We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but nothing terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
Ranked #1,089 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2005

Rooms were very clean. Breakfast area was very crowded, and there weren't many people staying at hotel. Breakfast items were very basic compared to other locations we visited during our Italy trip.

At night, when you visit the in-suite bathroom, I found it very impractical, as there was no night-light, and you had to turn on the light outside the bathroom, then step up a large step, to get in to the bathroom. A night light would have been very helpful. Our party had 2 rooms, and this was a challenge with both rooms. Also, there were no English speaking stations on the TV. When you're in your room, TV can be a nice way to wind down.

The location was not easy to find, but that may be Rome. We were there 4 days, and never found it easy to navigate back to our hotel.

The staff was pleasant, but I don't think this was an exceptional property and would look to find an alternate place to stay next time.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 169 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Queensland Australia
215
Reviewed November 23, 2005

After reading glowing reviews on Tripadvisor we booked and stayed for 4 nights in October at Il Piccolo di piazza di Spagna in Rome and were very disappointed. The first night was spent in a tiny room with a pokey bathroom, hard bed and very noisy. Next morning we were moved to another, larger room with a balcony only to find after settling in that it only had a hand held shower over a bath, without any screen - very difficult to shower without flooding the room. Decided not to ask for another move and spent 3 very uncomfortable nights in another rock hard bed. No street noise but voices and plumbing noises very clear through the walls from adjoining rooms. Very inadequate breakfast served in an alcove which seated maximum of 6 people at a time. The staff were helpful when asked. The location was good but after walking many kilometres sightseeing, the most important thing is a good shower and comfortable bed and this hotel just didn't measure up - did not deserve 3 star rating and I would not recommend it or stay there again

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2005

My wife and I used this hotel for a recent long weekend in Rome.

We booked it on the recommendation of Tripadvisor and were disappointed. Whilst the location is excellent, the hotel facilities are poor.

When we booked (ages ago!) We asked for a room with a balcony and instead we had a very small room that was in need of some maintenance. It was also extremely noisy if we had the window open and uncomfortably warm if we didn't.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special and served in a very cramped area of hallway.

The cost was €200 per night which I consider was excessive for what we got, I was expecting something much better. I would not use this hotel again.

1  Thank IandKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2005

My wife and I spent eight nights in this hotel at the end of August/beginning of September. I wasn't expecting perfection, in fact if anything a few flaws, given the relative cheap price for our stay. However I have to say that I can't imagine a friendlier, cleaner, charming and romantic little Roman hotel.
On arriving the receptionist, Davide, took our bags up the quaint caged elevator to our room. Our room, 'Giotto', had a corner balcony overlooking the monestary next door. The room was small but comfortable, the decor charming and authentic. The room was spotless and was kept so throughout our stay by the maid who cleaned it every morning.
We found the staff friendly and helpful and always ready to give us advice or assistance with local information.
As for the location - a two minute walk to the Spanish Steps, less than five to the Trevi Fountain.
We fully intend to return to Rome and will definetly be booking our stay at the Hotel Piccolo.
We were on our honeymoon and after a couple of days my new wife told me that she thought the room was "perfect". I couldn't have asked for more, really.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nostril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

I arrived to the hotel on the evening of Saturday, September 4, 2005, and their was no room available despite the reservation had been confirmed and paid in advance 40 days before.

The hotel receptionist offered to move us to a hotel 20 metres down the road, which I found to be a Bed & Breakfast of far inferior quality. I asked for at least a same category of hotel in the area and they sent us to the Hotel Forte, where after checking in they gave us the key for an appartment five blocks away, where we had to go walking carrying the lugagge ourselves, through Rome at night after a whole day of travel. When we got there the building had no elevator and the appt. was in the third floor. Nobody was there to help with the lugagge.

I called the hotel clerk and demanded a refund or a strong discount and he offered me to pay only 50 euros back from HIS OWN POCKET, so that the issue was hidden under the carpet, of course. I refused to accept this, and looked for another hotel nearby.

This was a complete lack of respect and I'm going to request a total refund, otherwise I will initiate legal actions.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Benoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ireland
13
Reviewed September 1, 2005

I chose this hotel based on comments about to Il Piccolo on Trip Advisor. My Girlfirend and I stayed for two weeks and we were certainly not dissapointed. In the two weeks, we could not find one single complaint. The Rooms were spotless, The breakfast was good, The location was absolutely excellent - only 2 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps and finally the staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help guests.

Example;

One day during our stay, I asked a male staff member at reception about how I would get to Sperlonga on a day trip. He offered to research the internet on my behalf to find out but I told him not to bother as I did not want to put him to such trouble. He rang my half an hour later and told me exactly how to get there. He had gone to the trouble to surfing the net to find out the necessary information on my behalf. I was most impressed with this level of customer service and my girlfriend and I headed off and enjoyed a great day in Spearlonga.

Anyway I could not reccomend this hotel any more. 5 out of 5.

G Hurley

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Great hotel,location exellent 5 minutes to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.We stayed in the Michelangelo room which has it's own terrace.It was nice to sit out on and have breakfast,and lovely on an evening with a bottle of vino.The room was basic,but very clean.The staff were friendly and helpful.The only fault was the jacuzzi in the bathroom did not work.We did report this but nothing was done.Would definately reccomend this hotel.We had a fantastic time in Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Review_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,964 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#355 of 1,270 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Address: Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,089 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $80 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Spagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing