We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Napoleone III
Ranked #514 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely incredible!”
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at La Residenza Napoleone in June 2009 as a birthday treat for me, and it couldn't have been more perfect. We stayed in the Roof Garden Suite on the first night, which has the biggest private roof terrace I've ever seen, with views of all over Rome. It was so romantic. The bedroom and bathroom are cosy, and the living area is all glass, looking out on your terrace. We were lucky to stay in the main apartment on the second night, which is simply stunning. Bathrooms and a small kitchen tucked behind massive paintings - it was so fun to just discover what was in the room. And we just had to watch a film on the projection screen across from the bed - fantastic!

The service was excellent; attentive but discreet. The turndown is the best I've ever experienced - candlelight and flowers everywhere - it couldn't have been more romantic.

If you can spend the money to stay here, do. It is all around a great place - amazing location, beautiful rooms, and terrific service. Whenever you walk into La Residenza's entrance, you really do feel like royalty! Best birthday ever!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiagirl0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I always believed that once you have see one hotel room you have seen them all , that was until my stay at the La Residenza Napoleone. If you are in Rome make sure you stay here.
It is almost a religious experience with sublime luxury.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-a-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Just returned from a spectacular visit to Rome and the Residenza Napoleone. All our requests were met by the lovely Beatrice who helped organise airport transfers, sort out our landry/ironing as soon as we arrived and arranged a wonderful tour guide for us. We stayed in the large residence for a discounted rate as the roof terrace room was a little too small for my partner for 4 nights, as there are a lot of stairs and he has a bad back. However, we had a delightful compromise by having breakfast every mornign on the large terrace provided by our lovely maid Tessi.The residence where we slept is extremely grand but also warm and inviting with a sumptuous bed and a fabulous large screen to watch movies.Beatice even lent us her own copy of Cinema Paradiso to watch, and they provide a large selection in your room. The little kitchen was very handy to make ones own coffee, and although at first the bathroom seemed rather dinky, it was absolutely perfect and the shower was nice and powerful.We were even provided with a laptop to use in the living room area which was wonderful and there is a good air-con system throughout the residence. THe service was so personal and inobtrusive, as there are only 2 rooms in this residence and it is not esentially a hotel.We felt as though we were coming back to our very own palatial apartment in Rome. The location is perfct, right by Via Condotti with all the desiger boutiques and very close to the Spanish Steps.If you want an incredibly romantic and majestic stay in Rome, do not hesitate to stay here. It is expensive, but we felt it was worth it and would not hesitate to come back.Thanks again to Beatrice and Tessi for making our stay so special.

  • Liked — decor, staff, space, location, views.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Londongal82LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My fiancée and I stayed at the Residenza in May 2007 for the first 2 nights of our 3 week Europe trip. We have been to Rome before so I chose this place because of its amazing atmosphere and uniqueness. I can honestly say our stay at the Residenza was the most incredible experience of our entire trip in Europe. First of all, I booked the Residenza directly with the family through email and a couple of phone conversations. They were extremely accommodating to ever request I made. We arrived in Rome about 10:00 o’clock and walked to the Residenza from the train station. They offered transportation but we normally prefer to walk. When you arrive you really are overwhelmed by the grandeur of the courtyard. It is a really private estate. We were met promptly and our bags were taken up to our rooms. We were taken upstairs, in our personal elevator to the suite where we were given a brief history of the place and taught how to use all of our gadgets. We stayed in the main suite and did not see the other two smaller suites so I cannot commit on those. The suite is HUGE! It has an amazing breakfast room that we rarely used unless we were eating breakfast. The sitting room was really nice for us. It housed your complimentary Ruspoli wine and a library of books on Rome, as well as the Plasma TV behind the 18th century oil painting. They had an assortment of fruits, juice, and water awaiting our arrival. The bedroom was wonderful as well. They had a variety of pillows to choose from as well a nice sitting area to get dressed in. The bed was really comfortable and the projector screen was a nice touch. The suite has a large library of DVD’s to choose from. The bathroom was hidden discreetly behind an oil painting. The fixtures in the bathroom were always really antique and first class. Anther oil painting led to a hallway where our luggage was housed as well as a kitchen area. The layout of the suite and all of the hidden doors really allowed you to keep your luggage out of sight while you were in the bedroom and this really created a down home feeling. Since we had been to Rome before we did not call on our maid or concierge people very often but when we did they were always prompt in their replies. Breakfast was prepared discreetly and was a wonderful assortment of pastries, jellies, breads, juice, and coffee. Other breakfast items were available upon request. The turn down service was nice and the maid really does make it spectacular for you. We usually stay away from really nice places because we do not require the posh snub-nosed approach to customer service. I was a little hesitant and apprehensive about staying here because it is a once in a lifetime luxurious place. But all of my apprehensions went away immediately when I met the staff. They really make you feel like you are part of the family at the estate. Returning home to our suite at night was really an amazing experience. The complex is conveniently located beside the Via Conditi, near the Spanish steps. It is a little walk to Ancient Rome but not to far. It is located in a very busy part of Rome, but when you enter those gates ever thing slows down. It was an amazing experience that I hope I can do again one day. Luxury definitely. But above all for us it was an amazing cultural experience and allowed us to live like royalty in Rome for a weekend. Words really cannot describe the experience adequately but if you are wanting a special visit to Rome definitely consider the Residenza over a lot of the other big 5 star places because the atmosphere is unmatched.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RyanMc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2007

I took my girlfriend here as a surprise and it was a huge success. The apartment is breathtaking. Very large and sumptuous and right in the centre of Rome. The staff were exteremly helpful (you have a maid and a butler) but kept out of the way unless you called. A restaurant was booked for us one night and nothing was too much trouble (car from and to the airport for example). This place is expensive but it is worth every penny. If you have to streach to afford it - do. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AdamWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2007

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice, in March 2007 and in November 2005.
We have travelled widely and stayed in many beautiful hotels all over the world, but La Residenza is, bar none, the most beautiful suite we have ever experienced. The palazzo's history is well documented and as you unlock the huge doors at the end of an evening out and make your way up the magnificent staircase or ride the romantic little elevator, it is easy to imagine life in a bygone era.
Every detail of the decoration is exquisite, from the sculptures sitting in niches in the hallway to the sumptuous bed linens in the suite to the pretty ribbons tied around the morning newspaper.
The staff is helpful and thoughtful and the restaurant recommendations we received were all perfect. The staff was also extremely helpful in securing reservations to sights we wanted to visit and all interactions were discreet and without fuss. While we were there on our last visit , we required the services of a doctor and this too was arranged quickly and efficiently.
The Palazzo is extremely well located - just around the corner from a courtyard with several casual restaurants, a two minute walk from great shopping and a five minute walk from the Spanish Steps. Taxis are generally available right outside the door.
While we stayed in the main suite we were lucky enough to see the garden suite and the "Blue Room". We would definitely consider booking the "Blue Room" on a future trip if we travel with friends or our children or grandchildren.
The garden suite has a roof-top terrace with exquisite views of the rooftops of the city. It would be the perfect accomodation for a honeymooning young couple.
I cannot recommend La Residenza enough. We are looking forward to our next visit at our "home away from home" in Rome.

  • Liked — Exquisite accommodation and setting
  • Disliked — It was perfect
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

I stayed in the rooftop apartment but also saw the downstairs suite, both of which are beautiful and good value for money. The rooftop is best for a young couple or a single -- not appropriate for small children and be prepared to walk up and down lots of stairs with the rooftop apt. But it is a unique way to experience Rome -- I enjoyed sitting on the terrace having breakfast, picking out the sites, watching the sunsets and the birds along the rooftops, one of which was nursing her little ones all the time I was there. The apartments are well furnished in a very personal style and well appointed with amenities and Sky satellite TV with many channels. The bedroom in the
upstairs apartment is very quiet. Only thing missing there was an appropriate plug or transformer for US electrical devices to work given the older wall outlets there. Beatrice, the personal assistant to the owner, is charged with taking care of visitors and is quite reachable by cellphone. The location is excellent; right on the corner of via corso and condotti, just 5 minutes walk from the spanish steps or the rinascente at piazza colonne. The only drawback here is that it is not a full-service hotel (although it is a fully serviced apartment) and when you return to the residence at night you have to let yourself in and get upstairs without an escort; a little creepy and dark but perfectly safe since you are inside an urban palace home to a large family that has been around there for over a century and the building itself is an architectural gem with marble staircases chock full of commissioned works of art.

  • Liked — a unique way to experience rome from the rooftops in a lovely apartment
  • Disliked — a bit uncomfortable at night because it feels lonely and isolated
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,263 in Rome
725 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
#14 of 1,263 in Rome
481 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,263 in Rome
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#56 of 1,263 in Rome
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Napoleone III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Napoleone III

Property: Residenza Napoleone III
Address: Via della Fontanella di Borghese 56, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Napoleone III is one of the most luxurious and unique places to stay in Rome, situated in the XVI century Palazzo Ruspoli on Romes legendary Via Condotti, the Residenza is named after Emperor Napoleon III, who lived here in 1830. The Napoleone Suite consists of three magnificient rooms, with antique furnishings, massive oil paintings, XVI century tapestries, parquet floors and hand-stencilled walls.This suite is connected to an additional bedroom : the Blue Room so-called because of its blue and white Chinese vases. The Roof Garden Suite has one of the most beautiful roof garden overlooking the city, with a multi-level decked terrace of over 600 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza Napoleone III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Napoleone Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing