We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and location”
Review of Antiqua Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antiqua Roma
Ranked #1,121 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Antiqua Roma is in a great location close to the river and within walking distance of a lot of sights (and with good bus links to them if you're lazy). Free wifi and helpful advice from the owner, the only let down was that there was no air con and it was a little noisy at night - but we were so tired from the experience of Rome that it didn't matter!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spetharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Antiqua Roma is a great little pad for exploring Rome. It's location, about 15min walk to the Vatican and 15mins walk into the main sights around Piazza Navona and the central area is great and means you can stop back for quick break before heading back out for dinner after a day sightseeing - something we found really beneficial.
The bedroom was lovely and really clean, as was the shared bathroom - though we never saw or heard any of the other guests, even though all four bedrooms were full.
Enrico was helpful, spoke good English and allowed us to leave our luggage at Antiqua after check-out on the last day which was really useful as we weren't leaving Rome until the evening.
Breakfast isn't included but this really isn't a problem as there are loads of nice cafes nearby to grab something on your way out in the morning for 5 - 10 euros.
Overall, for the price and location we thought it was good vlaue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schmooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Antiqua Roma is a lovely little Bed and Breakfast-style place situated between the ancient city centre and the Vatican. It's perfectly located for walking around Rome and is also well served by buses at the adjacent Piazza Cavour. The room we had was small but very clean. Enrico, our host, was most helpful and helped make our 4 day stay in Rome the best it could be ..... Wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willie1foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the front-end of our honeymoon. We arrived late in the evening and the woman welcoming us spoke little English, but the salient points were easily understood. Our room was one with a private bathroom and a small (shared) balcony. The beds are firm, as typical is most all Italian hotels. The bathroom is clean and functional. Breakfast is not included, but there are many options to eat in this area, including a nice cafe just below the hotel. A nice touch is WiFi and a shared laptop you can use in case you don't have your own device. There is also a hairdryer, TV, and well-appointed treatments, such as art, furniture, etc. The hotel owner (Enrico) speaks perfect English and is there most mornings. He can answer any questions you might have and is very helpful.

Since Rome is full of scooters, even though this hotel is on a small side street the noise from loud scooters and traffic may bother you if you are a light sleeper, especially if you are there on a weekend night and sleep with the door open (it seals noise out very well). Otherwise, it isn't a concern.

Why not 5 stars? A bit noisy due to street noise. Also, the hardwood floors mean you will probably hear other guests (or they may hear you) talking, walking in hard soled shoes, etc.

I would certainly stay at this location again when visiting Rome. It is a perfect location in a nice, safe neighborhood and is easily walkable to most everything while being reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RyanDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

As the other reviews point out, the location of this small "bed and no breakfast" is awesome (within easy walking distance of many of the main sites in Rome). It can get a little noisy with the street noise at night so if you're a super light sleeper you may want to look elsewhere (for me and my partner, it was really no problem). Our room had its own bathroom, was spacious and clean. The decor in our room was on the odd and wacky side (a melange of old school and modern circa early 80s chrome), but again we're not picky (but if you want that boutique look with a coherent design esthetic then go elsewhere). The "hotel" is also located on the second floor of an older office-style building (which further adds to the oddness vibe). There is free wifi only available in the hall near the router. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in May. We booked through their homepage, and the communication between us and the landlord was very good. He sent us information regarding the easiest way from the airport (the bus stops only five minutes away), and informed us when the bus stop had been moved and how we could reach the apartment. There were no problems finding the location.

The building is very old, but looks great with it's small elevator with funny doors in tree. The apartment is huge, and our room bigger than most European hotel rooms. The room is cozy with lots of pictures from Rome, the bed was big but do not excpect it to be soft! The bathroom was tiled, and the shower had slightly bad pressure when I assume everybody else was taking a shower too. Most times it was an average shower, but better than many hotels I've been to. There's no aircon and we didn't have a fan so it could probably get very hot in the summer.

The location was perfect. It's a short walk from the city centre, and we never even considered to use a taxi or bus to get anywhere. It's close to the Vatican, which is a plus if you're considering a visit, get there early! The apartment isn't in a buzzing area with loads of bars, it's quiet and nice, but you can find a restaurant around every corner. We went to one which serves Danish (!) meat, and it was beyond anything meat I've ever eaten before. Sorry to say I don't remember the name.

We never met anyone else who rented a room, even if all the rooms were rented out. It's a very different feeling than being in a hotel. The host was really friendly and helpful. Overall - a really good stay and if we were ever to visit Rome again, we would strongly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Perfect location walking distance to the most importants places of the city.
The room was absolute clean and well decorated.
A place really convenient and nice, direct connected to Airport.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#447 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#226 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiqua Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiqua Roma

Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 17, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,121 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $75 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and comfortable accommodation located in a strategic position in the heart of the city, walking distance to all the most important monuments (S. Peter, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna , Pantheon) restaurants, elegant shops, banks and theatres. The rooms are elegant and attractive individually designed, with or without private bathroom, are decorated with a mix of antique and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antiqua Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiqua Roma Rome
Antiqua Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing