We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was great, perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Pietro Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Pietro Rooms
Ranked #1,357 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
ITALIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great, perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We were looking for the basic place to stay near Vatican and the Center. San PIETRO ROOMS is clean and accessible. Although not fancy at all, it has almost all amenities you would expect from B&B - large and clean rooms, separate bed for each child, clean bathroom, air conditioning and even continental breakfest with very tasty rolls All this before location - one step from Ottaviano metro station and 5 min walk to Vatican. The Paolo, Franco, are very likable persons willing to help on any occasion. So is Christina, and Lucia the front desk ladies.The service was good and hospitality warm. Paolo and Franco were a delight to work with. They would kindly give us wake up calls and help us acquire train tickets by printing schedules. Paolo suggested an Italian restaurant a block from there which we tried and it was truly authentic.
If we are in Eternal City again, we would likely to opt for this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    17
    11
    15
See reviews for
33
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Vradim, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

We were looking for the basic place to stay near Vatican - clean and accessible: San Pietro rooms is definitely such a place. Although not fancy at all, it has almost all amenities you would expect from B&B - large rooms, separate bed for each child, clean bathroom, air conditioning and even continental breakfest with very tasty rolls my kids still remember. All this before location - one step from Ottaviano metro station and 5 min walk to Vatican.

The owner, Franco, is very likable person willing to help on any occasion. So is Christina, the front desk lady.
If we are in Eternal City again, we would likely to opt for this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leobor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

The San Pietro rooms are in a perfect location for sightseeing and transport.

We arrived by underground from the airport and the hotel was right by one of the underground exits. On are arrival we were checked in quickly, however the reception area is where you eat breakfast, so was a little small. We were shown to our room and the fresh clean smell was our first impression it was lovely. The room was perfect for our needs it was small but very clean, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom have everything you would need, however the shower was a little small to turn round in.

We arrived at lunchtime and after we left our cases we took a walk and 10 mins later we were by the Vatican and St Peters via some very interesting shops.

Also close by were 3 very good restaurants we tried but there are plenty more available close by. We tried Ragno-d’oro via Silla 26 (www.ragnodoro.org) Il Bersaglise Via Candia 24 and Zigaetana via cola di rienzo 263 The best was Ragno-d’oro This was a local restaurant run by a family and they made you feel very at home and the food and wine were great. You will need to be aware that most restaurants and tourist attractions only accept cash (or prefer to).

The only problem we found with the room was at night and the hotel is on a very busy junction and it was quite noisy with the window open but if you shut the shutters it deadened the noise a bit. However there was an air con unit that could be used, but after and busy day sight seeing and the Italian food and wine we slept very well in very comfortable beds.

The included breakfast was basic but nice, pastries, coffee, tea or orange juice. The coffee however was awful but at the end of the street was a lovely place to have a great espresso to start the sightseeing day and very cheap too. There is also a pastry shop just by the hotel with lovely pizza’s and pastries.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The breakfast in the reception area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

We had reservations to stay at a convent but had to change the travel dates within 2 months of the trip and needed a location close to the Vatican. We found San Pietro Rooms through Romeguide and not only are they 3 blocks from the Vatican but also have the Ottaviano-San Pietro Metro Stop right outside their door. Very centralized location. Next door is a nice Panne and Pizza Company. The service was good and hospitality warm. Rooms were nice size and bathrooms had nice hot water.

Paolo and Franco were a delight to work with. They would kindly give us wake up calls and help us acquire train tickets by printing schedules. Paolo suggested an Italian restaurant a block from there which we tried and it was truly authentic. They also told us of the market store 'Casstroni' on via Ottaviano which has everything you need from wine, candy, teas, herbs, fresh pastries coffee and souveniers plus tables outside to enjoy an espresso.

Overall all staff was very helpful. They even loan us umbrellas a day that was raining. We would definitely recommend it if the Vatican area is your place to be. We will definitely be staying here again.

Note: Religous souveniers we found to be cheapest on Ottaviano than anywhere else in the city. Rosary's would even triple in price if you buy them by the Trevi Fountain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Welita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside of Washington Dc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2007

We needed a room for our young family for a single night after renting an apartment elsewhere near the Vatican. We found our quad room with bathroom, clean, of average size with a nice bathroom. Our
room had an air conditioner and our hot water stayed hot during our showers! We were upstairs away from the main lobby on the 5th floor. Building has an elevator so it was not an issue. Our floor was
quiet. Lobby/breakfast area/guest registration area was quite small as pictured but seemed appropiately sized for this b and b. Breakfast
was from 7-9 and consisted of hot drinks, orange juice and some pastries. If you take the closest exit from the metro you are about 10 paces from their entrance. As the b and b is located in a mixed use building (dentist and private residences) the sign on the entrance gate from the street was small. We located our entrance by the building number "62" which was easily and quickly locatable. Additional signage on attached streets also point the way. They were able to arrange a private car to the airport for us. Overall the b&b San Pietro Rooms worked well for us and was just what we needed at a reasonable rate.

Other quick notes. I would not suggest a rental car for Rome. Streets
are too busy with motorbikes and parking appeared to be nearly impossible. If planning on visiting the Vatican museum make sure to get an advanced reservation (we did this though our local church). It allowed us to skip the line which was about an hour and a half.

  • Liked — Close to the Metro and the Vatican
  • Disliked — Did not appear to have internet access
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FAMILYW2KIDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2004

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. It is indeed just steps from the metro stop and is close to the Vatican if you plan on spending significant time there. However, we found that the information provided on the website was very misleading, effectively claiming a sort of religious status based on its location, citing the “serious atmosphere”. The atmosphere was unremarkable and the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.

Most importantly, it lacked the air conditioning its website information said that it had, a serious shortcoming in the summer months. The one feeble fan provided had no effect and the hotel management and staff were unable and unwilling to remedy the situation.

We had booked four nights (this hotel being the only disappointment and the most expensive, among 8 hotels booked for our 4-week holiday) and after sweltering through one night, we found another better hotel for the same price through a fellow traveller. When we went back at noon to check out, the San Pietro staff insisted that we pay for all 4 nights despite staying only one night. It was only after extensive discussion that they backed down and we left after paying for the one night.

The breakfast area was extremely cramped, served in a very small area in front of the reception desk. The food was acceptable but minimal. The service was grudging.

The room was booked as a quad room, but was barely large enough to squeeze between the beds. The beds themselves were reasonably comfortable.

Keys had to be left with at the front desk for the day, not uncommon in Italy. However, the staff lined up the keys on the desk for anyone to help themselves, and with the poor attitude of the staff they certainly did not seem to care who took them, rightful guest or not.

In sum, this hotel might be acceptable if you are traveling as a single or couple in the cooler months, want to be close to the Vatican, don’t keep any valuables in your room, and book this hotel at a considerably lower price than others.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2004

My family of two adults and three daughters found the San Pietro Rooms to be very cozy and convenient. It is located directly upstairs from the Ottaviano Metro stop and just a few blocks from the Vatican. It is in the heart of the shopping district with a wide assortment of restaurants nearby. We didn't reserve early enough to get a private bath, but the shared bathrooms on our hall were very clean and convenient. Staff was very friendly and spoke fair English. Continental breakfast was very good. Good for the price.

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,071 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,041 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Sallustio
Hotel Sallustio
#994 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Baltic
#1,089 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#875 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Prati
San Pietro Boutique Rooms
San Pietro Boutique Rooms
#161 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pietro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pietro Rooms

Property: San Pietro Rooms
Address: Viale Giulio Cesare 62, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,357 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Pietro Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your San Pietro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietro Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing