We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for the Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rex-Tours The Rome Experience

Rex-Tours The Rome Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.72*
and up
Rome City Segway Tour
Ranked #3 of 154 Outdoor Activities in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer unique, entertaining and joyful Segway Tours in Rome. Discover Rome with a certified Chef on a Segway and get to know all the fascinanting stories about the roman gluttony. Not to forget the delicious lunch which will delight all your senses.You can also enjoy the heart of Trastevere with all its charming places, especially by night.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience for the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family had a wonderful time yesterday in Rome with Rex tours. "Maximus" spent plenty of time training us on the Segway and preparing us for what to expect on the sidewalks and roads of Rome. He was funny, engaging and highly professional. He also ensured that we went at a speed that was comfortable for all parties involved. We saw some great sites and heard some interesting stories but to be honest, I enjoyed riding the Segway more than anything. They are so much fun. Lots of waves and smiles from the locals as you pass by. I was particularly impressed with the way Max handled a couple of crazies who began screaming at us because they thought we had gotten too close to them. It was quite bizarre and had the locals laughing as he calmly listened to their ten minute rant. These two were obviously having a bad day. Nevertheless, a great time was had by all.
TIPS: You won't need bottled water. It's provided. Bring cash - it might get you a discount. There is a bag on each Segway to hold your goodies. Bring your camera and ask Max to take a photo of you. He takes a great shot. Wear comfortable shoes and sunglasses.
Highly recommended. Thanks Max.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oztravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Segway Tour EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have had experience with Segway Tours in Seattle and Washington DC and have always really enjoyed ourselves. However, the tour we had in Rome with Leopoldo Marroni was second to none! Leo was professional and very fun. He took us to areas that we would have never seen if we were on foot. We covered a lot of ground in our 4 hour Segway tour of Ancient Rome. Would highly recommend this to anyone!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottandMaddy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just do this, it is fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We did the 3 hour night tour at the end of a rather frenetic first day. Max was our tour guide and was brilliant. He had a great sense of humour and superb knowledge of the city. After a quick lesson on using the segways we were off. We went round the Jewish ghetto, the Colusseum, a floodlight view of the Roman Forum and an amazing view 'through the keyhole' of St Peters.
I am a 40+ Lady with balance issues, however Max not only showed great faith in me, helped me, made me feel relaxed and made the whole trip so very special. Everything was brilliant and if you think you would like to do this, but its maybe a little to much. GO FOR IT. They will look after you and you will love every second. REX tours every city should have one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helzbethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ganei tiqwa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We are taking Segway tours in every important European city we visit and it's the best (and most fun) way to see the major sites.
We took REX׳s City Tour which was one of the best tours we took!
Max was very informative, interesting and charming. He also gave us excellent tips for the rest of our visit in Rome. Thanks!! It was great!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Absotively, Posilutely, Fabtastically Fantabulous!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from an awesome 25th Anniversary Tour of London, Paris and Rome. Of course, we did all the usual sights and activities one might expect to do in Europe's most iconic locations; Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle, Musee du Louvre, Eiffel Tower, St Peter's Bascillica and the Sistine Chapel. We even had a special vows renewal ceremony in the Jardins des Notre Dame on our actual anniversary! It was like London was the sterling silver platter, Paris the cake and Rome the sweet delicious icing. But, the real "WOW factor" that makes any cake unique and special is the final decorative touches of fruits, candies and floral designs the baker applies to make it "one-of-a-kind". The "WOW factor" for our entire two week journey through history was the Rex Tours "Rome in a Day" Segway experience!

We easily booked the tour online for our first day in Rome with the simple intention of getting a feel for the Eternal City and its geographic layout in relation to our lodgings. We got that and soooooo much more than we expected! Our morning group consisted of ourselves, a nice couple from Chicago, two fun loving blokes from Australia and our "fabtastically, fantabulous" guide . . . 'MAX'. He alone, of all the various guides we had throughout the entire trip, proved to be definitely "one-of-a-kind"! From giving instructions regarding safety and operation of the Segway to the attention he paid to each person in the group, he was very impressive. But, what impressed us the most was his passion for what he does, the city in which he does it and his natural ability to impart that passion to his clients so that you come away from the experience with something upon which you simply cannot put a price!

After the morning session and an "oh sooooooo delicious" lunch (included in the tour), my wife and I were fortunate to have Max all to ourselves for another session of exposure to his overflowing passion for Rome and its history from ancient times to the present day. During this session was when we began to really experience the beginning of our own passion for Rome. So much so that we have decided to make visiting Italy an "annual anniversary" tradition for as long as possible.
We have already begun making plans to go back next September and the Rex Tours Segway experience will be at the top of the list for the first day of our stay again! The Culinary Tour appears to be wonderfully delightful!

If you want to have a lot fun on a modern chariot (waving and "yoo-hooing" as you zip by all the souls that sadly chose the open top bus, taking pictures of you while they are stuck in traffic) and connect with your own passion for this truly unique city and its people, we can honestly recommend the Rex Tours "Rome in a Day" Segway experience. It is definitely worth every euro, and then some. Don't worry about whether you can ride a Segway. Take it from this fun loving, sixty year youngster with rhuematoid arthritis, it will "absotively posilutely" be a 'piece of cake'!

Helpful?
2 Thank JohBren
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Rex-Tours The Rome Experience also viewed

 

Been to Rex-Tours The Rome Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing