We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Ranked #192 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Had a room with a view over the Minerve Square. Always something to see/hear. Comfortable room. Great buffet breakfast. There was a problem with our booking on arrival, which was dealt with immediately. The roof-top terrace is beautiful, with an excellent singer/pianist.

Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeBeeWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    306
    150
    63
    43
See reviews for
201
425
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

While true, it is a 5 star hotel in a great location in Rome.....we were disappointed with all the staff at the hotel. NEVER a smile or eye contact upon checking in. Upon leaving we never were asked how our stay was. The conciege was sufficient but less than friendly. Our room was clean but tiny. 2 drinks on their rooftop restaurant/lounge was approx $50 after dollar conversion. And when we went to the rooftop lounge to have a drink, while there were almost no people there, we went to sit on some couches and were told that to sit on the couch would be an extra 10 Euro per person! We moved to the tables....Overall other than the location, we were not that impressed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctsdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Beautiful hotel, easy walking distance to Pantheon, Trvi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and Piazza Navona. Tucked in amoung great little shops, restaurants and cobblestone streets. Old Rome, lots of charm!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janfromtoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel is excellent. Super location right by the Pantheon. Our window looked out on the Pantheon. Room was spotless, huge, well furnished and offered sumptuous amenities -- lovely roof garden, cool and inviting lobby -- very helpful, attentive staff. I would recommend it enthusiastically.
It is located in the heart of Rome many plazas offer great restaurants, people watching and easy of travel. Meals in this area are a bit pricey, but no worse than NYC or Paris.
You will not be disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t2009adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I have to admit that I was initially a bit apprehensive when I booked this hotel because of the less-than-savory reviews I have read on Trip Advisor. Good thing, I was convinced by our travel agent to give this hotel a try and I can say that I don't regret staying here. First of all, this hotel is but a stone's throw away from the famous Pantheon, walking distance from Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps (although this one I consider a longer than usual walk). The receptionists and concierge were very helpful and were willing to answer "touristic" questions no matter how trivial they may be. The room and toilet were quite large and very clean. Internet was not free so that was a bummer. They changed foreign currencies at very reasonable rates. Breakfast was quite good and the selection of breads, pastries, fruits and juices was quite extensive (by European standards). If you need to go to the Vatican, a cab can take you there for less than 10 Euros so it's not that bad. Souvenir shops are practically everywhere, you just have to walk a little bit along the side streets. Saturday nights can be a bit noisy nearby because of teenagers going to clubs but the noise level won't reach your rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabulousMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Our first trip to Europe for our 20th anniversary was unbelievable! The experience included a wonderful stay in this beautiful Grand Hotel de la Minerve. I searched for weeks looking at websites for many hotels and found this gem. It was elegant and clean, well appointed and very quiet, our room was superb. The staff was also always accomodating, friendly and helpful whether we were coming or going. They sometimes mistook us for imposters when we arrived in back in our shorts and T-shirts from a long day of sightseeing, but a smile and reminder that we were guests, would give us clearance :) The architecture and decor was impressive and location was undeniably the best. All the cafe's at Piazza Novana and the Pantheon were a few steps away! Thank you to everyone who made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I was disappointed with the service at the Minerva, while parts where great such as the roof top garden restaurant and bar, others where completely lacking. When we checked in the night manager was completely unaccommodating and seemed bothered to have to talk to us. The breakfast was good, but overpriced (30 Euro / pp) and the fact that they charge for internet access is quite frankly childish for a so called 5 star property. This isn't Starbucks!

We actually experience the same staff member barging into our hotel room only to apologize and close the door, apparently knocking first is a novelty. Luckily everyone was dress! The other major annoyance was the Bell hop operating as the concierge. He had limited knowledge of the city and was generally unhelpful. The full time concierge seemed to return a day later who was much more on top of his game, he was insightful and able to point out a few hidden gems. So hopefully this was just a temporary staffing relapse.

Besides these details which seem to make or break an excellent experience, the Hotel rooms were nice and the bathrooms have shower curtains! Hooray, yes this seems like a no brainier to any American, but for some reason Europe opts for the glass retainer that retains no water at all. Let's get to work on that! Seriously, the bathrooms were nice! Stone finish, luxury fixtures, good lighting, etc. The typical rooms decor was nice and the layout made sense. Agreed again the bedding is not 5 star and the pillows are not lush. Complements on the safe it is enormous! You could put your whole laptop inside!

Honestly if I was AAA rating this hotel in America it would lose a star, it's not a 5 star property. But then again this is Europe and the whole rating system seems a bit inaccurate. I have seen 5 stars that are 4 and 4's that are 5, 3's that are 4 and vise versa. Decent place for the money, (250 Euro/ night) but don't call this a 5 star hotel. It's no St. Regis or Four Seasons.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elyfretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael
Hotel Raphael
#102 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#44 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo Santa Chiara
Albergo Santa Chiara
#129 of 1,283 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Property: Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Rome
#106 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing