We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place oozes charm and coziness, we loved it!”
Review of Antiqua Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antiqua Roma
Ranked #1,123 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This place oozes charm and coziness, we loved it!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved Antiqua Roma! This was our first time in Italy (my first time in Europe period) and I have never stayed in a B&B so I was a little skeptical. But all the hotels I looked at were pretty pricey and this place had great reviews so we decided to just go for it. It was everything we could have asked for. It's like a little apartment. The entire place was spotless and beautifully decorated. And the owner Enrico was the best! He was very hospitable and helpful throughout our whole stay. The room was ample size for both us plus all of our luggage. But the real treat was the balcony! (I think only the rooms with the private bathroom have this) Inside the room there are these huge doors that open up to a beautiful stone balcony overlooking the street. Even though you can't see a ton, I just loved it so much. We drank our wine out there every night we stayed. Not too mention, this place is the perfect location to walk to all the major attractions in Rome. There are also buses, taxis and the shuttle to the airport right around the corner. We couldn't have asked for more. No question, we will definitely return to Antiqua Roma next time we're in Rome!

The only things I can suggest to make this place better is having a refrigerator and coffeemaker for guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BKSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
85
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This is a terrific place to stay. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. We had an external bathroom and didn't even mind. The manager Enrico was so nice and extremely helpful; he suggested a number of great neighborhood restaurants so we were able to avoid the tourist traps. The location is really convenient and pleasant--2 minute walk to the river and walkable to most of the tourist sites,although some--like the Colosseum take a bit longer . The neighborhood is not touristy and very pleasant. Also, there is a very convenient bus from the airport that dropped us off 2 minutes from the hotel and was less expensive than the train from Termini station. All in all we felt that this was a great value and a wonderful place to stay. We will certainly come back next time we visit Rome

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaeliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My partner and I went to Rome for her 30th birthday. We were a little concerned being a same sex couple staying in a double room within the vatican area, but we were made very welcome.
It felt like we were staying in someone's home, with lots of italian artefacts, paintings, books (which you could borrow). It was beautifully simple, yet authentic. The landlord, Enrico, was incredibly friendly, lending us a plug socket which allowed us to use our british gadgets and went out of his way to ensure we had all that we needed.
He made my partner's day when we returned to the B&B on the eve of her birthday to discover a little card and small birthday present along with a bottle of wine and cork screw. We were both really touched by his kindness. He made our stay in rome very special. We shall certainly return again.
Although there was no breakfast at the B&B literally the next building along was a cafe which served international breakfast for 8 euros which included coissant, scrambled eggs/ omlette and two coffees. We felt well set to go after that!!
The location is great..... to the right you make your way to the vatican and to the left to the bridge which takes you to the centre. It felt very safe at night walking home and everywhere you look (up) you see the most beautiful buildings and where ever you are heading to you often accidentally stumble across a beautiful fountain, statue or building.
My partner's birthday was brilliant in rome and was made extra special by Antiqua Roma..... so thank you very much... and we shall see you again
Hannah and Bex
xxx

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HannahandBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

My husband & I stayed at AntiquaRoma for 2 nights. Our room comes with a private bathroom that is outside of our room along the corridor. I am actually not very comfortable with this setup but I choose this B&B anyway, due to its location since we will only be in Rome for such a short duration. Room size is decent, with a miniscule TV, wifi & a sink.
The location is excellent, within walking distance to all major spots. The only hassle we had was when we first arrived in Rome from termini station but it might be due to me who choosed took Bus # 492 instead of bus #70 as advised by Enrico. Other than the 1 Euro per pax spent on this bus trip to the B&B, my husband & I walked to all spots since we do not want to spend time waiting for buses / metro.
There is a bus shuttle that goes directly to Fumicino Airport (about 5 mins walks from B&B, 8 Euros per pax). Took about 1 hour to reach from B&B to airport, since traffic was pretty jam at 8:30am..
Enrico has a vast collection of rome guides books at the hall & the maps provided were helpful. My husband is a avid MU football fans, so we went to a underground Irish pub, near theater Adriano (10 mins walk) to watch the quarter finals for Champions League.
All in all, I can find no fault with this B&B. Enrico was curteous and helpful with all our questions. He even waived the newly implemented room tax & gave us a farewell gift. Oh there is a quaint lift so if you have large luggages such as ours, it will be no problem..except for th 4-5 steps to the B&B's ground apartment "lobby".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank koo_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This really is a great spot that is within walking distance of just about everything you'd want to see. It was very warm and comfortable to come back to after a long day. The people were nice, although not overly helpful when we had questions. One of the days was pouring down rain and we were soaked. We asked if there was a dryer in the building we could use or one nearby but we didn't get any help. The location is great and overall the pictures on the website don't show how cozy it is. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This is definitely the place to stay in if you are planning for a trip to Rome. Reasons?
1) Safe Neighbourhood - it's near to Vatican City. If you are paranoid about safety and a lazy traveller like us who love checking out St Pietro at night but too darn lazy to take a bus/metro to get back to the hotel, this is a good place for you. You can snap pictures all you want at St Pietro, feel the precious-breezy-holy moment, enjoy the atmosphere, buy some hot dogs along the way and get home safe and happy. We are girls by the way.

2) Good rate - The double room is at a reasonable rate, spacious, uniquely Rome nice and most importantly, it's neat and CLEAN!! and I love the toilet. :) I am very particular about toilets. Sucky toilet is a definite no-no for me. And and... :) they make up your room everyday. Yay! :)

3) Great host - Enrique is friendly, very efficient and one English speaking dude. He showed us the map on where to go ,how to go and how long it takes to get to a place. And oh, he's very generous as well. If your stay falls on your birthday you will get a complimentary champagne bottle by surprise. :) :) Nice naw? And he gives us free map! Double Yay!

4) Internet - It's nice to feel connected to the cyber world for FREE! :) In our other stays in Paris, Florence, etc, we have to pay to get connected. :( So it feels like home when you can check your Facebook every now and then. In fact, that's what we do every night at Antiqua Roma -- yes we are paranoids and have no life. :P

We are missing Antiqua Roma already... cheesy it may sound but it's the truth. We love coming back to our room early every night because it gives us this sense of cosiness and chillaxness. Would definitely recommend this to anyone and come back for sure.

God bless.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tweenfounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I booked this hotel the day before we flew out. Enrico, was excellent about emailing me (very quickly), about directions and what not. It was very easy to find. The room was a good size and had the charm of an Italian apartment. The shower in the bathroom was tiny, and I'm 5foot2inches and 110 pounds! But from what I have heard, that seems to be the norm for showers in Rome. There does seem to be a lot of street noise though, but I never had problems falling asleep after a long day of sightseeing. It may just be thin walls, because I could even hear a guy sneeze from 2 floors down. The location was very safe, maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the Spanish Steps metro stop. The best thing was the free WiFi, free use of the guidebooks, and Enrico's kindness and enthusiasm for making our visit the best.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#340 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Prati
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#916 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Prati
Atlantis Inn Roma
Atlantis Inn Roma
#650 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Ara Pacis Inn
Ara Pacis Inn
#402 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Prati
Residenza Roma
Residenza Roma
#707 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Prati
Alangia' Inn
Alangia' Inn
#1,343 of 3,619 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiqua Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiqua Roma

Property: Antiqua Roma
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 17, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,123 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and comfortable accommodation located in a strategic position in the heart of the city, walking distance to all the most important monuments (S. Peter, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna , Pantheon) restaurants, elegant shops, banks and theatres. The rooms are elegant and attractive individually designed, with or without private bathroom, are decorated with a mix of antique and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Antiqua Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiqua Roma Rome
Antiqua Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing