We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place, good ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heart Of Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heart Of Rome
Ranked #236 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place, good ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I and my hubby spent the first week of 2013 in Rome. We had a pleasant stay here for 5 days. The place is in the city, at walking distance to the Vatican. The service is great. And the rooms are clean with good ambience and excellent breakfast. The staff is extremely helpful.Will suggest this accommodation for anyone planning to visit Rome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swatish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    70
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
96
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Rome, 23rd - 26th November. Travelling as a couple in our twenties sightseeing.
This B&B is not the easiest to find and our taxi driver wasn't familiar with it so make sure you have the address from your confirmation to hand. It is based on the 4th floor (I think) of a tall building. I believe there are only 4 rooms which are all off of the main room containing the reception area and breakfast area.
Rooms were clean and tidy with all amenities. Bathroom facilities also good.
The staff here were very very helpful. They gave us a map and talked us through how to get places and where things were. They walked us down to the local bus stop and taxi rank and explained the best way to get to different places. They also lent us an umbrella as we had an entire day of heavy rain! They also booked some tickets for us so we wouldnt be caught in queues.
Breakfast was adequate, toast, cereals, eggs, pastries and cold meats and between 7:30am - 10:30am.
Location very good, a 10 minute bus ride to main attractions and St Peters Square is about a 20 minute walk if you fancied it. The restaurant at the very bottom of the hotel (accessed through another entrance) is definitely worth a visit. I believe it's called La Vela or something similar.
Overall a very nice stay. My only qualm was that all of the rooms are so close to the reception area and breakfast area that a lie in is definitely not guaranteed. Also, we found the connecting walls between rooms were so thin that you could often hear other guests, not what we really wanted at midnight before a day of sightseeing but also not the B&Bs fault or something that they could easily rectify.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This review is late but better late than never...My husband and I visited the establishment in June and we were very satisfied with it.
Firstly, breakfast provided here was adequate with delicious cappuccino and wonderful pastries. The room we stayed in was clean and adequate and the bnb owners were very helpful to go the extra mile to make our stay comfy like telling us the buses to catch to town etc.
Location is not exactly central so it takes a while to get to the main attractions , bus waiting time can be quite a drag...
Also, our room was facing the road so it got a bit noisy at times.
Overall, for the price we paid during the peak season, we did not regret our choice. My husband was very impressed with the personable and friendly service offered by the BNB owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the heart of Rome. It was super clean we had a nice modern room with large balcony. Friendly owners who helped us pointing the best restaurants (risky point nearby; great pizzas!) arranged transport to the airport and gave always a smile and hello. Its a bit outside the city center but we actually liked to escape from the tourists for a while..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Heart of Rome for only a night and honestly didn't want to leave. It was one the most comfortable stays we've had in a while. Everything was super clean, modern and comfortable. It's close to public transport (a bus stop right in front) which takes you straight into the city centre. Breakfast was great. A variety of cereals, fruit, pastries, toast, cheeses and meats. Fresh brewed coffee as well as cappacino/latte made on the spot for you. Free hi-speed wi-fi, Rome travel books available to read. And a huge supermarket right across the road, and great inexpensive cafe's and restaurants nearby offering happy hour deal. Everything was great. It was also a bonus that both the 2 lovely gentlemen who I assume are the owners spoke good English and helped us out alot.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to the Heart of Rome for one week at the beginning of September.
First of all, the service was really individualized. Each day one of the boys who own the B&B was there to take care of us and they did it very well. We appreciated their good mood. Of course they were not available all day as in a hotel because they had things to do but it wasn't a problem because we only needed them in the morning. They gave us advice for our visits and restaurants and sometimes made the reservations for us. We had a problem with a blocked shower and they changed our room to satisfy us. Their first priority was our satisfaction.
The location was good. The buses were 2 minutes walk from the B&B and they take you to the city center in about 15-20 minutes and 10 minutes to the Vaticano.
They only negative thing about the public transports was that we were not able to access the B&B after midnight because there were no more buses.
The room was clean. We had the chance to have a room with terrace which was pleasant to have breakfast. It was really quiet excepted that we had a few times the phone ringing loud at the reception when we were sleeping. There was enough space for us in the room. The beds were clean too but it was two single beds put together instead of a king size bed. The wifi was working well. Something really uncommon in hotel and B&Bs: the two cleaning ladies, who cleaned the room perfectly and were always smiling.
Breakfast was good. There was a little bit of everything: toasts, marmelade, cheese, ham, croissants, corn flakes. When we asked for fresh fruits they brought us apples and peaches the next day.
Finally, we found that we had a right price-quality ratio.
We entirely recommend this place for young couples!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrExigeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our first time to visit Rome and was not to sure how to go about staying there with costs and all. So selected by help from TripAdvisor " We selected the B&B named "The heart of Rome" as not directly in the old part of Rome but yet not right outside the heart of the city. So this reflected on the price to stay, etc.

Rome its self is a beautiful city full of charm and delight and I have to say that so does the "The heart of Rome". This is a B&B and not a hotel and so is more rustic and basic, more what you expect a local to live like (when in Rome so to speak). The rooms are fresh, clean and modern and the local area is safe. The guys that run it are a complete joy.

As my title states any trip being work and rest is about the lasting experience and we came away with memories of a wonderful visit and meet some fantastic people and we both look forward to returning to Rome and more so "The heart of Rome" in the furture.

Pros-
Price - B&B prices you will get anywhere in Europe considering your in Rome.
Placement - short bus ride or easy sunny walk to most attractions
Accommodation - Clean, fresh, modern and safe
The team of guys who run it. Outstanding gentleman in a rip off age to any visitor in a new place . They could not do enough for us. So helpful, so polite and such good fun. A real major bonus over other places to stay I am sure.
Walk around the direct neighborhood. City living and some fantastic shops.
Well priced supermarket across the road
Good restaurant below the B&B.
The quality of the coffee which every time you walked into the B&B you were offered. Loved it!
Your not in the old city so you can get away from the crowds and high costs.

Cons-
Not directly in the old part of Rome - but you don't need to be. Very easy to get around
Traffic noise - good and bad really, as you are directly in a city. We live in a very quiet town so it was a load on the senses.But all fun of city life.
Food - The breakfast was basic and maybe room for improvement, each to their own.
The football teams the guys support (Roma and S.S. Lazio). Everyone knows AC Milan is the best football team in Italy. Come on Charlton - up the reds!

I finish by stating you will have a great stay here and save your money for other things to spend on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mad-dog4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Star of Rome
#28 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Love of Rome
#408 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Vatican Holiday
#232 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#166 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart Of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart Of Rome

Property: Heart Of Rome
Address: Piazza Pio XI 78, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart Of Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of Rome Hotel is a bed and breakfast in the centre of Rome, close to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican and in front of the largest public park in Rome, Villa Doria Pamphili.Rome, with its great history and its wonderful monuments, is the ideal place for both business travelers and tourists.Heart of Rome B&B is located in a strategic central position, allowing you to move easily through the city and reach the main interest point. We're just a few minutes from the Vatican and St. Peter Cathedral. Our location is one of the main transportation hub of the city (13 bus lines stop near us). In front of our B&B there is a taxi station and we are within walking distance from subway Line A of Cipro Vatican Museums, Valle Aurelia and Baldo degli Ubaldi.Our rooms are designed to offer all the comforts and facilities you need to have a perfect tour of the city.In addition to a modern and functional furniture each room has: Air Conditioning, Electronic Safety Deposit Box Free, Minibar, 32 "LCD TV, Private Bathroom with Hairdryer.The entire B&B is covered by Wi-fi and in our Hall there is a PC connected to Internet h24 a day. Included in the price you also have: breakfast served in your room, large private terraces and daily cleaning conducted by qualified personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heart Of Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing