We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location to Explore Rome”
Review of Relais Giulia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Giulia
Ranked #142 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location to Explore Rome”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We almost didnt want to write a review so we could keep this place as secret as possible!

The hotel is ideally located along an upmarket cobbled street, nestled amongst art galleries and boutiques, you are off the main hub of noise but can reach any of the main Rome sites on foot within 5-10 minutes.

The owner has done a wonderful job in rennovating the property, he has the decor and amenties perfectly balanced with a jacuzzi bath in the room to ease the tired limbs from walking - perhaps more importantly he has made sure he has employed the right staff - nothing was too much for them and they always went that extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay with them.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel with a special mention to Suite3 which has a balcony overlooking the street.

Without a doubt we would return to this hotel next time we return to Rome and thank all the staff for making our experience even more special.

Room Tip: Room S3 has a lovely little balcony on which to people watch and soak up the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    66
    15
    1
    7
See reviews for
45
176
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my husband arrived today to Relais Giulia. We booked and paid months ago. We asked for an early check in months ago (we are going to spend 3 days after a long cruise). We didnt get the early check in. The lady in front desk was not very friendlyy the way. We had to leave and come back in the afternoon even more tired than before, only to find this room is almost a closet!!. Our cabin in the ship looked like a stadium compared to this! If we opened one of our suitcases, we couldnt walk. The room has only two feet between the bed and the wall. No more. And no lights whatsoever. No way you can see a thing in this room, or read, put on make up or anything that needs a little light. but worst of all is that the shower floor was clogged and it took me an hour just to wash my hair, because I had to wait for a minute or two for the water to leave, every time I opened the shower for 5 seconds... amazing! My husband went to the front desk to ask them to fix this and they didnt care at all! They said there is nothing they can do today!!!! I feel so furstrated because I feel that since they already have my money (almost 700 dollars for three nights) they are not interested in giving a good service anymore or anything else. Only thing I can do for now is share my experience and hope nobody else will have to feel the way I am feeling. I will keep posting about this hotel, and will share pictures. My mail is leilaroldan@gmail.com just in case you need to know more.

Room Tip: Dont pay in advance!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaRoldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICOLE G, Direttore at Relais Giulia, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are really sorry for that inconvenience but we need to clarify some points.

When you booked you asked for an early check-in; when is possible we are glad to offer that but If the room is still occupied we cannot force the guest still in house to leave the room earlier than his check-out time.

You booked a standard room and the room you assigned was the regular size for a standard room; anyway the day of your check-in we could not make any change as we were fully booked unfortunately; the day after we offered you to move to another room but you refused as you preferred to keep your room; so it seemed to us that finally you liked to stay in that room.

Regarding to the hydraulic problem our staff promptly called the technician and the problem was solved in the same day. The staff excused for that inconvenience offering you a bottle of sparkling wine and a basket fruit (that you liked).

If all that was not enough to show you how much we look after to our guest we are looking forward to welcome you again at our Relais to show you even more how much attention and care we have for all our guest!!

Nicole Gelfusa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The sign of a good hotel is what they do when something goes wrong.

I booked in July for a trip in October. I booked for three nights using an online payment engine, then quickly realized I needed to add an extra night which I booked directly through the hotel. On arrival had three great nights and was then informed I needed to move rooms. Pretty obvious that it is an automated booking system that allocates rooms to bookings and that they had simply forgotten the extra night. This meant moving rooms for the 4th night (and not to a better room!!!). While I could get pretty excited about the inconvience, the staff immediately recognised the mistake, dealt with it, left champagne and chocolates in the room and were clearly very sincerely trying to fix the problem. Nicole and the second lady on the front desk (my apologies for not remembering her name) turned an irritating situation into one that was easily dealt with and as a result they deserve a five star rating - there are many good hotels but not many with staff as good as this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimDearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I always pick boutique hotels and this place is the reason why. It feels like you're in your own apartment because it's so secluded from the main street. You can't hear a sound outside and it's located perfectly to the main attractions. The rooms are small, but it's Italy! The staff is friendly and rooms are clean. I'd recommend this to my friends!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkc202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We had 5 nights at the Relais Giulia and it was the most fabulous hidden surprise in Rome! Rooms are even more beautiful than Internet pics- even had a private balcony!!!! Location was divine- down medieval cobbled street and close to so many wonderful shops and restaurants! Staff were divine and couldn't do enough for us- room maintained immaculately! Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broninrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This small contemporary hotel is of very high standard and situated in the very heart of Rome. I booked it on the recommendations of fellow travellers and the 2 night stay with my girlfriend was superb. From the very helpful and friendly reception staff, to the excellent well laid out double room with air con, it made our city break all the better. The continental breakfast was excellent and set us up nicely for our walks to all the sightseeing Rome has to offer and all very much within a short distance from the hotel. There are two fabulous restaurants around the corner of the hotel in Piazza Sforza Cesarini which are well worth a visit and i can only recommend highly.
Without a doubt upon our next visit back to Rome, this will be the place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Even the double rooms which are slightly small but compact are very adquate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnyonefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

An amazing hotel in a fabulous location.
One for the discerning traveller who doesn't 'follow the crowd'.
Relaxing ambience, small and intimate and full of character.
It's a boutique B&B only, however, there are numerous restaurants within easy walking distance.

The hotel is excellently maintained, extremely clean and with wonderful staff who are always available, giving service with a smile.
Would not hesitate to return to this hotel and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning1J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#441 of 1,256 in Rome
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dom Hotel Roma
Dom Hotel Roma
#333 of 1,256 in Rome
249 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#26 of 3,643 in Rome
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Giulia

Property: Relais Giulia
Address: Via Giulia 93, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Giulia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring stuccoed walls and an ancient cloister, Relais Giulia offers elegant rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. It is a 5-minute walk from Campo de' Fiori Market and Piazza Navona Square. Designed by Italian architects Christian Rocchi and Danilo Maglio, rooms at the Giulia Relais come with ultra-modern furnishings, luxury fabrics and LCD TVs. They all include a private bathroom. A generous Italian breakfast is served each morning and includes croissants, savoury food, hot beverages and juices. The lively Trastevere district, with its cafes, restaurants and shops, is just a stroll away. The Trevi Fountain and Saint Peter's Square are both a pleasant 10-minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Giulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing