We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Bocca della Verita
from $91.70
More Info
from $168.60
More Info
Rome Segway Tour
1,248 Reviews
from $77.40
More Info
Reviews (1,607)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
140
178
120
39
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
178
120
39
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman holiday mouth of truth audrey hepburn santa maria in cosmedin gregory peck lie detector small donation drain cover st valentine circus maximus quick photo small church photo opportunity huge queue nice walk take photos ancient roman
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bocca de la Verita is situated in Piazza della Bocca della Verita, on the west bank of Tiber River, accessible by a lot of buses - station Greca, or by metro - station Circo Massimo.
The Mask is performed in white marble, and is located on the external wall of the church Santa Maria in Cosmedin.
The Mask represent Oceanus, with holes in the eyes, nose and mouth.
This Mask became famous because a sequence from movie "Roman Holiday", with Audrey Hepburn and Gregory Peck. They told about the legend of the Mask - if you put the hand in the mouth of the Mask, and you tell a lie, the hand will be cut.
I recommend a visit here.

1  Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an old sewer cover but very famous from the film. I didn't put my hand inside, I like my fingers too much! It was a fun thing to see and the queues aren't too long first thing in the morning.

Thank Brenda_Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Located somewhat near to the Colosseum, it can be visited after strolling through Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatino. It is near the street, but after 17:30 the gate which protects it is closed and can be viewed only from outside the fence.

Thank Norbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice and interesting, although the queue might be a bit long.
Try getting there early, before the crowds.

Thank Akivz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Entrance to the Santa Maria in Cosmedin church it a bit of fun. It’s a photo op with the kids or a loved one, placing their hands in the Bocca della Verità. After you’re done you can venture into the small church. If you go early or late in the day the lines are shorter. It’s free but you can donate something if you like.

Thank hayles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are visiting Circus Maximus, this is just around the corner. Lines are shorter early/late in the day. It is in the entrance to a church but is well organised. It is donation only at your own discretion, there is a chap who keeps the line moving and will happily take your photos, with a fun attitude to the whole thing. They have a little cover up for you to put on as you exit through the beautiful church too. Well worth a quick visit.

Thank spanner74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

And that's because it's just one piece of art attached to a church - everyone comes here for a picture with their hand inside the "mouth of truth." (Of course - us too). You'll probably have to wait in line for about 45-60 minutes (during a week day in May). But if you've seen "Roman Holiday" (or "Only You"), then you get what this is all about.

Thank Mike16Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

No matter how touristy this is, it is always worth the time to visit and get the iconic picture. What is do like is now there is a 'guard' at the site that ensures people in front of you don't take up 15 minutes of posed pictures. The guard wasn't there on our last visit (3 years ago) and a group of 5 of front did take that long. Also, the church itself is now open and part of the tour (no cost). Of course, what will give you a chuckle is that the 'mouth of truth' apprears to have originally been a drain cover LOL. Regardless, it think that they took the time to craft such a carved face for a drain cover makes it more interesting.

Thank krmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Since watching the movie, Roman Holiday, always wanted to see this attraction. It did not fail to impress. Located on the portico of the little church. We arrived about 10 minutes before opening time. There were only two people in the queue.About two minutes to opening time a tour bus arrived. The tour guide and tourists absolutely swamped us and took over. We got in last lol, but it was worth it, we got our pictures with hands in the mouth eventually. So if in Rome add to the sights to see. Then watch Gregory Peck in Roman Holiday.

Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

My daughter and I are big Roman Holiday fans, so we had to visit this site. Plan for a long wait but after testing you luck in the mouth, visit the chapel inside to cool off and contemplate - women your knees and shoulders must be covered. There is also a nice gift shop.

Thank amw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews