We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to save money on buying cheap concrete matresses”
Review of Relais Giulia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Giulia
Ranked #128 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“How to save money on buying cheap concrete matresses”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

To start with the positive points:
- the location is good, in Centro Storico on one of the main cobblestone roads
- the building is beautiful, a renovated monastery, rooms are really beautiful, nice jacuzzi in the bigger rooms.

Negative points:
- no wellness, no fitness, but therefor it is a boutique hotel
- the main issue however is the mattrass, the bed contains a 10 euro mattrass which is just as solid as the tile floor the bed stands on. Unbelievable how a hotel can try to save money on this (they are not only cheap, you do not need to change them ever, since they are rock solid and never get too soft) and still claim to be 4 star. For people with sensitive backs it is plain impossible to catch any sleep in this hotel.
Worst of it all however is that after complaining about it we were told that other guests like these concrete mattresses, and finally, after telling the desk manager that we are obliged to change to another hotel (Sofitel, see my review there) because I am unable to catch any sleep at all, we are not given any refund at all, not even a percentage.
Shame on you, for calling yourself a four star boutique hotel and trying to save money on providing these cheap matresses for your clients.

If you have a sensitive back, stay away from this place, if you can endure concrete matresses then this might be a nice hotel since it looks really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank amsterdampassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICOLE G, Direttore generale at Relais Giulia, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
first of all we thank you for your comment as we think that any suggestion is important to grow up.
We have never advertised any wellness or fitness corner; so we were surprised to read that you expected something like that.
We guarantee that our mattress are very expensive (their invoice may prove that), they are high quality and bought from the most important company operating on the Italian mattress market; they are new as we bought them just last April, when our Relais opened.
Lots of our guest appreciate our mattress so much to ask us how to get them.
We were sorry that you didn’t like them but we know that is not always possible to meet guests needs in the same way.
Concerning you request to be refund you missed to write that you booked a discounted, prepaid and not refundable reservation and you left our hotel only two days before your departure; all that condition make very complicated to manage any refund.

Thanks for your comment as we had the opportunity to clarify all your doubts.

Nicole Gelfusa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    65
    15
    1
    7
See reviews for
45
173
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

stayed here back in Oct, loved our stay here very central to everything all tourist spots are in walking distance lovely hotel! staff very friendly and helpful and time of the day, breafast room is in -1 level is on the small side but apart from that good selection on offer, waiter in breakfast room very quick with service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Perfect hotel.... Old building in a typical small street, very well designed, reasonable size rooms (we stayed in standard room, which was most probably one of the small rooms) but even this room is ok.room was ver clean, it is a new hotel as far as we understand but due to the decoration it can always be kept clean and at good condition. Location is closer to Vatican part, not very close to Spanish stairs but even that side of the city is easily approachable by taxi or bus in five minutes or walking. The ladies in the reception are very helpful, at our first arrival my husband was a bit disapointed when he understand that we are a bit far from Spanish stairs where he stayed before and loved. But the lady in the reception was very helpful and explained on the map how we can go to key locations, this was perfect. We consulted to the receptionists many times to find a restaurant or other places, they were very helpful at all times. Breakfast was reasonable also. service at breakfast was well, the waiter remembers what each people drink every morning that was a nice detail. Overall service was perfect also, it is the staff, people that makes a difference in this business,, even if you may have invested millions, you may not be successfull without people. Congragulation to the management. this was our third visit to Rome we will definitely not stay at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fefeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We almost didnt want to write a review so we could keep this place as secret as possible!

The hotel is ideally located along an upmarket cobbled street, nestled amongst art galleries and boutiques, you are off the main hub of noise but can reach any of the main Rome sites on foot within 5-10 minutes.

The owner has done a wonderful job in rennovating the property, he has the decor and amenties perfectly balanced with a jacuzzi bath in the room to ease the tired limbs from walking - perhaps more importantly he has made sure he has employed the right staff - nothing was too much for them and they always went that extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay with them.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel with a special mention to Suite3 which has a balcony overlooking the street.

Without a doubt we would return to this hotel next time we return to Rome and thank all the staff for making our experience even more special.

Room Tip: Room S3 has a lovely little balcony on which to people watch and soak up the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my husband arrived today to Relais Giulia. We booked and paid months ago. We asked for an early check in months ago (we are going to spend 3 days after a long cruise). We didnt get the early check in. The lady in front desk was not very friendlyy the way. We had to leave and come back in the afternoon even more tired than before, only to find this room is almost a closet!!. Our cabin in the ship looked like a stadium compared to this! If we opened one of our suitcases, we couldnt walk. The room has only two feet between the bed and the wall. No more. And no lights whatsoever. No way you can see a thing in this room, or read, put on make up or anything that needs a little light. but worst of all is that the shower floor was clogged and it took me an hour just to wash my hair, because I had to wait for a minute or two for the water to leave, every time I opened the shower for 5 seconds... amazing! My husband went to the front desk to ask them to fix this and they didnt care at all! They said there is nothing they can do today!!!! I feel so furstrated because I feel that since they already have my money (almost 700 dollars for three nights) they are not interested in giving a good service anymore or anything else. Only thing I can do for now is share my experience and hope nobody else will have to feel the way I am feeling. I will keep posting about this hotel, and will share pictures. My mail is leilaroldan@gmail.com just in case you need to know more.

Room Tip: Dont pay in advance!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaRoldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICOLE G, Direttore at Relais Giulia, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are really sorry for that inconvenience but we need to clarify some points.

When you booked you asked for an early check-in; when is possible we are glad to offer that but If the room is still occupied we cannot force the guest still in house to leave the room earlier than his check-out time.

You booked a standard room and the room you assigned was the regular size for a standard room; anyway the day of your check-in we could not make any change as we were fully booked unfortunately; the day after we offered you to move to another room but you refused as you preferred to keep your room; so it seemed to us that finally you liked to stay in that room.

Regarding to the hydraulic problem our staff promptly called the technician and the problem was solved in the same day. The staff excused for that inconvenience offering you a bottle of sparkling wine and a basket fruit (that you liked).

If all that was not enough to show you how much we look after to our guest we are looking forward to welcome you again at our Relais to show you even more how much attention and care we have for all our guest!!

Nicole Gelfusa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The sign of a good hotel is what they do when something goes wrong.

I booked in July for a trip in October. I booked for three nights using an online payment engine, then quickly realized I needed to add an extra night which I booked directly through the hotel. On arrival had three great nights and was then informed I needed to move rooms. Pretty obvious that it is an automated booking system that allocates rooms to bookings and that they had simply forgotten the extra night. This meant moving rooms for the 4th night (and not to a better room!!!). While I could get pretty excited about the inconvience, the staff immediately recognised the mistake, dealt with it, left champagne and chocolates in the room and were clearly very sincerely trying to fix the problem. Nicole and the second lady on the front desk (my apologies for not remembering her name) turned an irritating situation into one that was easily dealt with and as a result they deserve a five star rating - there are many good hotels but not many with staff as good as this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimDearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I always pick boutique hotels and this place is the reason why. It feels like you're in your own apartment because it's so secluded from the main street. You can't hear a sound outside and it's located perfectly to the main attractions. The rooms are small, but it's Italy! The staff is friendly and rooms are clean. I'd recommend this to my friends!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkc202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#176 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Rome River Inn
Rome River Inn
#60 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#30 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#49 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Giulia

Property: Relais Giulia
Address: Via Giulia 93, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Giulia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring stuccoed walls and an ancient cloister, Relais Giulia offers elegant rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. It is a 5-minute walk from Campo de' Fiori Market and Piazza Navona Square. Designed by Italian architects Christian Rocchi and Danilo Maglio, rooms at the Giulia Relais come with ultra-modern furnishings, luxury fabrics and LCD TVs. They all include a private bathroom. A generous Italian breakfast is served each morning and includes croissants, savoury food, hot beverages and juices. The lively Trastevere district, with its cafes, restaurants and shops, is just a stroll away. The Trevi Fountain and Saint Peter's Square are both a pleasant 10-minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Giulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing