We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Rome!”
Review of Old Kitchen B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Kitchen B&B
Ranked #226 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
1 review
“The best place to stay in Rome!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Old Kitchen b&b is like a modern appartment in a typical ancient building in Rome.
When we arrived Simone, the host, gave us a lot of info about places to see, busses and metro. That was very helpfull. The Vatican is very nearby, 5 minutes from the b&b. Also the metrostation was very close, it brings you to all the  places you want to see in minutes.
Our room was very stylish, well equiped and clean. Also the bathroom had everything we needed. Breakfast was good, just take whatever you need out of the refrigerator. There are many restaurants in the neighbourhood, so you're never hungry...
The b&b is perfect for young couples who want to see Rome in a few days.
We want to thank Simone for his great hospitality!

Kind regards Tessa and Pieter-Jan

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pieter-Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
67
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at Old Kitchen B&B for 2 nights while visiting Rome for a week-end and really enjoyed it.
The apartment is located in a typical apartment building with an inside courtyard. It is clean and confortable. The kitchen is available freely to guests and has everything you need, especially for breakfast. The room was quite big and the bathroom well arranged. You can ask for air conditioning as an option if needed.
Also, Simone provided us if useful information about the city when we arrived.
The B&B's location is very convenient to visit the city. It is is situated very close to the metro station named Ottaviano on the red line, within walking distance of the Vatican (10-15 min from Piazza San Pietro or the Vatican Museums).
And they charge a reasonnable price for the room so do not hesitate !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilimalisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Rome. Simone is a very helpful and gracious host who took time to explain bus routes and so on. It was a pleasant evening stroll home from the old town or a shortish bus route/metro ride during the heat of the day. The diy breakfast was good - flexible and simple. The coffee machine is great. The beds are comfortable. The furnishings light and modern. If you want to eat locally I would recommend Piacere Molise - short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The owner contacted us a day or so before our visit and gave us some very useful directions to the apartment from the main bus station where we arrived. After a short metro trip and about a five minute walk we found the apartment easy enough. It was in a quiet street with a selection of grocery stores nearby. There are a few restaurants nearby which are worth visiting and are not expensive.This apartment is a perfect location if you want to visit the Vatican which is only a short walk away. You probably could walk to alot of the historical sites in about 45 to 60 minutes but a bus or metro will help save some energy.

The apartment is on the fourth floor but it is served by an elevator which is of the older variety but very safe. We checked into a double bedroom overlooking the street which did not have an en-suite but had a great Private Bathroom 5 seconds down the corridor.(The bathroom serving this room is only for the guests staying in this particular room.

The apartment is spotless through out and very well kept.We paid an extra 5 Euros a night for air conditioning - we needed it as we are from Edinburgh.It was only 30 degrees in Rome for the few days we were there. The A/C unit needs to be turned off if you want to sleep - it is a modern unit and will keep you as cool as you want but will keep you from sleeping.

The Kitchen area is very cosy - it has a small table for two by the window and another small sitting area in the Kitchen which has a coffee table and sofa. The name of the apartment is "The Old Kitchen" but the Kitchen is not old and has all the essentials for making a small meal.

The owners stock up the fridge every day for the next days breakfast. There is milk, juices. cheese and maybe fruit in the large fridge, which you can keep your own shopping in if you like.Cereal, Bread and various biscuits/breakfast buns are also provided along with tea and coffee. The coffee machine is great. The kitchen can be a bit warm but you are in Rome afterall. The water from the tap is drinkable of course - Rome has great water and is in great supply for free throughout the city.

The bed was comfordable and had a TV with lots of local stations.The spacious bedroom also had a sitting area near the window which was good if you wanted to eat alone. Like the rest of the apartment it was very clean and modern.

The owners did not stay overnight in the apartment but did come over every day to make sure the place was kept to a very high standard. We enjoyed their company during their very short visits and they were very helpful with any tourist type questions.

We would stay at " The Old Kitchen again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TOMMMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Brilliant location and very easy to find on a quiet street just around the corner from the Vatican. The owners were very helpful and gave brilliant advice and restaurant recommendations. The room was comfortable, modern and spotlessly clean. Ensuite with fantastic shower. Air conditioning €5/ngt. Breakfast plentiful and fridge always well stocked! Excellent restaurants nearby especially island of pizza-very popular with locals. Would highly recommend this b&b as its fantastic value for such a great room so close to all the sites of Rome. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We were delighted to spend 3 nights at the Old Kitchen B&B. We were a family of 6 and a family of 3 and took up three of the four rooms. With 6 children, we didnt know such a comfortable place existed! Simone and Annettee made us feel welcome and immediately comfortable. Simone's orienting us to the city and his tips were all valuable! We easily walked to the metro from the b&b and saved a lot of money on transport. Easy! By the way...don't miss Della Palma gelato near the Pantheon! Simone isn't a gelato fan, so he didn't recommend this place. Whenever we go to Rome, this place is where we'll stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Me and my parents have stayed at Old Kitchen for 5 days and we really love everything here! Modern, clean, cozy! The hosts are very nice and attentive. Feels like you know them for many years! Thanks a lot for everything and good luck with your business!!! Grazie mille! Dzienkuemy bardzo! :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zephiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Passenger Vatican Relais
#359 of 3,643 in Rome
76 reviews
Prati
Scipione B&B
Scipione B&B
#670 of 3,643 in Rome
74 reviews
Prati
Twice B&B
Twice B&B
#322 of 3,643 in Rome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arches Inn
#893 of 3,643 in Rome
32 reviews
Prati
Federici Guest House
Federici Guest House
#353 of 3,643 in Rome
202 reviews
Prati
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kitchen B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kitchen B&B

Property: Old Kitchen B&B
Address: Via degli Scipioni 121, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Kitchen is a design Bed & Breakfast located at a few metres from the Vatican City, on the top floor of a 1888 building with elevator. We are 100 metres away from metro stop Ottaviano-San Pietro, Line A All rooms with the view, furnished of all comforts, private bathroom, Air Conditioning, TV lcd. The kitchen instead overlooks a tipical balcony of the beginning of the XX century that looks out on the central courtiard, where also the entrance of the b&b is located Free breakfast and internet wi-fi. Luggage deposit availableCommon areas and the kitchen are spacious and comfortable, ideal to organize your sightseeing and make special your holiday in the Eternal CityAnnette and Simone will help you with information and curiosities to visit Rome. Welcome to Old Kitchen B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Kitchen B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing