasteful and well presented, with unique pieces of art and antiques.

The surrounding area was quiet, very central and felt safe at night. On google maps ‘street view’ the road and surrounding buildings look like they are undergoing repair works. However, I was glad to see, this is not the case anymore.

I had picked this hotel as people on trip andvior had raved about how helpful Enrico was. They weren't exaggerating. We visited during the week that the Icelandic volcano erupted and Enrico was very helpful and supported us finding new travel arrangements and printing new tickets, without charge. We also made use of the hotels free (but slow) internet connection. Enrico also has perfect English.

I had been worried about staying at apartments and B&Bs over hotels before this trip. I took it as a leap of faith. However, this hotel/apartment was a really good experience. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stalbotDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We had a lovely stay at this pension in Rome. It is clean and comfortable and close enough to walk to many of the attractions in Rome. The bathroom is out in the hallway rather than in the room itself but that was never a problem (I think we had the bathroom to ourselves because the other rooms also seemed to have their own bathrooms in the hallway). The owner is very helpful and gives you tips about what to see etc.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANSSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiqua Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiqua Roma

Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 17, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,257 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $73 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and comfortable accommodation located in a strategic position in the heart of the city, walking distance to all the most important monuments (S. Peter, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna , Pantheon) restaurants, elegant shops, banks and theatres. The rooms are elegant and attractive individually designed, with or without private bathroom, are decorated with a mix of antique and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antiqua Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiqua Roma Rome
Antiqua Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing