We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value for pay offer”
Review of Locanda Colosseo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda Colosseo
Ranked #126 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect value for pay offer”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

In short:
- Veery helpful and friendly staff
- Cosy and clean rooms with quiet but strong a/c
- Breakfast in a cafe next door to the hotel, includes tea/coffee, orange/grapefruit juice, a couple of sandwiches/pastries
- Great location, by foot: 1 min to the Cavour subway station, 5-7 mins to the Coloseum/Forum/Palantine, 10 mins to Piazza Venezia, 15 mins to Pantheon, 20 mins to Piazza Navona. We also decided to enjoy the walk to Vatican and it took us ~40 mins to get there

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a great restaurant Wanted just a minute away from the hotel at Via Leonina, 90. From the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasperMonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    83
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
81
152
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ferrara
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

the room was nice, new and very clean. everything was great but there were some noise from outside (some people singing almost all night long). so maybe this place is the best if you are on vacation, but not that much if you are on a business travel. but let me say that this is a very beautifu

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I needed to be close to my daughter who was living in Rome for her semester abroad. I picked the hotel by chance. The owners are wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are clean and good size. There was a bottle of wine in the room as a welcome present. The only complaint was that the desk is unmanned after 8:00 pm so if you need extra towels, you can't call anyone. The noise level on a busy street was good. The air conditioner was adequate. The breakfast was only fair compared to breakfasts served at other bigger hotels. The owners are friendly, courteous and helpful with choices of restaurants, hailing cabs and transportation to and from the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooty4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ok, so how to say this without sounding cheesy? What a brilliant hidden gem of a place. Superb location, 1 minute walk from Cavour metro, 5 minute walk from Colosseum.
Have never met such lovely friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The room was clean, the beds wonderfully comfortable.....
The breakfast in the cafe next door was delicious and the family who own the cafe are every bit as nice as the family who own the hotel
This is a young business and they should be exceptionally proud of themselves for providing the most wonderful place to stay.
This was my first trip to Rome, and they helped make it perfect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank heilan_coo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very good location, close to all main attractions and Cavour / Colosseo metro stations. Particularly friendly owners made us feel really welcome. When we were struggling to book a restaurant on Saturday evening, they were trying to help with finding another place and eventually booked a table at Hostaria Romana on our behalf. HR is a fantastic place as well!
The room was immaculately clean, bathrobes and slippers provided. It's not a cul de sac location so unsurprisingly it is noisy when the window is open.
Breakfast (included in hotel price) at the next door cafe was a bit too modest, e.g. 1 scrambled egg and a piece of toast but if you enjoy sweet more than savoury, there is plenty of choice and caffe latte is perfect too.
Would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel123z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I would recommend this great B&B to anyone visiting Rome. I couldn't find fault with my stay here. We were very close to the Colloseum and with it, Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. You're on a main street so was easily found and had many restaurant to choose from, we ate very well! The rooms were immaculate and a good size. Above all I think the service is the key point here..excellent! As a small establishment and being family run they couldn't do enough for us which made our stay in Rome even better. I have to mention to everyone - Riccardo the Manger who was superb and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and could answer all our questions. It felt like home from home. Many thanks to all at Locanda Colosseo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very good location, within walking distance of Colosseum and Forum. Room was not big, but very nice, clean and with great beds. Staff very friendly and eager to help you in any way they can. Only disadvantage was the streetnoise, so windows had to be closed during the night and ac on, to keep the temperature below an acceptable level. Daily breakfast in cafe/sandwich bar nearby was not a relaxing experience, but very italian!
Next time we visit Rome we certainly stay at Locanda Colossea again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huub318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#320 of 1,256 in Rome
410 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#252 of 1,256 in Rome
208 reviews
Monti
Rome Downtown Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Cibele Bed&Breakfast
Cibele Bed&Breakfast
#121 of 3,643 in Rome
206 reviews
Esquilino
Bed and Breakfast Smart
Bed and Breakfast Smart
#105 of 3,643 in Rome
252 reviews
Monti
Caesar House Residenze Romane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Colosseo

Property: Locanda Colosseo
Address: Via Cavour 275, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast “Locanda Colosseo” is located in the historic centre of Rome, in the heart of the district “Colosseo” between Via dei Fori Imperiali and Via Cavour, in a building made in the first years of the 20th century. “Locanda Colosseo” provides six elegant rooms complete of all the comforts of a luxury hotel, and they claim a mix of modern and classic design.The classy lines and the sophisticated charm are its main features, which are well set up in the historic environment of the area where it raises. The closest attention to details, the continuous innovation of the services, the young and dynamic but diligent setting make “Locanda Colosseo” a unique location.“Locanda Colosseo” is connected with Fiumicino and Ciampino Airports, and also with the train station Stazione Termini. From “Locanda Colosseo” is easy to reach, with only 3 stops of subway, great locations like Spagna Square, Trinità dei Monti and Via del Corso, where you can find, over and above the historic wonders, the greatest boutiques of the Italian fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing