We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, fab location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
Ranked #1,058 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My colleague and I had a fantastic 3 night stay in Rome thanks to this hotel. Our luggage got lost in Bangkok and the owner, Patrizia was super helpful in facilitating its return to us, such that we didn't miss out on any sight seeing time. The rooms are small but the shower pressure is great - what more do you need when you are out and about seeing everything Rome has to offer? Walking distance from everything - namely the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon, which we consider Rome highlights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cbeltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano t, Direttore at Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your words
Our staff is always at your complete disposal, for every kind of trouble or information, trying to make your stay pleasant.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 168 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

I lived not in hotel but in their apartments not far from the hotel.
Hotel's location is very convenient especially if your main goal is shopping.
There are many places to eat near of it (I strongly recommend Sofia osteria on perpendicular street!).
You even can go to opera in Margarite salon in front of the hotel. I'm sure it's very conceptual to touch this kind of art on it's motherland :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at this small, 11-room hotel, located a block from the Spanish Steps, three blocks from Trevi Fountain. The staff were great, especially Patrizia, whose English is excellent.
We had been a bit concerned before booking our stay, mainly because of a few negative reviews, which must have been written by people not quite used to staying in Rome and were unhappy with the size of the lobby (it's tiny but adequate), the elevator (small but great when the weater is hot because the rooms are on the fourth floor - just don't forget to close the doors) or the breakfast (croissants, pastries, freshly made coffee, yogurt, fruits and cheese).
We were totally happy with the breakfast provided, which we ate every morning at the table on our private balcony (we stayed in the Bernini room; there are also four other morning-sun balconies, including the Michaelangelo and Bottecelli rooms).
The rooms were a decent size (bigger than rooms I've stayed in in London and Paris) with nice woodwork, hardwood floors and comfy beds) and the air conditioning worked (we only used the first night - the rest of our stay we kept the double doors leading to our balcony ajar slightly, to allow cooler night air in the room, which was slightly noisy, but after walking 10 miles a day, we usually had no trouble sleeping).
The bathroom was also a good size with a shower, sink, toilet, bidet and built-in hair dryer. Towels and soap were changed daily. There was also a mini bar which he only used to cool the local wine we bought (you can get a fabulous bottle for 10 Euros).
This is a small boutique-style hotel - if you want luxury and a big lobby, this is not the place for you. But if you, like us, are looking for a reasonably priced room in a great location, this is a good choice.
A tip for those considering booking. Book directly through the hotel's website:
http://www.hotelpiccolo.it/
You can book through such sites as venere.com, but they add on their commission to the room prices, which start at 120 Euros (rooms with balconies are slightly more, especially in high season, which includes October because the weather is perfect - it was sunny and 30 degrees C every day of our stay).
Low season includes July and August because it gets unbearably hot in Rome then (40 degrees C and higher for weeks on end this past summer); Romans flee the city during July and August and go on seaside holidays or head to cooler homes in the country.
Another tip: the hotel offers a 20 per cent discount on room rates if you pre-pay a month in advance.
On last tip: you can get a Roma transit/museum pass that costs 30 Euros and covers three days of transit (bas, train and subway) and free admission to the first two museums and reduced rates after that for other museums.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vancouverguy154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is located between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain, a great spot for easily reaching many attractions in the heart of Rome. It's also nice to be able to pop back into the hotel at any time. I stayed here 4 nights, and found it to be very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful regarding transportation and information about local attractions. The room is a decent size for a single with ensuite, and was kept clean. The breakfast was continental style with bread, croissants, cereal, yogurt , fruit and coffee or tea. There is a machine in the breakfast area where you can get a coffee or tea at any time, which I found very convenient. The hotel is on the 4th floor of an older building, and has a lift. There is not a 24 hr reception, but it was easy to let yourself in and out and the entrance was secure. I really enjoyed my few days there, and would stay there again if I return to Rome...that is if that coin in the Trevi Fountain works it's magic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtsylifeRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located but not on a major street...so it's quiet. The rooms are small but adequate. I had a superior room w/balcony and it was nice...must tell you that I had the room by myself so space was not an issue.

Room Tip: definitely get a superior room, I believe there are only 3 so book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thegigibun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is centrally located and the manager is cordial. Nothing else is commendable. The lobby is a closet like room which is not always staffed. Our room was clean but very small. The view unlike the pictures on the web site, was of scaffolding on the adjacent building almost within arms length. The breakfast room is small and food offering very limited. The T.V. did not work. We were not in Rome to watch T.V., but it should have functioned. We stayed at hotels and agriturismos from Milan to Venice to Florence to Rome and in between.
Rome is teriffic. This Hotel was the only disappointment and not worth 180 euros per night, even at Rome prices.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hotel is in a great location being only 250 metres from the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro station. room is ok (we booked triple room, even we were 2)
breakfast is not good even it was in room price.
no reception after 11pm. good restaurant adviced by the staff was very good and not turist one (i think it s name is ramba or rampa, near AMEX)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamdouhSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna Suites
Piazza di Spagna Suites
#571 of 1,271 in Rome
257 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Address: Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,058 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $77 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Spagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing